We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outstanding service, wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a mid-priced stay close to downtown and the waterfront. Rooms were well appointed, well serviced and the staff was knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. Included breakfast was fine — standard continental fare that was well stocked and served in the lobby restaurant. There is a great rooftop deck — fabulous place to have your morning coffee or happy hour drink and watch the harbour activity. There is also a BBQ on the deck available for guest use. Hotel is directly adjacent to the Halifax Citadel, and about two or three blocks from the waterfront — a very convenient location. The hotel puts on a weekly guest mixer, and while I usually avoid these things like the plague, this one was actually highly enjoyable, in no small part to the fact that it was stocked with gratis wine and beer (rather than a bad rum punch) and a nice assortment of munchies. I will definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gord_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

Hello Gord_London. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooftop patio is definitely a wonderful place to have a morning coffee or afternoon bevy and our wednesday night receptions are supremely well attended and really enjoyable for us to host. No bad rum punch served here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,421 - 2,427 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

It was wonderful staying in a suite with all the comforts of home instead of a hotel room for about the same price. And when you add in great (free) breakfast in the morning, it was a deal. It was within walking distance to everything downtown ,and the staff were more than pleasant and helpful!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckycharm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Hi luckycharm23 - Want to hear something funny? The title of your review was an advertising slogan we used years ago. Long before me of course - lol. It is great to hear people refer to our Hotel as home because that means we at least did a few things right. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed only for one night, wish it had been more, loved the suites and the location was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great, really would recommend this hotel to everyone and halifax is beautiful!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radders31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Hi radders31,
We wish you could have stayed more than 1 night too. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. On any return visits to Halifax we would be more than happy to host you again - it is just a tiny body of water to cross. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Clean room. Manager's reception on Wednesday was nice. The location was central to downtown shopping, restaurants and attractions. Hotel located diagonally across from the Halifax Citadel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Hi gottman - we get a lot of positive comments about our wednesday night reception in the lobby - glad to hear you enjoyed it. We have made some long lasting friendships from that reception and we feel it is time well spent (with great company!). We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Our needs due to dietary issues were taken care of beyond our expectations.
Understading staff and always very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyintoronto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you tonyintoronto33 for taking the time to post a review. I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto the restaurant. We have a great property in Toronto located on East Richmond (right downtown) if you ever need to escape from real life but stay relatively close to home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We chose the Cambridge Suites based on reviews here. I'm very glad we did. It is a modern hotel with exceptional staff attitudes. We were in Halifax for a quick visit and this hotel was just right for us. Modern, spotless, decent continental breakfast, garage parking (a plus in a city, though we did pay $17 for it, still worth it). The hotel is literally across the street from the Citadel (don't miss it) and a few blocks from the waterfront. The roof deck gives a neat view of the city and harbor.

My only complaint is the very slow and intermittent wireless Internet. This should not be a problem in an otherwise stellar hotel.

They are currently re-caulking the windows so ask for a room that is on a side that is not affected. We were on a side not being worked upon so no problem for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitemountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Good morning whitemountainman. I am sorry for the slow internet. This is not something I have heard for he last 15 months and I assure you I will dispatch our resident "tech dude" to get on the case. I am sorry this affected you visit with us. The caulking is the first step in converting our exterior which we hope will be painted by the end of September. I am glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

What a great hotel. Excellent location, very short walk down a steep hill to the waterfront. Very helpful staff. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. This hotel includes a continental breakfast with the price of the room. One piece of advice is to get to the breakfast early or you will have trouble finding a seat as around 8-8:30 it is packed.
There is a fitness room on the top floor of the hotel and a nice patio with a barbeque and tables and chairs to sit. There is no pool, however you are able to use the pool at the "Prince George" a block down the road, what an awesome pool this is. Wonderful pool. You have to pay $15.00/night extra for underground parking which was fine for us. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8te_karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotttravis, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Holy great review Gr8te_karma - thank you. Two comments that always bring a huge smile to my face are great staff and clean hotel. I am glad we found each other - must have been "karma". Thank you very much for speaking so positively about our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,019 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £107 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing