We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Staff”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Best location to visit all downtown and harbour attractions - waterfront, Dartmouth ferry, Citadel and Public Gardens.

All staff we encountered greeted us with a smile and Hello. Honestly, they seem to enjoy their jobs and have been successfully trained by management on how to deal with customers.
Front desk was very focused on ensuring we were very happy with our stay. Our booked 2 bed arrangement was not available at check in but we were upgraded to a full King suite with hide a bed instead and was acceptable with concessions.

Wonderful bed, just right for firmness.
Only suggestion - carpeting in room could use a deep cleaning to remove spills.

View of harbour was outstanding even though it was a few blocks away, 6th floor views were stellar. Walking is for the physically fit as it was up and down hills.

Room Tip: View of the harbour is ideal and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Straight_Forward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Hi Straight_Forward - Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments about our team. We have an awesome bunch that work here who really are focused on our guests. We just bought a new carpet cleaning machine and we are going to put it to good use over the next few weeks - I promise! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    717
    173
    69
    53
See reviews for
658
901
130
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

my favourite place to stay in Halifax. Nice rooms, good beds, great location close to restaurants and shops of Spring Garden Road area, wonderful roof top terrace with a view to die for. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for being our guest wilma105 - I hope we can welcome you back "home" soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Great location and nice rooms. A great value for the money. Would stay again. Really liked the roof top deck with feet views of downtown. Easy walk to shops and restaurant. Would recommend. We enjoyed the breakfast as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
You forgot one thing ptkenney...... Great Guests! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Everyone was friendly and helpful, especially the front desk. Location was terrific - easy to walk all around the city from the hotel. Parking was $16/day and worked well. Did not think the upgrade for $40 was worth it since we weren't spending a lot of time in our room and the complimentary breakfast was adequate.

Rooms were OK. Smell of first room was definitely of smoke. Front desk made it easy for us to switch to another. This second room also had a funny odor, but at least it wasn't overwhelmingly of smoke -- we stayed since we were tired of switching. Appreciated the variety of pillows, but most were lumpy and not very comfortable. Lighting was fine, but it was terrible in the bathroom. A mirror out in the room would be helpful. The kitchenette and furnishing were nice and would be helpful if you wanted to eat something in the room.

Workout facility was one of the better set-ups for a small hotel that I've ever seen. Good selection and nice view from the top of the building. Only downside was the location of the hot-tub in the same large room. Hard to get good cardio when you are sucking in air that reeks of chlorine.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have little view of anything but retaining wall and parking lot. Upper are clearly bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi Teamfo and thanks for mentioning our great employees. Our group takes a lot of pride in the work that they do and they will be glad to know you had nice things to say about them and their efforts. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed twice - the first was for six nights and the second was for two. The first time was had a standard room with a small kichenette, which was fairly spacious. The second time was had a one bedroom suite that was spcaious, witha kitchen area, a separated bedroom and a small living area. The staff was terrific with suggestions on where to visit and with detailedmapes on how to get out of town for day trips - and getting out of Halifax is sometimes no easy matter.

Our first room was drectly opposit the Citadel while the second faced the harbor. In both cases, the room was quiet. Breakfast was fine and the parking was a plus. On Wednesdays there's a wine and cheese reception in the lobby for guests to meet one another and to compare notes. One the roof, just ouytside the fitness area, is a viewing area and a place for sitting and relaxing with a view of the city and the Citadel.

The locate is perfect. It's an easy walk to the waterfront and to the many restaurants within a couple of clocks of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again. It is an uphill walk from the waterfront, and someone with a walking problem might find that unsuitable.

Room Tip: Upghrade to the onme bedroom suite. The extra $25 or so give you underground parking privileges at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us Ray458 and hopefully we can welcome you HOME again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Even though it's some months since my visit, I endorse all the good comments made by other travellers. The staff are brilliant and helpful; rooms very clean and comfortable; internet in the little business centre was free; and the natives are friendly! Some other guests and I were delayed joining a tour to PEI and Cape Breton and we were seamlessly checked back in to await news - no dramas, only smiles and understanding. The only down side I found was the young man waiting on tables in the dining room who insisted on calling me "dear" (he was about 35 years my junior); but as I overheard him saying "I'm from New Brunswick" - I guess that excuses him! I also found the staff at the airport very helpful and had no trouble getting the shuttle bus into town and delivered to the hotel's front door. As a mature-age female solo traveller, I'd definitely recommend this establishment, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi CherieC515 and sorry about the "dear" thing..... I hate that too and I will definitely share your feedback so the "dear" thing goes by the wayside. I am glad to know you otherwise enjoyed your visit with us and we all hope to welcome you back again on any travels to YHZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were pleased with this hotel. A different place to stay - kitchenette in the (spacious) room with a small sofa area. The location was great and we could park under the hotel (about $16 per night). The room was clean and quiet and we had a nice view. The staff were friendly and provided some good recommendations.

Our deal included breakfast. This was fairly standard; cereals, boiled eggs, bagels etc. The fruit was a little weird tasting(!). It was nice to have it included in the price but a few small things could have improved it- there were no small spoons available for yoghurt etc. and no easy way to slice up the grapefruit halves - nothing major.

The hotel was very eco-friendly which was excellent. Recycling was provided in the rooms and the toiletries were environmentally friendly (and smelt great!).

A good place to stop in Halifax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you fearon - we appreciate your support and are glad to know you enjoyed yourself while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,920 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing