We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service nice hotel”
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel once before and had great service so we decided to stay here again. The people on the front desk were very helpful.We will gladly stay there again.Clean and comfortable and not to far from shopping and resturants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venturetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We are so proud of our team for providing our guests with the level of service they truly deserve! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

The kids (and us) love the friendly, welcoming staff. The cleanliness is superb. The kids suit is adorable and fun. A super cool "den" with bunk beds for our two boys. Complete with managerie theme. Awesome stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meaghanrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We truly enjoyed having you and your kids stay with us! Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I stay here for 4 days unfortunately they were all booked up the following week when I needed a room. I am hoping that I can book my room for the next six weeks in advance. I had to stay somewhere else the following week. I have no complaints about this hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! We apologize for not being able to accommodate you during this very busy week; we certainly do appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

And by extension, I would say any major Halifax event.

My family has a family member currently performing in the Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo. As we wanted to see the performance, a bunch of us (our local band performed, so a group of families went to Halifax) went down. One of the families booked us in at the Holiday Inn Express in Bedford. Well, our family typically uses the Holiday Inn Express anywhere as our preferred spot while travelling, I was a little unsure of how we would like using it as a base to run around Halifax. My initial concern was also raised by the location, in Bedford.

The hotel itself was a standard Holiday Inn Express building. It easily met all the high expectations my family has whenever we stay at one. The staff, though, put this one on my radar for a repeat stay. Even though they were training a new staff member, service remained impeccable. The people behind the counter proved to be excellent representatives of the company, and fantastic ambassadors for the Halifax Metro Area. People were approaching the desk with questions and one could not have had any better explanation, with directions, at any tourist booth.

Where my biggest surprise came was just how accessible Halifax/Dartmouth are from this location. There are two major arteries into Halifax and you are a stone's throw away from one that goes into Dartmouth. With the Tattoo taking place downtown Halifax at the Metro Centre, we were less than 15 minutes to get there. With the family members who performed staying in Dartmouth, we were 20 minutes to their accommodation. No bridges, no ferries, no hassle.

My only drawback to this location was that it was so close to Highway 102, that there was constant traffic noise on wet roads.

However, in the future, if I were to attend another major event in Halifax, this is one spot that is high on my list for consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the east side of the building, as it is the side away from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UELoyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

The Tattoo is such a fantastic show, you must be so proud of your local band! Some may think we are too far outside the city to enjoy all that Halifax has to offer but we really are just minutes from everything and in a very central and convenient location. I am thrilled to hear our staff took such good care of you during your stay and I will certainly forward your comments to the team. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is located in a very quiet, residential neighborhood directly off of 102, just 10 miles north of downtown Halifax. VERY EASY access to anywhere you want to go in Nova Scotia. It is located immediately next to 197 acre Hemlock Ravine Park - also reviewed on tripadvisor. There are 3 gas stations and 1 liquor store within walking distance. There is also a Tim Hortons (coffee shop for those of you not Canadian) across the parking lot. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable. There is a small pool, hot tub, very well-equipped exercise room, and a laundry. The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast. However, unlike some of the Holiday Inn Express' that I've stayed at, it is constantly attended to and well-stocked. It goes until 10:00am. Coffee and tea are always complimentary 24/7. This is one of the cleanest Holiday Inn Express' that I've seen.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 236. It is directly above the furnace/pool-heating room. It was in the 50's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are grateful to have received this review. Our Breakfast Bar attendants are second to none. Their proven dedication over the years they have been here give our team great pride. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was my first visit to the Express brand of Holiday Inn and it exceeded my expectations on every level. It is easily accessible off the main highway into the city at the Kearney Lake exit. The reception was friendly and efficient. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable. Morning breakfast was very well done - again spotlessly clean and the staff monitored it constantly making sure everything was going well and keeping the supplies and food plentiful. The location is right beside a Tim Hortons restaurant and across the street from a Petro-Canada gas station so it is super convenient for all the human and automobile needs on a driving trip. Great experience I must say

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

"Exceeded my expectations on every level"...that is what we like to hear! We are honored to have accommodated you and thank you for this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Completely content with everything else here except the flimsy internet connection on the third floor. It's been weak all evening.

Otherwise, comfy beds, nice Samsung flatscreens, decent twa-let. Room could use a microwave, because it has a mini-fridge..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhatHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for this review. Our Internet connection has been a concern to us in the last few weeks as we have discovered (through guest feedback) that there are a handful of rooms at property that require additional support for more consistency. We have brought in our IT team and have an action plan. The materials are being ordered within the week with delivery and installation scheduled to be completed within 8-12 weeks. We truly do thank you for helping us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing