We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious comfortable suite in good downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Spacious comfortable suite in good downtown location”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Good sized 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds and a harbour view. Suite was clean, comfortable and well provisioned. Very friendly staff. A basic but wholesome continental breakfast was included and a hot breakfast option was available. The hotel is located a few blocks up from the waterfront and just below the citadel. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs within a short walk of the hotel. Check-out is not until1pm. There is a roof top deck with great views of the city, harbour and citadel. Quite a well equipped exercise room except that the multi-gym was broken. Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a habour view on the upper floors (5 or 6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Congratulation al500 you were our 300th review! Actually thank you would be a better intro since there is no prize for being the 300th review for us but we really, really appreciate you taking time to post a positive review about our property. The doors at 1583 Brunswick St. are always open to welcome you back al500. I am sorry about the multi-gym not working while you were with us.....it should be fixed in the next day or two - we are waiting for a replacement cable. Who knew one would take so long? Thanks again al500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    664
    164
    65
    50
See reviews for
607
838
123
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was the nicest hotel we stayed in on the first and the last night of our tour. We stayed in four hotels so we sampled the good, the okay and the bad in Eastern Canada. This hotel will satisfy the modern travelers needs. The beds were comfy, the a/c worked fine and the bathroom was modern, clean and well stocked with nice towels and toiletries. There was also a small kitchen counter top with a sink, microwave and a small fridge. Very nice feature.
We even used the washer/dryers in the lower level to wash our clothing so we had no dirty clothes when the tour started on Monday. The two complaints I have are: The hair dryer was small and not wall mounted so the cord was a problem and the location was a downhill walk to the waterfront but an uphill walk back. It is near the shopping area and many restaurants so that is good because the Dofsky's is a very basic place to eat. The free breakfast was only fair.
Lastly, the staff is very nice and the hotel maintenance is great. A fine room for a fair price in Halifax. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debshirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Good morning Debshirle. Downtown Halifax sure is hilly..... but we are at the top of the hill so our views can be awesome on either side of our building on a positive note - lol. The walk up the hill can be tough after a long day on the waterfront but that's great justification for taking a taxi. We have the most taxis per capita in Canada so there is always one waiting for you. Our restaurant has recently changed ownership and we are looking forward to the improvements. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we appreciate the "fine room" comments. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy/belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at the Cambridge Suites Hotel of Halifax for three nights as part of a tour of Nova Scotia. Rooms are a good size and well furnished and equipped, beds are very confortable. There is a very good gym on the top floor. Continental breakfast is included but it is pretty basic, although one could find the essentials. The real downpoint is the location, uphill and far away from the harbour / sea front and the main amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Hello Claudiac67 and thank you for reviewing our property on tripadvisor.com. I am glad you enjoyed our property. Halifax is on a hill and there are many great hotels from the waterfront to Public Gardens. We are at the top of the hill (6-7 short city blocks up) but look at the positive.... it is really easy to get down to the waterfront and quickly get to all the great pubs and restaurants that await you down there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Call ahead a book a jr suite harbourside but all types of rooms are comfortable.
You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadviser15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Good morning tripadviser15 - thank you for the positive plug on tripadvisor.com. We apprecaite your time and are always here to welcome you back on any travels to YHZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites and were very pleased with the place.
Halifax is interesting. Goosd selection of pubs ! One restaurant that we enjoyed was "Pipas" (Brazilian/ Portuguese).

The rental price for all of the cars for our weekend we felt was excessive as ALL of them quoted for 3 full days, when in fact we were there for slightly less than 48 hours. (Friday night to Sunday evening). - NO special weekend rate ! So we decided to take the special airport bus. The "Airporter" transport from the airport to the hotel was haphazard, as we were intially not dropped off on the way out and had to remind the person not to drive back to the airport before letting us off. On the return trip some people were left in a hotel and we had then to wait for them to be picked up and dropped off at the bus which had managed to cross the bridge to Dartmouth. at that point.
Possibly the Halifac Tourst board (is there one ?) should take a grip and make the trip to and from the airport less difficult as it must put people off from returning (It did us)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Hi les4547. I am glad you enjoyed your trip to our great city. I will take your comment regarding the Airporter and email it to them directly so they are aware of your experience. I am sorry this imapcted your visit to Halifax and I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I absolutely LOVE this hotel. My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay while we were in Halifax...its too bad we were only there for a night! We upgraded our room to a suite which was the best decision...great view of the harbour, extremely comfortable bed. We will be staying here again for sure! We ordered a pizza through room service, and it was great. My only complaint was the breakfast...it wasnt bad, but there was just oatmeal, cereal, and toast...scrambled eggs would have been nice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Goodmorning 13Pixie1313 - I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Next time you should stay more than one night and enjoy our city for a few more days. Sorry we didn't have what interests you at breakfast. This can be challenging in at times because everyone has different likes first thing in the morning. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were doing a driving tour of Eastern Canada after flying from the UK, and booked in here for the first three nights of our stay.

Although we'd booked a standard room we were offered the chance to upgrade to a larger harbour view room for an extra $30 per day; as that price included parking ($16 per day) and the hot breakfast option for both of us (2 x $10) we didn't see how we could lose. Very impressed with the room they gave us - it was like a suite, with a sitting area that could be totally separated from the bedroom area by closing the door, Also had a kitchen area, nice bathroom and 2 TVS (one in bedroom and one in loung area). We had a great view down the hill to the harbour.

I'm a bad sleeper and the comfort of bed is very important to me - and this was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've had.

Location was good, with plenty of eating places nearby - and also shops round the corner. A nice 10-min stroll down to the harbour - although the return journey up the hill was a bit more strenuous!

Reception staff were very helpful, providing us with map/directions and suggestions on places to eat.

Unlikely we will every visit Halifax again but would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who does - and would consider Cambridge Suites when visiting other cities.

Room Tip: Consider upgraded room on top floor - cost was $30 per day, but free parking & hot breakfasts fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerksTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Hello BerksTravellers - Thank you for including so much detail in your review of our property. I like to stay here at least once a month (to see how we are doing from my own eyes) and I always have fantastic sleeps in our new beds. The one bedroom suite you described is my favorite too - if your travels every bring you back this way we will be waiting with open arms - thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing