We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
184
156
31
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
156
31
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tim hortons front desk decent breakfast the breakfast area great hotel peggy's cove yogurt first floor liquor store nice pool downtown halifax free hot breakfast free parking stay there again check in was quick next trip to halifax minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Close access to everything, including Bayers Lake which has shopping and chain restruarants. Staff was ok and did not know very much about the area. The room was great and since I am a Priority Club member, was upgraded to a two room suite. The pool and whirlpool was great. There also places toe at right across the parking lot from hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank businesstrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

A reasonably nice hotel. However, my advice is stay outside of Halifax and avoid the vistor TAX charged by all hotels in the area. This TAX added an additional 15 dollars per night in my case. This sort of thing just drives me crazy! I would not recommend saying within Halifax city limits for this reason!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank kvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We stayed at this motel from 6-12 to 6-15-07 and we were extremely pleased with ever aspect of the motel.

The reception desk staff was very friendly and extremely helpful in all respects. Quick and accurate check-in process.

The room was very good- nice size, clean up to date with a microwave and refirigerator. The bathroom was good sized and was also in perfect condition. They have the option to keep the same towels- leave them on the rack- or get new ones- leave them on the floor- which I like very much.

You can keep the same sheets as well. I think this is something more hotels should do- although at most places you can arrange for it to be done that way but the message doesn't always get delivered to the housekeeper for your room.

We didn't use the pool or the fitness center but they were also kept in very good condition. The pool area was indoors and was a good sized pool. We walked by one night on our way back to our room and it sounded like there were hundreds of kids in there- there were two buses outside in the parking lot as well.

I will agree that the motel is a bit removed from dining places- but you just have to go one exit up the road to find a number of them.

There is a Tim Horton's right next door. this is like a combination Dunkin' Donuts (if you are a Dunkin' Donuts coffee fan Tim Horton's is a good substitute for it in Canada) and a nice deli with soups and sandwiches. We saw other Tim horton's that actually were housed in the same building as a Wendy's (Tim Hortons used to be owned by the same corporation).

This is not the type of place to expect room service at. There are vending machines and lists of local restaurants that deliver, though.

the continetal breakfast was great as well. It includes two different hot entrees and meats- bacon or sausage. Hot Cereal- in a packrt- but still nice to have. cold cereal- several choices. toast, hot cinnamon buns, english muffins, muffins, fresh fruit and juice. The woman keeping things stocked in the Breakfast room also served as a great source of information about the Halifax area.

Bottom line- this is a very nice hotel in a good location that just about anybody should be happy with.

Dennis

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank wheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

While I agree with all the reviews that say this place is excellent, we arrived after a long day on the road. We didn't feel like going out for tea so would have liked room service, but they dont have a kitchen on the premises. So we had Pizza..........again. There is no decent restaurant close by, without going for a bit of a drive, and after leaving Maine this morning and 4 Hrs on the water and 4.5 Hrs on the road, the last thing we felt like doing was going for another drive. Other than this little problem the place is excellent. If you were staying in this area for a few days and intended to eat out every night there would be nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

My wife and I spent three nights here and everything was excellent. Our room with two queen-size beds was large, with lots of room on all sides of the bed. Our bath area was a good size, with a large counter-top for all our toiletries. Towels were large and fairly new. Our beds were brand-new and excellent, with deluxe pillow-top mattresses, and the new "Simply Smart" bedding with two soft and two firm pillows on each bed. Everything was very clean and our room was nicely decorated, making our stay very comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay.

Breakfast was very good with two attendants keeping everything replenished and clean.

Our entire stay was wonderful. We very definitely would stay here again and definitely would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank like2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews