We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at the Holiday inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday at the Holiday inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great staff, fantastic breakfast, reasonable rates, and close to everything, what else can you ask for in a hotel.Special thanks to house keeping and front desk staff.The only negative things I could think of would be the rule that you have to be 16 years old to be in the fitness room but kids can swim on their own at any age.Also only one washer and dryer which takes forever to dry and the clothes were still not dry.But who cares about laundry when you are on holidays.....lol

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    115
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
94
84
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Check-in was easy. The staff was very friendly. They had cookies the first evening we were there, but not the other two evenings. The breakfast had scrambled eggs and their famous cinnamon rolls. If you’re driving to Halifax or Peggys Cove or other places, they have preprinted instructions for you. A Tim Hortons is next door. There were no doors separating the lobby from the hallway, so it was rather noisy, with the voices from the lobby and the traffic from the pool echoing down the hallway. Maybe the other floors are quieter. Self-service laundry is only $1 a machine. We used the Nova Scotia Doers and Dreamers travel service to get the reservation.

Room Tip: First floor is noisy. Don't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only stayed one night and had a very good sleep. The staff at the front were top-notch. Welcomed me and told me what was going on in the city that night. The room were well kept, clean and comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently stayed here for a baseball tournament with a team of 12-13 yr old boys and this place was absolutely perfect for it. The gave us ground level rooms all in the same wing so we didn't have to worry about upsetting other guests when the boys got loud (as they have a tendency to do) and the free breakfast was fantastic. lots to eat and drink.
I need to give a huge shout out to Brandon at the front desk. He went above and beyond when it came to the "little sisters" that are forced to come along for tournaments. He made them cookies and entertained them and just went out of his way to make them feel special. He also allowed us adults to indulge in some grown up time after the ball players went to bed and was more than accommodating throughout our stay. Hats off to you Brandon. You are what good customer service is all about!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall PEI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel 20-21 June to attend my daughter's wedding in lower Sackville at the Kinsman hall and the stay at the hotel was just Great , Matt on the front desk went out of his way to ensure everything was fine, gave me directions that an old sailor ( me ) could follow to find her home and the hall for the wedding and reception too many thanks the breakfast each morning was great too as I am a retired navy chef 30 yrs and red seal to boot too, EXCELLENT over all.

Room Tip: Clean and updated, 2nd floor bright and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINT JOHN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for a quick overnight here, and the property is very nice. When we checked in there had been confusion with the room we had booked online, and there was a hockey tournament hapenning, which was also a concern from a noise perspective. The manager quickly found us a room and checked us in.
The room was well appointed, clean and there were no issues with it Our room was on the first floor. There is some noise issues with related rooms. The hockey players made some noise, but the worst issue was the TV blaring in the next room all night, which was clearly audible in our room. Difficult for a hotel to deal with something like that.
The included breakfast was great, plenty of choice of hot and cold dishes, and lots of seating.
The kids enjoyed the pool area, and had fun playing for a few hours.
Overall, a great place for a stopover, I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel prior to going to D.R. Excellent service , clean room , friendly staff - overall no complaints. It was close to airport and transportation to airport was provided . Parking available for cars while we were away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverclub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Property: Chateau Bedford
Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing