We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy neighbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Lawn Cemetery

Fairview Lawn Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.98*
and up
Halifax City Tour
Ranked #9 of 134 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The final and noteworthy resting place for many of the victims of the Titanic.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Noisy neighbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The cemetery is huge - but a great tribute to the Titanic disaster, but it is much more than that when you wander around..

When we were there there was a loud grinding noise from somewhere nearby, so no luck on quiet reflection, but it was still well worth the visit.

And when you are done with the Titanic victims, wander and visit with the other cemetery residents.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    209
    39
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
349 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“We'll worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Worth a visit just to see the Titanic graves. Very moving to realise just how many people have not being identified.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“titanic victims burial cemetary halifax ns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

rather than pay for a professional tour we simply went to the Fairview cemetery in downtown Halifax Nova Scotia. it is well indicated when you get there as well there are picture boards nearby. also the tourist bureau will give you a map of all three cemeteries in Halifax where the titanic victims are buried. believe it or not there is even a tombstone with the name J. Dawson on it which is the name of the character in the movie played by Leonardo DiCaprio. several of the grave stones have a little history on them about members of the crew that died serving aboard. bring some kleenex with you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rockhunter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Sombre but worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I guess most visitors go here to see the graves of the titanic passengers who are interred here.

We were pleasently surprised taht we were able to drive in and then just follow the sings for the titanic graveyard section.

Very interesting and nice to see that you can drive in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flame01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Titanic Graves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a working cemetery and it felt a bit odd to make it a tourist destination, however, we had some time to fill up on our last day in Halifax. Without GPS and your own car, I'm not sure how easy it would be to get to this location. In this cemetery there are some of the grave sites from Titanic passengers. It is really weird to walk down the lanes and see all of the head stones with the same date.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairview Lawn Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Fairview Lawn Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing