We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where to take Uncle Bob”
Review of Kempsters

Kempsters
Ranked #297 of 712 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where to take Uncle Bob”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everybody loves a family diner -- good basic food, friendly service, relaxed atmosphere. And Kempsters is a fine choice. It's not just the 2-fers (two meals for the price of one) in the early week, or the steak special on Saturday after 4:00. They serve an excellent liver and onions, fried haddock, or fish cakes and beans -- some of the home cooking specials -- all with a vegetable medley. Not fancy, not exotic, just plain, stick-to-your-ribs fare at wallet-friendly prices. Oh yes, and sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Heads up! They close at 8:00 p.m.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2violiststravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HUGE PORTIONS ~ GREAT PRICES”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were looking for a breakfast place in Halifax where you actually get good size portions for the prices you pay for breakfast out these days. Well we found that at Kempsters. Neither one of us had been there before and thought we'd give it a try and what agreat decision it was. I ordered the Kempsters breakfast platter and it came with bacon, ham, sausage, eggs toast and your choice of deep fried hashbrowns or skillet potatoes ~ it was HUGE and cooked perfectly. My girlfriend ordered the Greek omelet and multi grain toast. It had to be a four egg omelette with all the fixings in it and very flavourful. We took the time to check out the rest of the menu and the selection is quite impressive. We are already planning our second visit for on either one of the 2 for 1 nights or the toonie steak night. Our server was excellent and went out of her way to treat "the newbies" as she called us, like regulars. If you get the chance, give this restaurant a try, you won't be disappointed with any part of your experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hit or miss- not consistent”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have eaten here fairly regularly for a few years. It has been "hit or miss"- several good meals in a row and then a bad one and we stop for a few months. New cook right now and it shows. The clubhouse was disappointing and the chicken on the chicken burger was so overcooked that it was almost impossible to take a bite. Sometimes we get a meal promptly with great service and other times the staff are so busy setting tables that it takes forever to order a meal. We have waited over an hour for food without an apology or an offer to bring rolls to the table- with two of us and with a larger group. They often forget things and there is no haste in terms of bringing them so you can start the meal.
The waitress is supposed to meet you at the cash register to pay but this last time she watched another customer butt into the line and took their money first. Not well done.
It is a homelike diner and many of the dishes are well done- I really like the maple curry chicken penne. Better than at some higher-priced restaurants. And they have some gluten-free options. But not sure I would go back for a while.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wasn't great”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stopped by recently and ordered the Western sandwich. It was unusually thick and way too much egg for one sandwich. My friend ordered the omelette and found the same thing, Would rather they scaled back on the size and drop the price a bit. I paid $15 for a Western and a tea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoasttraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
738 reviews
486 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Busy spot, comfort food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stopped in here yesterday for brunch. Enjoyed Eggs Benedict while my dining companions enjoyed eggs and bacon. Very tasty but we waited quite a while for it to arrive. There was a large group in the restaurant at the time so I'm guessing that had something to do with it. Our waitress was very sweet. Seems like a great spot to visit when you want some basic comfort food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kempsters also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Bedford, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Kempsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing