We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is a hotel and staff that knows what they're doing; they know they are looking after travellers. The front desk people, for example, make a habit of asking things like: So where are you off to today? Then depending on your response proceed to fill you in with their knowledge of the area, tips, and recommendations. And that spirit of helpfulness pervades the hotel and the rest of the staff.

It's location is ideal - if you want a spectacular view of Halifax harbour, be across the street from the city's best known attraction, Citadel Hill, and just down the street from the main arena, where the annual Royal Nova Scotia Tattoo takes place every July an event not to be missed. But the hotel is a climb if your are coming back up from the Halifax waterfront. Good exercise though if you are moderately fit.

Overall, I can't remember a better experience in a visitor-friendly hotel like this since I was in Budapest years ago and stayed at the Forum Hotel. Ever since, the Forum set the standard of customer service for me. The Cambridge Suites was its equivalent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyshaw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Thank you andyshaw56 for a great review of our property. I am glad we were a match for each other on this visit and we were able to be your home away from home while you were in Halifax. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,537 - 2,543 of 2,779 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

Spent two nights here while exploring downtown Halifax. Although we have been to the city several times, this is our first experience with staying here and we found the Cambridge Suites to be a great location, near the Citadel and with lots of restaurants two blocks away on either Argyle or Spring Garden Road. The hotel has been recently renovated and everything was stylish and in good repair, with windows that actually open! I would have preferred a firmer mattress without the pillowtop effect, but thats me. Staff were great, providing restaurant recommendations and a local map. We have never seen so many servers at a self-serve breakfast; they kept the buffet filled despite the large amount of people eating at once. We didnt have a problem getting a seat at breakfast but did notice that after 10:00 the staff starting shutting it down. Breakfast was nothing special - just the usual cereal, bagels that arent, frozen muffins, hard-boiled eggs. It was free and filling, thats about all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Hi t42,
It is a pleasure to be your 115th review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope this means we can count on you staying with us again when you return to Halifax? We hope so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We have had the pleasure of visiting this hotel since 1996 . From the time we make our reservation online until tthe day we leave , our every need is addressed by smiling, cheerful,helpul and knowledgeable staff .The hotel is kept immaculately clean throuhout as evidenced by the entrance and Front Desk area . The rooms are extremely comfortable and are equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, free coffee or tea and dishes . There is free access to the internet and a handy free business office . The hotel provides a complimentary buffet beakfast from 6:30-9:30 . The dining room provides a great varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner . The service and food are excellent and the price range is reasonable . The hotel has a zero tolerance for noise policy - the guest is asked once to quiet down and if a second vist is necessary they are asked to leave the hotel .
For those fitness enthusiasts there is a fitness room and sauna .
Overall rating outstanding service and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Thank you jamck27 for reviewing our property on tripadvisor. I am sorry you were disturbed by one of your neighbors but very pleased you appreciated the way we handled the situation. Our Night Team takes pride in handling these situations effectively and they will very happy to know you were satisfied with their actions. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Service with a smile by everyone, every day. Front desk staff went out of their way to help with information and directions. Cambridge is centrally located for downtown activities. Our room had a beautiful view of the harbour. It was quiet. Wifi worked like a charm. Exercise room was great as was outdoor patio and BBQ. Loved the variety and freshness of the continental breakfast. Complimentary Wed evening happy hour for guests was an added bonus. In short, well done to everyone at the Cambridge!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank you marilynruth for staying with us and taking time out of your day to post a review - we really, really appreciate it. We have almost a completely new front desk team so to hear nice things about them makes me proud. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

great stay at the cambridge suites close to all amenities customer service and rooms are next to none..enjoyed my stay very much

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamsGbNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Hi DreamsGbNovaScotia and thank you for posting a review. I am glad the service/product that we provide meet what you were looking for and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Everything delivered as promised including our tickets and programme for the International Tattoo which is a 'must see' if in Halifax at this time. Hotel is near the top of the hill therefore not recommended for those who cannot walk up hills. For us it was ideal, able to walk down through town to the waterfront and walk the other way around the Citadel and to the small Public Gardens. Breakfast room/restaurant could be better(cramped).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEHE2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Thank you JEHE2615 for posting a review. I am pleased to hear you were happy with your visit to Halifax and the Cambridge Suites Hotel. My apologies for the large crowds at breakfast. It is difficult to manage when everyone in the Hotel is on roughly the same schedule and I am sorry this affected your stay. If you ever cross the big pond again we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Cambridge Suites Hotel Halifax is usually my first lodging choice when I'm visiting Halifax. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the accommodation is very clean, comfortable, and spacious. In my experience prices were suitable (I stayed there at least 3 times). Parking and local phone calls were free in all my stays. In my opinion, there is no need to search for other choices.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alkazm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Hello Alkazm36 and thank you for your kind words. If I start losing weight could you sneak me home in your suitcase the next time you visit us? I would love to visit your country sometime. Look at me day dreaming now....... Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £78 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing