We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, limited breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice room, limited breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Room was very nice and comfortable. Some toiletries were available on demand only (free but you had to ask for it) and this was a little bit annoying - you have to plan in advance for everything that you need. Breakfast was a disappointment - more choice and more service would make a big difference. I heard also other guests commenting on the reduced choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aime_voyager87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Hello Aime_voyager87 and thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad you enjoyed your accomodations and I apologize that breakfast affected your visit with us - breakfast can be challenging at times. We have varied the offerings and delivery style many times over the past three years in an effort to find the best mix. As you know, we currently offer three kinds of cereal, boiled eggs, toast/bagels, oatmeal, oranges & grapefruit, muffins, coffee/tea and juice in a buffet style set up for our guests to eat in or take back to their suite. We will keep trying new things and asking our guests how they like the changes in an effort to get breakfast right. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,438
    658
    163
    63
    49
See reviews for
601
828
122
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I was very disappointed when I called the Cambridge Suites today to inquire about room availability for July 23. The lady on the line said the 2 double bed room rate is $$$, I then told her I would need 3 rooms, she asked why so many rooms and how many will be staying in each room. I told her my cousin was getting married and was coming to Halifax for a night out with a few friends, she immediately told me no double bed rooms were available, I then asked about another room option and she said no availability there as well. She paused and then said we will not be able to accommodate you at this time and hung up on me. I can ensure you all the women that would have stayed that night are mature professionals and would have caused no trouble or damage.

I felt this was very rude and she laid judgement. She lost the hotel business and I will never stay at Cambridge Suites again and will advise others not to either.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Strangtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Hello Strangtraveller - As I mentioned friday I am truly sorry for the way your reservation call was handled. We didn't handle it properly and I feel very confident this was a training issue as opposed to one of our employees intentionally meaning to offend you. I will admit we are very leary of requests that indicate " a stag party" because noise can often be an issue and we want all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay with us. As promised, I will follow up with our reservations team and use this situation as an example "of how not to handle a call". I am very sorry we offended you and I hope you and your friends have a great time in Halifax this July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed at the Cambridge with some of my family members and friends that were in the city for the weekend of the Bluenose Marathon. . It was a perfect location as it is on the same street as where the Bluenose starts and takes place and right down town close to restaurants and night life. The rooms were very up-to-date, modern, and very clean. The front desk staff and housekeepers were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Good morning EG17 and congratulations on running in the Bluenose Marathon . I am glad we could host you while you were in Halifax and since the Bluenose is an annual event I hope we can welcome you back next May too. Thanks again and I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My whole family loved this hotel. I expecially loved the 2 private rooms. I could put the kids to bed and still enjoy my vacation while in another room. It was very very clean, and had everything we needed. The kids loved the excersise room and rooftop area. What a gorgeous view of the city. It was just a short walk to the waterfront and all the restaurants and night life.
I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockey-mom1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Hello hockey-mom1973. Thank you for speaking so positively about our property. I have mentioned in previous review responses we have three very distinct styles of suites and each of them have very unique features that seperate them from the other styles. I am glad you enjoyed your suite and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Halifax. Thanks again and ....Go Canucks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Stayed here for two nights at the end of a week travelling around Nova Scotia and Cape Breton. Good sized clean rooms.Great location for downtown, althuogh the hill's a bit steep after a large meal!! Our friends stayed for one night and we both enjoyed it apart from feeling a bit ripped off by getting charged for the water in the room. We both had opend the bottle before realising it wasn't free.. Our friend travels extensivley in the US and Europe on business and couldn't remeber the last time she was charged for water in the room. Not a major gripe just a niggle as overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Hi BlueMoon08 and thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. When I read your bottle water comment I question why we sell bottle water in our suites because it is a known fact that Halifax has the best city drinking water in Halifax. We started selling bottled water in our suites approximately 1 1/2 years ago based on what our guests were telling us at the time but maybe it is time to change? Thank you again and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We took our grandchildren here for one night may 7th. We stayed here once before. This time we purchased the Family Fun package in which we thought was very good value.It included a large pizza ,parking ,breakfast & 20 percent off in the restaurant.We thought the pizza and breakfast was very good. we liked the fact the rooms have a kichenette in them . so convenient for families.The hotel is also pet friendly . The kids love the hot tub and being able to use the pool at the Prince George hotel.The hotel is in a good location to walk to the citadel or downtown.The kids can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanvaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
And we can't wait for you to bring the grandchildren back too! Sometimes we get overlooked as a family hotel but I think we are a perfect family hotel with the complimentary continental breakfast, patio deck and large suites - what more do you need? I am glad we were a good fit for what you were looking for. Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

It's very nice to go to a hotel and never have to worry about anything - that's how I felt at the Cambridge Suites. Everything was taken care of, and there were no problems. The staff were friendly, the room was great, the view was great, really no complaints at all. It's also situated right at the top of the hill which offers a great view looking downtown.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DealerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Hello DealerDan and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to know we met all your needs during your visit and we hope to welcome you back very soon. We are coming into prime Halifax weather (we all hope) and our rooftop patio provides great views for all of our guests to use at any time during their stays.....PSST we even have a barbeque up there for our guests to use while enjoying the view of our terrific city. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing