We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed there for one night on a business trip from Toronto, first time guest. Allowed early check-in and a covered garage for parking-$16. Room recently updated it appeared with very comfortable bed and pillows! I will stay here again on my next trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Rich M,

Thanks so much for the kind review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found the bed comfortable.

Until next time,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,014 - 2,020 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Second visit to Halifax, but first stay in the Cambridge. Will definitely stay there again on future visits. The staff is young, but quite friendly and professional, and really go over the top to make sure your visit is a pleasure. I needed a couple of boxes to mail a few things home, and one of the desk attendants insisted on restocking the hotel ministore so I could have 2 empty boxes. There is a handy coin laundry facility in the hotel that helps if you've been on the road and run out of essentials; you can even watch TV as you wash and dry. The views from the higher floors are good of the harbor and the few blocks between the hotel and the harbor. The free breakfast was my only complaint. Continental with few items, tiny glasses, huge spoons, nothing hot but tasteless oatmeal. You can order off a limited menu, but it is pricey. Go out for breakfast. One more plus, parking, while $16 per day, is underground, heated and very secure. The hotel is only one block from Spring Garden, the shopping Mecca of downtown, also only a few blocks from the waterfront, and great restaurants and pubs abound within waliking distance. A good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsupial4058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Marsupial4058,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the breakfast we offer. We do try to have something for everyone.

I hope to see you again.

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We recently stayed for the weekend at Cambridge Suites and had a great time. There were 4 adults sharing a room so booked the 1 bedroom suite which had 2 double beds and a pullout couch in the living area. They also had a small kitchenette at the side of the living room with a microwave, utensils and a mini fridge. At first glace from the outside the hotel looks a bit outdated but the inside is all newly renovated and looks great! Parking over the weekends in Halifax are free to park on the streets however actually trying to find a spot is quite challenging therefore paying for the parking ($16 plus tax/day) was very handy as it was underground and protected. The hotel is only 6 floors high and has a fitness centre, hot tub and BBQ area on the roof which is very nice. The best feature is the continental breakfast that is offered in the Canvas Resto Lounge. It is a big space with tons of space for all to sit, or you can take back food to your room. Some of the items included in the breakfast were, coffee, tea, toast, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, muffins, fruit salad and fruit. They always had a great amount of food so if you showed up a little late it was okay because they still had a lot of fresh items. All in all the hotel is in a great location right by the Citadel Hill and 2 Streets away from the bars/restaurants and Neptune Theatre. You will definitely not be disappointed with staying at this hotel!

If you are looking for great places to check out while in Halifax, I would highly recommend Pier 21, day trip to Peggys Cove and Lunenburg. Don't forget to get dinner at Salty's, It's DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Jessica G,

Thanks for the fabulous review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast we offer.

Thanks again,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visit Halifax every year and always stay in Cambridge Suites. Believe that at the beginning of 2013 this Hotel enjoyed a full refurbishment, which has left it fresh and pleasing. The dining area is now comfortable, welcoming and spacious, with a well laid out breakfast area. Our suite overlooking estuary had plenty of storeage, large, comfortable bed with soft pillows in wardrobe to replace firmer pillows. Pleasant seating area, and we enjoyed machine providing good coffee. As this was our final placement I used the basement washing machines/dryers... that take $2 pieces !
Reception staff very helpful and we enjoyed well advertised wednesdy afternoon get-together for staff and guests providing drinks and snacks. We paid $210 per night, including all taxes (about £130) for suite and breakfast, which we consider very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bymiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Bymiddlesex,

Thank you for the great review. I look forward to seeing you again next year during your annual visit.

We will have even more updates for you next time.

Thanks again,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Superbly run hotel, helpful and friendly staff, great location, clean, great value for money. We made reservations over the phone with a very helpful reservations agent who took the time to discuss and explain the various packages and options (we took the suite deal package and glad we did). Our positive first impression was reconfirmed countless times from check-in through to check-out 4 days later. Minor maintenance issues (slow running drains) were taken care of immediately, rooms were cleaned promptly and meticulously, front desk staff were helpful with questions, and the happy hour on check-in was a very nice touch (tip- take your wine glasses upstairs to the rooftop patio in good weather). The restaurant was surprisingly good, although breakfast was a gong show. To be fair, the hotel can't be held accountable for the boorish feeding frenzy caused by busloads of tourists during high season. Amazingly, we seemed to be the only ones to leave a tip for the servers. Perhaps the hotel can add a couple dollars "service charge" to rates that include breakfast for these poor servers who are run off their feet for minimum wage.

Room Tip: Suite deal package is great value. Ask for a step-down 1-bdrm suite with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronski766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Ronski766,

Thanks for the great comments about your stay Ronski766. I am happy you enjoyed your experience with us right from the time you made the reservation.

Thank you for tipping the servers, I am sure they appreciated it.

Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As a man of business I often encounter hotels that excel in providing a comfortable room. However, few provide the extra touches that make a stay special. Cambridge Suites Halifax stands out in that regard. Along Brunswick Street, the Cambridge Suites is ideally situated near many of the city's local attractions such as the Halifax Citadel, the Halifax Metro Centre, and the Public Gardens, as well as a host of restaurants, shops, apartments, trees, pedestrians, automobiles, historical stuff, and exotic wildlife.

Upon entry one is immediately faced with choices as to how to proceed---a challenge, if you will. To the left is the front desk, the centre elevators, to the right the restaurant. There is no clear direction, nor helpful signage. There is a powerful rationale to this, however. This layout was clearly designed as an initiation rite for new guests. If one selects paths in the incorrect order, confusion, awkwardness, and big time peril may result. If one remembers to remember the acronym CRB (Check-In, Room, Breakfast) they will be successful. I fear that in writing this I have violated the sacred oaths sworn by all successful Cambridge Suites initiates. By revealing these secrets this may very well be my last review...

Provided one passes the sacred trials, they will take part in additional rituals, including the confirmation of name, the swearing that no smoking shall take place in the room, and the displaying of credit card for room deposit. Parking is $16/night.

The rooms themselves are tastefully arranged, featuring a bed, desk, coffee table, and even a couch. It is like a bedroom and living room all rolled up into a little, efficient ball of comfy. At the end opposite the window is a kitchen-like area, complete with microwave and refrigerator. My experience with the small sink also located therein was limited to pouring some coffee down the drain, but it was a clean, satisfactory pour.

At roughly 8 feet long, the counter top is the ideal surface for a number of purposes, be it placing belongings after a long day or trade and/or tourism, hosting a potluck dinner, or for playing with matchbox cars---Even if one is in their mid-30s this is a totally awesome idea. Vroom Vroom!

In one drawer is silverware. Though small, this is a powerful addition, allowing the guest to go forth and confidently order takeout from one of Halifax's fine eateries without the crippling embarrassment of having to ask for plastic cutlery.

The bathrooms were both clean and standard. However, the wallpaper stood out as a defining feature. Cloth-like in texture, and of medium dark grey hue, it was particularly inviting. It draws the guest's eye closer, demanding to be inspected...touched...savoured...When running a finger along it, if one listens closely, the wallpaper gives the sounds of low tide along Peggy's Cove. It's transcendent, oceanic.

There was also some ring on a chain attached to the tile above the bathtub. I have no idea what that's there for.

Though crime is low, it is nevertheless comforting to know that the Cambridge Suites maintains a firm commitment to the integrity of their rooms. Rather than rusty old keys or magnetic strip cards that fail if one's cell phone so much as farts, the hotel has implemented RFID technology for room access. These cards are secure in both function and appearance, being a simple white without any identifying text or logos. This simplicity is particularity useful if a guest is avoiding "The Man" and they happen to lose their card while being pursued. Even Dog the Bounty Hunter couldn't make use of a wayward room key. Instead he'll have to continue relying on prayer, free smokes, and firm yet sympathetic ear.

Such innovations may also lead to revolutionary new ways of unlocking one's room. For instance, I put my card in my back pocket and tried to bootysnap my way in. It didn't work.

Although I was unable to partake on my latest visit, the weekly social is an event I enjoyed on a previous stay. It is great that the hotel aims to not only provide a place to rest, but also foster a community of guests. At the social was complimentary beers from local brewers as well as tasty hors d'oeuvres. The mini chili cheese pies were exceptional. The staff true to form was friendly and informative in both beverages and 'the local scene.' After an hour of good cheer and fellowship among my fellow guests, I retired to my room to engage in what anthropologists call 'tipsy texting.' My significant other was impressed with the outstanding hospitality as I described it, but not so much my subsequent phoning to provide off-key, incomplete renditions of famous showtunes.

In all, the Cambridge Suites offers a strong package of hospitality, comfortable, versatile rooms and ideal location for those visiting Halifax. The very thought of my next stay makes me want to twerk. I won't stick out my tongue like Miley Cyrus though. She looks pretty dumb doing that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KtotheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear KtotheG,

How to reply to your review has left me perplexed. I take great pride in being witty and quick, however the summary of your experience has left me speechless.

I will simply provide you with a BIG thank you! I look forward to your next visit with us and your experiments with the new key system.

Until then,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is across the street from the Citadel and within walking distance of the waterfront and restaurants and the downtown area The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Breakfast was very good and parking ii conveniently located under the hotel. I would highly recommend the Cambridge Suites for a stay in Halifax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Marvin84,

Thanks for the great review Marvin84. I will be expecting more Long Islanders to visit us now from your great recommendations!

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,028 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £107 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing