We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A positive experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson House, Manitoba
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A positive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Friendly staff and location near the ferry. Rooms are clean and modern. We attended for a wedding and its an overall positive experience. It is supposed to be one of the better locales for special events or get togethers in dartmouth and is located a short hop from downtown halifax. Also there are neighbouring convenience foods etc... close by.

We did have one difficulty with security but in response the hotel offered to switch our rooms, provided free breakfast and gave a hand written letter and phone call to apologize. This more than made up for it.

The restaurant has good service and food quality but food selection is very limited. They are willing to modify for speacil diets.

Well maintained and heated outdoor pool of moderate size, but the restaurant windows can see you!

Fitness room is clean but somewhat small and good use a bit of maintenance or updating. They do provide towels and water services which is a plus.

Overall, this is recommended place and we'd be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac_rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for submitting a comment!
*Please note, the Holiday Inn Express Halifax/Bedford is conveniently located at Exit #2 from the 102 Highway. Amenities include a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning and an indoor heated pool and whirlpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    114
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
92
81
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Very clean, pleasant place to stay after a long flight. The shuttle from the airport made it an easy way to get there. The front desk clerk was very helpful, and ansered the questions we had without hessitation. A lovely hot shower, comfortable beds, and then a great breakfast that was included in the price of the room. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEREAUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for submitting a comment!
*Please note, the Holiday Inn Express Halifax/Bedford is a 20 minute car/taxi ride from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport-shuttle service unavailable at this location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gander, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I had the pleasure to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Halifax/Bedford in May 2011 while attending business in Halifax.

The location was fabulous for quick exit to the airport, and it was easy to navigate to the areas of Halifax that I was visiting.

My room was quite large, amazingly clean and comfortable. I found the staff delightful to deal with; and had the pleasure of meeting their lovely manager Raeanne. She is wonderful to talk to and deal with, she seems to be well respected by her staff and her communication with them is fabulous.

Cavelle with the Continental Breakfast team made my morning. I felt I had my own Mom right there with me, taking care of my every need. I was amazed at this Continental Breakfast it had everything for free (Juice, Coffee, Toast, Cereal, Eggs, Sausages, Bacon, Bagels, Pancakes, fresh fruit and more).

Thanks again for a great say, I will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GanderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Both employees mentioned are valued long term members of our team here at the Holiday Inn Express Halifax/Bedford. We are very proud of the level of service provided by these two ladies, as we are with all our staff! Your positive feedback has been forwarded to the team; the recognition is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hotel was very fresh and clean. Staff were excellent and a great
Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meekers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Our Breakfast Team is very proud to serve a delicious complimentary breakfast every morning of the week! The daily menu of cereals, bagels, fruit, yogurt and of course our famous cinnamon rolls are well known; and who doesn't like waking up to the aroma of bacon, ham or sausage and eggs when they have a busy day ahead of them? Our new pancake maker has been a welcome addition to our buffet and the Smart Roast coffee is guaranteed fresh.
On behalf of the staff, it was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed here a few times and really liked it. The breakfast was very good and the staff VERY helpful. The only reason I stopped staying there was because there was no restaurant or bar. The only thing nearby was a pizza restaurant and a Tim Hortons.
So if you're not looking for food ,I would recommend it. I also have to say they have the most amazing pillows of the many places I have stayed. I've always meant to go back and try to buy a pillow.lol.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you! We often hear positive comments regarding our guest room beds and pillows. The pillow topped mattresses with triple sheet bedding allows a clean and peaceful rest. We provide two soft and two firm pillows on every bed so our guests can choose their own level of comfort. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Do
The room was clean, Breakfast was good.

don't
I am a platinum elite member of Priority Club and therefore I am entitled to a free room upgrade. The hotel classified me as Gold member and denied the upgrade and refused to change my room from first floor to the 2nd or 3rd. The guy at the reception wasn't rude but not friendly at all. Comparing to other similar hotels, this hotel is a step below.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Everything was very clean, excellent free breakfast Lady from the day shift was extremely helpful and deserves recognition for above average service

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
We are so happy to hear that our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one! Thank you for recognizing their hard work and dedication. We would love to see back for a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Property: Chateau Bedford
Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing