We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I absolutely LOVE this hotel. My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay while we were in Halifax...its too bad we were only there for a night! We upgraded our room to a suite which was the best decision...great view of the harbour, extremely comfortable bed. We will be staying here again for sure! We ordered a pizza through room service, and it was great. My only complaint was the breakfast...it wasnt bad, but there was just oatmeal, cereal, and toast...scrambled eggs would have been nice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Goodmorning 13Pixie1313 - I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Next time you should stay more than one night and enjoy our city for a few more days. Sorry we didn't have what interests you at breakfast. This can be challenging in at times because everyone has different likes first thing in the morning. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,416
    645
    159
    63
    47
See reviews for
591
817
119
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were doing a driving tour of Eastern Canada after flying from the UK, and booked in here for the first three nights of our stay.

Although we'd booked a standard room we were offered the chance to upgrade to a larger harbour view room for an extra $30 per day; as that price included parking ($16 per day) and the hot breakfast option for both of us (2 x $10) we didn't see how we could lose. Very impressed with the room they gave us - it was like a suite, with a sitting area that could be totally separated from the bedroom area by closing the door, Also had a kitchen area, nice bathroom and 2 TVS (one in bedroom and one in loung area). We had a great view down the hill to the harbour.

I'm a bad sleeper and the comfort of bed is very important to me - and this was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've had.

Location was good, with plenty of eating places nearby - and also shops round the corner. A nice 10-min stroll down to the harbour - although the return journey up the hill was a bit more strenuous!

Reception staff were very helpful, providing us with map/directions and suggestions on places to eat.

Unlikely we will every visit Halifax again but would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who does - and would consider Cambridge Suites when visiting other cities.

Room Tip: Consider upgraded room on top floor - cost was $30 per day, but free parking & hot breakfasts fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerksTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Hello BerksTravellers - Thank you for including so much detail in your review of our property. I like to stay here at least once a month (to see how we are doing from my own eyes) and I always have fantastic sleeps in our new beds. The one bedroom suite you described is my favorite too - if your travels every bring you back this way we will be waiting with open arms - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Checked in for a two night stay. The hotel felt dirty, the room smelled bad.
Doors are not completely sealed off to hallways, so very loud.
The chef didn't show up our first morning, so not much food at breakfast. Tour bus of people picked over what there was.
Very nice staff, though. Very accommodating and seemed to feel bad that things weren't up to snuff. Hardworking staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Adequate is certainly not what we are striving to be travelPAUSA. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on your visit to our property. We very rarely drop the ball from the cleanliness standpoint - I am sorry this is your last impression of the hotel.... I can assure you it is not the norm. More importantly I wish I could have proven that to you on your visit. Thank you for mentioning our employees because we do have a fantastic team. I hope we can welcome you back to show you a perfect stay in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We managed to score a deal on this hotel via Hotwire and it was SO worth it.

The hotel situation in Halifax is quite limited, so we were happy when we found out we had gotten the Cambridge Suites for our 2 day stay for a quick getaway to Halifax. We checked TripAdvisor & noticed it was ranked 2nd - it deserves such a high rating.

Honestly, the hotel's exterior signage doesn't reflect its interior, which is sleek and modern. I had read a previous review stating the halls were 'dark' & 'dingy' (something along those lines). We must've stayed at different hotels, because the hallways were brightly lit with tasteful decor.

Our room, for being the smallest suite offered, made great use of the space. It featured what the hotel staff referred to as a queen bed (yet, my boyfriend & I are pretty sure its a twin. We addressed this at the front desk upon check-out as we had been promised a queen in prior emails to the front desk. It was quite small, if it was a queen).

Regardless of its size, the bed was soft & comfortable. Plenty of shelves to put away clothes, plenty of modern lamps. Also had a little seating area in the form of a couch & coffee table, with a small kitchen featuring a microwave, mini sink, and some basic cutlery/plates/bowls to get you by. Also, a coffee maker was provided with Nabob coffee & teas. The only time improvement here that I would suggest is perhaps providing take-out cups for tea/coffees? I've seen this done in other hotels & it really prevents you from going down the street to Starbucks/Tims/Second Cup when you have it in your own room!

The tv was an LG flat-screen, next to a desk with a couple of chairs - a good, small workstation.

The bathroom, albiet small, was still nice. It had a modern Moen tap with a large tub, plenty of counter space. The products offered were organic, a nice touch.

Facilities-wise, we didn't use the parking - but we did go up to the roof-top deck (amazing view of Halifax!) and used the whirlpool jet tub & popped into the dry sauna. Very cool place to relax. The gym, from what we saw, was well stocked with newer machines & plenty of free weights.

Elevators were quick, barely any waiting. Room was spotless both times it was turned-over. Didn't order room service but the meals, from what we saw, were fairly well priced. The business center was a couple of computers, but I applaud the effort, since we only used one to print boarding passes. Free high-speed internet is offered wirelessly (which seems to be rare for hotels) - PLEASE keep this! :)

I really don't think this hotel should be rated a 3 star - it's at LEAST a 3 1/2, just hovering under a 4. I've stayed at similarly designed 3 stars, and the Cambridge Suites exceeds it by offering guest service options, like a 630am run club on certain days of the week.

Another touch I liked was the continental breakfast. I've seen people complain about the offerings, but, really? It's free & offers a good start to your day. I liked the oatmeal & brown sugar provided. Cereals, toast & muffins were also tasty & readily available.

I will definitely be looking to stay at this chain again (Toronto, Sydney & Halifax) after my great experience at this hotel.

Front desk put us in touch with Trevor from E.A.S.T. shuttle (http://www.eastshuttle.com/) who's rates were considerably cheaper than other organized tour groups. We used him for a trip to Peggy's Cove & our return to the airport - couldn't have been happier. Thanks to the kind person at the front desk who understood our needs!

Room Tip: Even if your room doesn't face the harbour, you still get a ncie view of the Citadel hill :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdyrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Well bdyrck by far the most detailed review i have ever seen. Thank you for sharing so much information and thank you for staying with us on your visit to Halifax. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed 11 nights in a 1-bedroom suite. Spotlessly clean and everything we needed (well, maybe a bit more cutlery in the kitchen area, a big knife would have been useful). Bed was comfortable.

Staff are friendly and helpful, location is splendid and the complimentary breakfast fine (I see some folks complain that there are limited choices, but we did just fine). Free wi-fi was useful.
Location is great (not that anywhere is far in downtown Halifax) - liked the harbour view,

We'd be happy to stay with you again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thank you Dr_Bob1 for reviewing our hotel. Staying somewhere for 11 nights can get kind of tiring so I glad to know you enjoyed your accomodations. Our one bedroom suites are our most popular style of suite. I am pleased to know you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope you can return sometime soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Spent 5 nights at the Cambridge Suites in a studio suite. This hotel had everything. Perfect location, large spotless clean rooms, all amenities expected, a fabulous roof terrace where we watched the Canada Day fireworks, a little shop by reception with plenty of choice of snacks, and the most helpful staff we have ever met. The restaurant in the hotel was also amazin with the most delicious fish and chips. Cannot highly recommend this hotel enough, loved it, and will definetely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesBlodyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Hi WalesBlodyn and I don't know what else to say other than thank you for the great review. I have been away from the hotel all week and your review made my day! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had an excellent stay in Halifax. The suite was clean-bed comfy.
We ate in their resteraunt that evening. The food was great. Decent wine selection.
Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Always great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you BettyandBill for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. We truly appreciate your support. I hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing