We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Warm Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites for 10 days while attending the Brier in March. We chose this hotel based om the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor and the fact thar it was very close to the Brier.
The breakfast buffet was good but a little inconsistent. Hard boiled eggs were available every day and some days, scrambled eggs, pancakes or french toast showed up. On our last morning we were given a voucher for a free hot breakfast. My overhard and broken eggs showed up over easy and very runny and my wife's scrambled eggs were not scrambled. Overall we were happy with the free breakfast, particularly the fresh fruit and great coffee.
Early on in our stay, we complained about the excessive heat in our room. Maintenance quickly showed up and explained that the settings only allowed for warm air at this time of year. We had our window open the entire stay. This was too bad because the rest of the room was very nice. It was very handy having a fridge and microwave. We enjoyed the lobster which we bought at Sobey's. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi at the top of the hotel overlooking Halifax. It was great being able to print off our boarding passes at the business center.
The staff was very good and we enjoyed the manager's reception. The staff tried to resolve our complaints and we even received a follow up call from the manager to see if the issues had been resolved and this was appreciated.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed the week of the Brier having hosted some great canadians from right across the country. I apologize for the breakfast confusion. We have been polling our guests and speaking with our most frequent guests about the breakfast experience. We have recently sampled with scrambled eggs, french toast, boiled eggs, bagels, etc to see what works best for our customers.
I have followed up with the restaurant and they had additional product from our trials and thought that the Brier followers may appreciate having more choice than we usually offer. Unfortunately we did a bad job communicating that to our customers and we confused them. Thank you for pointing this out to us and we will do our best to get our complimentary breakfast right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,552 - 2,558 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

The Rooms are Great!
The Service is Great!
The Food is Great!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorrisNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Thank you MorrisNewfoundland for your review - It was our pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We were there in March for the Brier, and were very happy with our experience. We were very close to the Metro Centre which was our main objective, and when I called to make reservations the receptionist assured me that it was a short walk. We parked our car in the underground parking, and were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was a standard suite and it was very roomy and comfortable, and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The curtains were heavy and great for keeping out the light, but when opened the window gave lots of light and a nice view of the city. The breakfast was very good, and I enjoyed oatmeal, fresh fruit, fresh still warm from the oven muffins and orange juice every morning. Also offered was toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal and coffee and occasionally fried eggs, scrambled eggs and pancakes - overall a very good selection. I also liked the fact that there were two computers with internet connection in a room off the lobby. At the restaurant, I had the best martini ever - a German Chocolate Martini - and it was delicious. We missed out on the Manager's reception - just arriving back at the end of it - but everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves with wine, beer and food. A special mention to Trish (the receptionist whom we first booked our reservations with - very friendly and helpful), Patrick (our waiter at the hotel restaurant - very friendly and yet professional) and Olga (housekeeping - great job cleaning our room) and the rest of the hotel staff who were all very friendly. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future - hopefully for the next Brier.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lypsiladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2010

Thank you for sharing the details of our property. We especially enjoyed that you mentioned some of our team members. They take a tremendous amount of pride in what they do and will truly appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This experience, and I have traveled the world , was better that the finest hotels we have ever stayed at. The caring and friendliness afforded us cannot be matched. It was better than our stay at the most well known hotel in Quebec City.paula Cherie and the entire staff should be rewarded!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiemolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2010

WOW - thank you for your positive comments. I will definitely pass on your kind words to Paula. She is a true shining star and I am glad you got to meet her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

This was my first of many trips to Halifax for business. I chose Cambridge suites after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor, and was not disappointed. Scott Travis, the hotel manager and his staff were very helpful thoughout my weeks stay. Whether it be for directions, restaurant suggestions or help with my business needs everyone was freindly and efficient. Make sure not to miss the Wednesday night manager's meet and greet happy hour from 5-6pm. As a solo traveler I appreciated getting to meet some of the other hotel guests.
The rooms have all been recently renovated and are very nicely decorated and very functional and comfortable. Very comfortable beds!!! The rooms were clean and well stocked. Each room has a small efficiency kichenette with fridge, microwave and even a wine bottle opener and can opener. Very nice.
The Business center which has free access to High Speed internet and printer were very helpful to me as I do not yet have a laptop. Although if you have one the rooms come with free high speed internet access.
Dofsky's restaurant serves a continental breakfast, that goes beyond the normal muffin and coffee. There was fresh fruit salad, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, home made muffins,three cold cereal choices and a self serve toaster. My only suggestion here would be maybe some bagels or english muffins. Of course there was Coffee, tea and juice. I ate two meals at Dofsky's as well and both were delicious. Nice casual feel to the restaurant.
This hotel is in walking distance to all the attractions of Halifax and has a indoor parking garage with elevator access to your room from the garage. It's central location was nice, a short walk to the Citadel just in front, the Metro center just down the street and Spring Garden shopping district as well as the Historical area's and Waterfront.
All in all I really enjoyed my stay and plan on returning here for my next trip.
Thanks to all the staff
Debra from Montreal

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra_from_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2010

Thank you Debra_from_Montreal for sharing your feedback on our property. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon and hopefully your visit will include a Wednesday night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I stayed here with my family in August on a trip to the Maritimes. I have to say Cambridge Suites was the best hotel we have stayed at in a long time. We stayed in this gorgeous, modern suite. When you walk in, there is a closet (with doors!). Then you enter the large living room with a big couch (sofa bed), desk and chair, flat screen TV on the wall, and of course a kitchenette! Yes with a sink and dishes! We had a "harbourview suite" so we had a beautiful view of the harbour! Too bad no bluenoses were passing at the time.
There is also a bedroom with very comfortable beds and an abundance of comfortable pillows and of course another flat screen TV.
There is a rooftop patio with a great view where you can go to eat, relax, or tan. There is underground parking for $15 per night. The hotel breakfast is really good with a lavish buffet of hot and cold food. Don't worry about the hotel not having a pool because you can go to the Prince George Hotel and show them your Cambridge key and they give you a pool key as the two are affiliated.
As for the location, it really couldn't be much better. It is right across the street from Citadel Hill and a minutes to Spring Garden Road and the harbour.
As good as this hotel is, its staff is even better. From start to finish we were treated with respect and felt that we were valued as customers.
I would definitely stay here again without even thinking. Keep up the great work!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verazzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Stayed here again - my choice. Very professional and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and functional rooms. Great location. Useful breakfast included in price. Easy access and parking.

Because of the staff, the location and overall fit and finish, I would definitely stay at this well managed hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MfW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,088 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing