We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Always a great place to stay in HRM for business or a just weekend away for two. The room is clean and well appointed. service is excellent with cheerful, helpful staff. And being in the downtown makes for easy access to the shops and services of HRM.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Dave D,

Thanks Dave D from Mahone Bay for the wonderful review. See you next time you come up from the South Shore.

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,723 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent location, within easy walking distance to the Citadel and waterfront. Spacious room with new amenities and fixtures, nice complimentary breakfast, good wifi service. The only negative is that the room door is a bit thin, and it was possible to hear sounds from the corridor outside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear David M,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the thin door. We just replaced the corridor carpet which is thinner than what we had and has caused a small gap under the door. We are in the process of fixing that problem now.

See you soon,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Your Review
Economy hotel
Musty smelling rooms
Carpet was dank and peeling
Living room has no view and walls are so thin you can hear people in the hall from the living room. Buffett breakfast gets busy at 8am be sure you go before then if you want a seat at a table or sit at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Holly M,

Thank you for the review Holly M. I am sorry to hear that the Cambridge is not for you. We did just replace the carpet in 2010, so I am sorry it was peeling. I am also sorry the room smelled musty. Sometimes in the summer with the air conditioning running all the time moisture can build up.

Safe Travels,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A family of six including 2 year old granddaughter, we took two junior suites. These provided the accommodation we needed for 3 nights. The location was perfect for the waterfront and other sights. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CoventryDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear ConventryDon,

Thank you so much for the great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay while visiting from the UK.

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great 2 bedroom apartment with all the comfort of home. It was a delight to arrive after a lengthy drive and see it as home. We loved the balcony or terrace with patio seating area with the BBQ(which we did not use because of rain). We would return to this accommodation the next trip to Moncton and would definitely want to stay in Halifax too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear G O,

Thank you very much for the review. The title of your review is exactly what we go for; making guests feel like they're coming home.

See you soon,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very welcoming and gracious staff. Ample room with mini fridge, microwave, coffee. Well located within walking distance of most major tourist sites. We found that when we were on the waterfront and didn't want the steep walk back up Sackville, we just went a few blocks over to Morris and came up that way - way less steep!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Gail R,

Thanks for the review and the tips on how to get up the hill.

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been staying at Cambridge Suites for years, and keep going back because of the good experiences we have there. The prime attraction for us is the location, near our favourite pubs, restaurants, historic sites, shopping, coffee shop, walking areas. These include Durty Nelly's and the Lord Nelson pub; St Paul's church, the Citadel, the Public Gardens and the harbour area; Bookmark bookstore, Pete's Fruitique, Zwicker's Art Gallery and Stevareno's coffee. We love the space in the suites and the views of the harbour or the Citadel. As well, the bathrooms are fresh and up to date, an imperative for us. The Staff are extremely welcoming and accommodating. The "free" breakfast is offered at generous hours and includes good variety, including fresh fruit, eggs and cereals. It's also fun to sit among our fellow guests, and enjoy the lively vibe of the breakfast experience. Although we no longer have our little dog, when we did, CS warmly welcomed him with a large bag of doggie treats and essentials, something that endeared the hotel to us. In sum, we look forward to our stays at Cambridge Suites, and recommend this hotel highly to others.

Room Tip: While a harbour view is lovely, the Citadel view on the other side of the hotel is also pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHMAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan D, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear CHMAC1,

Thank you very much for the detailed overview of your experience(s) with us. I am so pleased that you always enjoy your time here.

Kind Regards,

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,057 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £87 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing