We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice for the Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We got stranded in Halifax so we needed an inexpensive place to lay our heads. This was it. Cheap and not bad for the price. The room was very small and very outdated but we were in a pinch. We ate at the Hotel's restaurant the next morning for breakfast and it was fabulous! So, the stay was worth it. We would stay here again if we want affordable and not picky on style.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
The Holiday Inn Express Halifax-Bedford offers clean, quality guest rooms at an affordable price. Although we do not have a restaurant, our complimentary breakfast buffet is available for our guests to enjoy from 6:30 am to 10 am daily and is well presented thanks to our dedicated breakfast attendants. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    115
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
94
84
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed three nights at this Holiday Inn Express, and it was the perfect base location for our explorations. The hotel is easy to reach from the Halifax airport, and it is a great base for visiting Halifax, Peggy's Cove, Mahone Bay and Lunenburg area, and even the north Fundy area. But a "base camp" should be more than a tent. This hotel is clean, quiet, and well-maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fantastic with many options - both hot and cold. Also, the breakfast is included in the price, which is very reasonable for all the amenities. There is a Tim Horton's and a decent pizza store just across the parking lot. Directly across the street is a filling station. Once exit down is a very large shopping area with a Wal-Mart for picking up little forgotten items. We had no problem with the Wi-Fi in either our room or in the common areas. I would definitely use this hotel again in my future plans.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Very well said! Thank you for taking the time to point out our central location as well as our amenities. We are proud to have served as your "base" while staying in Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in August. Staff couldn't be more helpful, service was great, papers in the morning etc. Breakfast was great. Only gripe was the Wi-Fi, it's terrible, range seems to be the issue.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for commenting on our complimentary breakfast and friendly staff! Please note our wireless Internet capabilities have vastly improved since your stay as we have invested in new equipment throughout our building. We look forward to offering this updated service to you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend with our dog. We were given a very nice room on the first floor, not too far from the exit door which made it easy coming and going to walk the dog.
The room was fresh and clean and every bit as pleasant as rooms for those without pets. Thank you Holiday Inn for recognizing that we pet owners like to get as nice a room for our dollars - often times more dollars with the pet fees, as non-pet owners.
Coffee was available in the lobby 24 hours a day with real milk and cream instead of "white stuff" and a varied buffet breakfast which included bacon and eggs and pancakes as well as fresh fruit and yogurt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekind026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We are proud to offer pet friendly rooms while maintaining the quality stay our guests deserve! Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, NB
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Exactly what you would expect from a HI Express.

Good
- Room was roomy and seemed clean (as clean as a hotel room can be).
- The water pressure in the shower was grrrrreat!
- The front desk people were nice and helpful.
- Breakfast was fine (hot and cold options)
- Lots of seating for breakfast

Not so good
- Bed was a little soft
- Reception on TV was pretty snowy (repair guy took a look while we were out, but apparently didn't have much success)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
The water pressure and shower heads at our hotel get rave reviews (a weak shower is not a fun way to start your morning-this we know)! Our television reception is typically crystal clear but I can tell you we went through a two day period of "snow". We discovered early on that it an issue with our provider and had to wait for a technician to repair. We are sorry to have had this occur during the time of your stay. We trust your next visit will allow for hassle-free viewing! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were doing an East Coast roadtrip, and found this hotel to be close enough to the downtown area of Halifax (10 min drive), and affordable compared to other downtown hotels.
Free parking, wi-fi and breakfast were also something I was looking for, which they had. Nice clean rooms, best free breakfast we had on our entire trip.
Only con was the hot tub jets didn't work by the pool, and half the lights wern't working in the pool/hot tub area - so a little dark when going for a swim at night.
East to get on/off the highway, and a great Pizza place located right beside them too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for you comments! I have to apologize for the guest hot tub. After multiple attempts to repair the jets by both our in-house maintenance team as well as hired outside professionals, it has been determined that the hot tub will not function any better than its current state. That being said, our ownership company is determining the next plan of action to remove and/or replace it. It is an unfortunate circumstance but of course one that happens eventually with this type of well used equipment. The lights in the pool area however were immediately fixed when we received the necessary parts. Thank you again for noting all the positive aspects of your stay as well; we certainly hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a great stay there, the room had two Queen beds, and a bar fridge. It was clean and quiet and less expensive than those in Halifax. This one is just off the highway and easy to get to. The breakfast was great; bacon and scrambled eggs one day then sausages and omelets the next, plus lots of choices in bread, cereals, fruit, yogurts, juice, etc.... The location is great, about ten minutes from downtown and about five minutes from Bayer's Lake shopping area with plenty of restaurants nearby. The pool is a bit small but served the purpose.. They have free parking, free breakfast and coffee in the lobby all day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: something on the second or third floor would be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
We look forward to your return visit and thank you for this wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Property: Chateau Bedford
Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing