We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate, OK experience; will be better when renovations are complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluenose Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Good rate, OK experience; will be better when renovations are complete”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This appears to be a hotel in transition, based on other reviewers' mentioning renovations in progress. It appeared during my visit in late June 2011 that the renovations so far had focused on the main building at the front of the property. We were in the other building, the three-story wooden structure in the back, and it would appear that these have not been renovated yet. For $71 a night, I am not complaining -- this was reserved in advance on the website, and when we arrived the sign out front advertised a $69 rate. It was just my wife and me, but somehow we got a large room with three queen size beds and two bathrooms (shower in one, toilet and sink in the other). The door was in bad shape, but it had a card-swipe lock that worked. Room was a little shabby but clean; the only thing I didn't like was a chair with cloth upholstery showing some stains. It had one window, providing a view of a propane tank under an exterior stairway. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Internet worked except for an outage at 10 p.m. one night; clerk said he would re-set the router, but it was not done until day shift came in the next morning. Rate includes breakfast in the Perks restaurant, and it is basic -- hot or cold cereal, toast or bagel, tea or coffee. All in all, it was a good experience, but I would advise people to ask if the better rates are available in the renovated rooms in the main building.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    32
    41
    49
See reviews for
51
45
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I came into this hotel and from the time I went through the door the atmosphere was wonderful. The staff were very friendly answering all my questions and helping me out in a pinch. I could only not have asked for a better place. I understand this hotel changed hands in December and the improvements to date were worth the visit.

Room Tip: front of the hotel has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I picked this hotel because of the pics of the Cafe! love the chalkboard writing!
The staff at the Perks Cafe have been amazing to me! From the Owner (Marsha), to the cafe manager (Miranda),and all the excellent customer service experts: Cheryl, Kate, Holly! Travelliing alone does get lonely but these lovely ladies have provided a sense of home for me! The small town feel is alive and well in Bedford, especially at this cafe and Cheryl was extremely helpful in my search of apt hunting with leads!! The food and decor in the cafe is great value! The hours of operation for the cafe are very convenient, the food( homely selection) and service friendly and affordable. Best coffee I've had in Nova Scotia...highly recommend !!!!!! :)

Room Tip: if u want view ask for it. options available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticculinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Renovated rooms are ok. Still need a lot of work. Breakfast is coffee and cereal. We just went out for breakfast. Kitchenettes have no dishes or utensils. Wireless Internet is slow or none existent. The one thing I did like was that they charged my card right away with no hold.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice_queen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Just finished my 2-night stay at this hotel.

Was hesitant to book due to negative reviews, BUT I also read that the rooms were recently renovated.

The hotel is an older 3-story bldg with some other rooms on the main level. Wooden exterior staircases and no elevators here, but there must be accessible rooms on the main level.

Staff was always great and helpful.

Room was clean, no frills, with an older tv set w cable and free coffee. A good deal altogether and decent choice for the average road warrior. Wifi worked too.

Give this place a chance.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TolouseKytzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

This hotel is fine if there are no other options. In fact, most of the motels/hotels, including the Howard Johnson Bluenos, along Bedford Highway have seen better days The internet service worked for one day out of the four we were there. There was a persistent foul odour coming from the washroom. The property appeared shabby and poorly presented. The floor of our room (#53) was not level so the bed was on an angle making sleeping a bit difficult. If were not so busy we would have looked for another place, but we didn't have time and we were out for most of the day. Staff were pleasant though. They have a big challenge to put a happy face on some of the big problems at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapulpa
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We got there early enough to cancel, so when we got in the room through the screen door that was partially off and by the window which was open, we turned back the bed spread and saw what was undoubtedly sheets that had been slept on and not changed. Believe me, you could tell by the wrinkles. Can you imagine? We did get our credit card charge torn up and were able to get a great deal through the visitor's center.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihurst, Manager at Bluenose Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment. This hotel this in now under new ownership and closed for much needed renovations. The staff is 100% new and the renovations are exstensive. We will re-open with about half of the rooms operating on November 25 while we work on the remainder of the rooms. The hotel was pooly run....it will be very well run. I am the principle in the Management Company that has been engaged to over see the hotel for the new owners.

We are excited to bring a new level of caring, service and cleanliness to the hotel when we re-open on Nov 25th.

Come see us then!
Ian H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
4.8 mi away
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#26 of 28 in Halifax
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chebucto Inn
Chebucto Inn
#25 of 28 in Halifax
59 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
245 reviews
2.9 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluenose Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluenose Inn & Suites

Property: Bluenose Inn & Suites
Address: 636 Bedford Hwy, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 2L8, Canada (Formerly Days Inn Halifax)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluenose Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bluenose Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Bluenose Hotel Halifax
Howard Johnson Halifax
Halifax Howard Johnson
Bluenose Inn & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing