We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, updated but at a yawner level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good location for sight seeing. Lots of restaurants around. Hotel clean and friendly. Breakfast okay but not stellar. Updated but not expensively or particularly well done. It was busy there but the staff was still willing to help with directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countryridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear countryridge,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy our updates. I have great news that more are coming in 2014 so stay tuned.

We hope to see you again,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed at Cambridge Suites in Toronto twice and we were not disappointed by our stay in the Cambridge Suites Halifax. Great service, spacious rooms,good location near the Citadel. Beware the stepdown in some of their suites...they pose a tripping hazard at night. The restaurant, Canvas, was excellent. The hotel also has a rooftop deck with tables and great views. About 50 kilometers from Halifax International.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of Halifax Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear jrjojo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear you weren't disappointed with the hotel and enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

You can't beat the location-on one side is Citadel hill, the other is the harbour. The hotel is nice, clean, and has spacious rooms. Our bed was pretty comfy and we had a minifridge, microwave, sink and utensils. They were a bit skimpy on hotel freebies (shampoo, soap and conditioner; no lotion or anything else), but maybe if I had asked...
The gym is nice, has a few machines to use and they look new. There is a sauna and hot tub too. The rooftop patio has a great view of the harbour.
There is a weekly run through the city with hotel staff, which we had missed. Every wednesday there is a lobby social, a little awkward because we got grilled for ID but to be fair, my partner is 26 and looks young. We didn't stay long as it felt awkward after that
The breakfast buffet included was decent. No hot items except for devilled or hard boiled eggs. Aside from that, there was the usual toast, muffins, cereal, yogurts, etc.

My partner said he was awoken by loud hotelees at night a few times, I slept through it. The central location probably leads to some hotel parties I'm sure, but we left before the weekend hit.

All in all, it was a decent stay, comfy and clean rooms, great location.

Room Tip: higher up for a good view or either the harbour or Citadel hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear flandaz,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! We do have to ID people, but I am sorry you felt awkward after that at the hotel social. We do try to make it as comfortable as possible!

Thanks again!

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on September 18 and 19- got a great rate on Hotwire. The room was spacious with a fridge, microwave, kitchen sink. Comfortable beds, good climate control,and great location- close to Spring Garden Road and walking distance to the Harbourfront and all of downtown. Rooftop deck was great- wonderful view. And the breakfast (included in the price of the room) was perfect- lots of food and constantly replenished. Staff were pleasant and very accommodating, allowing us to check in 2 hours early after an early flight. Hotel is also walking distance to the Metro X bus which takes you to the airport for $3.25 per person- perfect for us as we had only carry on bags. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the harbour side have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Agylov,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you were able to enjoy the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

At the end of August we traveled in Nova Scotia. We loved our stay, particularly in Halifax and we recommend this hotel and suite very easily. Comfy, clean, Wi-Fi, good breakfast, front desk very effective and kind and a very good location for everything.
For a come back in Halifax it will be here..

Room Tip: We can see the ocean from our room and from the roof too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Louise1559,

I am so happy to hear Louise1559 that you were able to enjoy your time with us! Thanks so much for writing a review and we hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was traveling with my 91 year old mother. We arrived late, about 11pm, and had been traveling all day. The staff at the front desk couldn't have been more accommodating. They helped me unload our bags and assisted my mother to the room, while I parked the car in the garage. Breakfast was just right for us. The location made it easy to get to all the attractions. My only complaint was the parking garage. Although very convenient, it was unattended and a little too dark for two women returning from dinner at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diannedlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Diannedlm,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! I am so happy you and your mother were able to enjoy your time with us!

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

for 2 nights in Sept: comment from 2 seniors having a week in Nova Scotia:
I do not have a bad word to say - from the ambience to the TV to the excellent breakfast buffet to the comfort of the bed, we loved it all..... so your standards were hard to beat
After Halifax we were in B&Bs and some were very good but others were mediocre [for the price!] and the idea of B&B choice next time is fading fast
I know you are not in Cape Breton Isle smaller towns though, but still would consider a motel in those places
TOWN: central location was a plus: walks to main attractions was
easy, access to dining easy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear BarbaraM,

Thanks so much BarbaraM for the great review! I am happy you enjoyed your visit with us and were able to enjoy all we have to offer!

Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,026 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £107 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing