We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I visited the Delta Barrington last August while on business. I had booked it for two weeks and was given a room very close to a bar which was rather incovenient. The room was also very humid but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious. I was on the gold floor and the breakfast had multiple choices. I switched hotel due to the noise and found something way better for the same price.

Room Tip: If you go, pick a room on the Barrington street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucianozab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Hello from Delta Barrington,

I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us from back in August 2011. I am very concerned to hear you had checked out mid stay and found accommodation at another hotel. At times it is hard for us to control the noise from our neighbors being centrally located in historic properties of Halifax... we do have sound tested windows albeit the base of an outdoor band is difficult to eliminate 100%. We do have room options that are facing an inner courtyard with windows that open... to provide fresh air in with a controlled environment free of any noise.

I am sorry we were not able to keep your business by offering an alternative room location. My email is below.. I encourage you to contact me directly to assist with any future Halifax reservations... we would really like an other opportunity to have you back as our guest.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    232
    99
    42
    11
See reviews for
95
171
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Nice hotel with great reception. Gave toy to my 2 year old.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankyboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thanks very much for posting a review on tripadvisor from your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We love seeing kids come through our front doors and always keep some little gifts available for those special guests.

Thanks for choosing us! We look forward in welcoming you and your family back soon.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Myself and my fiance decided we wanted to take a mini-vacation to Halifax to indulge in the Casino and enjoy a relaxing weekend. I am actually sitting in my room right now. I was so impressed with everything thus far that I had to review it right away.

We checked in last night around 7:30. To our surprise we had valet parking which was included in our package! The valet worker last night (wish I knew his name) was by far one of the nicest, most pleasant employees I have ever encountered at any hotel, anywhere.

When we went to check in, we had an issue with our debit card. Our bank had frozen funds as we had spent so much that day. We had no other form of payment and the bank was closed. The girl at the front desk was EXTREMELY accomodating and allowed us to use our room mates credit card (after he emailed her a photo of the card and permission to use it). She was also extremely nice, courteous and just a pleasure to deal with.

We only have one complaint thus far and that is about the food. We ordered room service for dinner last night and breakfast this morning. My fiance had Calamari and I had chicken fingers with a Caesar salad. The Calamari was slightly undercooked and not crispy like it should have been. The chicken fingers were overcooked and pretty bland. The salad was really good though. For breakfast he had an omelette which was really good but I ordered Eggs Benedict and I was quite disappointed. There was hardly any hollandaise sauce and it was flavorless. I had to add a good amount of salt to make it edible.

Also, we are smokers and would have liked to have the option for a smoking room, but sadly there are none. And our room is on the 3rd floor and a long walk from the elevator so it takes far too long to get outside which is frustrating.

Our number 1 complaint is about the TV. Whatever program they use for they television services is great for movies and keeping track of your charges, but if you want to just watch regular cable, it is a huge pain.

The rooms are very nice and very clean. The bed is extremely comfortable and it is pleasantly quiet.

We are extremely pleased with the overall stay so far, with the exception of the few things I mentioned above. The staff definitely make this place what it is. They are all really great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for such prompt feedback from your recent stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you are doing.

There are many reputable hotels in Halifax... thank you for choosing us. Its great to hear your time away with us is just what you wanted in terms of getting away and re-energizing yourselves. Its great to hear your comments on our service levels and our ability to accommodate your requests. I am sorry to hear not all aspects of your food and beverage experience where completely to your satisfaction. My email is below I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss in grater detail that will provide us an opportunity to further investigate the mentioned issues.

Thanks again for choosing us!

Very Best,

Donnie
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel to celebrate New Year's Eve, and enjoyed our stay very much. We ate dinner at Traders Bar, located in the hotel, just off the main lobby area. The food was very delicious, and was a great treat!
Overall, a great experience here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillinNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Happy New Year from Delta Barrington!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your New Years stay with us. We are thrilled you chose us to help you ring in 2012. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to helping you ring in many more New Year's to come.

Very Best,

Donnie
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I've stayed at this hotel before and reviewed it on Tripadvisor before as well. I'm glad to say nothing has changed since my last review. Everyone was very friendly and professional, the hotel was clean, and the room was fantastic! I live in Halifax but decided to have a weekend escape and I stayed in the Prince Of Wales Suite which is the largest suite the hotel has. Everyone greeted me by my last name through-out the hotel, it was nice being acknowledged. Kylie from the Signature Club lounge and Front Desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. She said she's only been there three months but this Delta trains there staff very well and she made me feel right at home.
I did notice that the hot tub seems to be gone in this hotel... I could of sworn last time I stayed in 2008 there was a hot tub?.. Not sure why this was removed but it didn't effect my stay in a negative way.
Thanks again for a great stay and I hope to return for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Hello Again!

Thanks for choosing us for your night on the town! Its great to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our Prince of Wales Suite and also fantastic to hear your feedback on the service Kylie provided in the lounge... I will pass along your comments. We did have to remove our hot tub due to unforeseen and complicated engineering issues to do with the Barrington Place complex... we do not have an immediate resolution so chose to remove it and create a bit of a lounge area to the pool.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share feedback with us and also your continued loyalty. Please feel free to contact me directly should you need any assistance with any future reservations.

Very Best,

Donnie
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Delta Barrington over the past 10 years. Without a doubt, one of my favourite places to stay. I could comment on many aspects of my experiences at the Barrington, but I think the most telling is the fact that at least four of the front line staff - those interacting with the guests every day - have been there as long as I've been going there. I think that speaks volumes regarding the management, the environment and the type of experience guest can expect. In my opinion, it's a great stay in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikewhatILike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Greeting's from Delta Barrington!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Its great to hear your comments regarding our colleagues and the service levels they provide... they are our true point of difference from other hotels. Thank you for your continued patronage over the years... we look forward to seeing you back soon in 2012.

Very Best,

Donnie
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a day during our visit to halifax. It is located close to port and Casino. It was easy to walk to all the attractions in Halifax downtown from here. Our room opened to a huge terrace which was a nice place to relax. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. Enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank payanaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Greeting's from Delta Barrington! Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your recent visit. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our downtown location to be very convenient. Its great to hear your comments regarding our room and bed products.

Thanks for choosing us! We hope to see you back soon!

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
dmacdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
#14 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing