We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This Hotel and it's staff were amazing! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were a fair size and very clean. The breakfast was very good, and quite a larg selection. Pool and Hot tub were kept up well, and overall appearance in and outside the hotel was clean and quiet. no problem sleeping. Very comfy beds. I would totaly recomend this hotel to anyone and I would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornadoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

I've been staying at this HIE for ten years now. You definitely need a car to get around, but easy access to Bedford Highway and Highway 102. The only negative is an occasional bad smell coming from the bathroom. I noticed this during my last visit, but they obviously haven't fixed the problem. The rooms are a good size with all the modern amenities. The free breakfast and free high speed internet are good. I like the fact that you can open the windows to get some fresh air in your room. All the more recent HIE hotels have the sealed windows, so you have to turn on the ac/heat. I sure hope they fix the bad odor coming from the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights (Sept. 3 and 4) and found the hotel to be very good.
The location was just off the highway and a short drive to Halifax. The breakfast was excellant. It had a selection of bacon, eggs, cinnamon buns, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, toast, bagels, fruit, coffee/tea, juices. They were always replenishing the food and it was very clean. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotless. We would definetly stay there again. The only negative thing was that the air conditioner was very loud at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed for 6 days visiting family and the halifax area. We have stayed here previously and found the staff to be welcoming and very helpful. Clean, comfortable and well located. Reasonably priced for the area. One of the better "hot breakfasts" provided by any of the major chains.
Lots of shopping nearby and coffee shop across the parking lot. The grandkids loved the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaamirault, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010

After a 6 day stay you must have been able to experience all our hotel had to offer and I'm glad that we made the grade! Tell those grandkids that our pool is also open to the public during the week! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This hotel is nothing special, the interieur is a bit old but still OK and not dirty. The TV is still old with tube.
It is next to an Highway, so people with sleeping problems should look for something calmer. The included Breakfest is good. There is free WLAN as well as free newspaper.
The center of Halifax is not far (10min by car)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaamirault, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010

We understand that most people today are looking for the new flatscreen televisions. We are currently in the works to have ours installed, so please be patient. As for noise from the highway we can generally move anyone who is a light sleeper to the other side of the hotel. Thanks for your review and your honesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

a new Holiday Inn Express near the Halifax Airport, Very friendly employees, clean and new rooms, Free breakfast but no restaurant, the Hilton next door has a restaurant you can use

If your wanting to visit downtown Halifax then its a bit far (unless you have a car) but for an airport hotel its great, would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMHalifax, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

Thank you for your review. I do want to clarify that we are not located at the airport and I believe you may be talking about our other property, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax Airport. Thanks for staying at a Holiday Inn Express and we hope you continue to do so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Halifax. You are only minutes away from downtown.
The hotel is clean and the room we stayed in was quiet and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good each morning and we stayed there for 4 nights. Coffee was available 24/7. The parking was onsite and free.
The real plus at this hotel is the quality of the staff. Everyone was polite, professional and very friendly.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiartonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMHalifax, Front Office Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2010

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing