We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, nice building, nice city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice building, nice city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had a room overlooking the Granville Mall and the quaint little bistros and coffee/tea shop with tables outside. The room was quiet because there are no cars on this part of Granville.
The staff were very helpful in getting information on car rental. It was interesting to see the bell men wearing the Nova Scotia tartan kilts, nice touch. The Barrington Shops were also nice.
The room was spacious with nice beds. There were two very comfortable high back chairs with a table and lamp between them. They were perfect for relaxing after a long day out.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of towels and amenities. I really appreciate having an iron and ironing board in the room for wrinkled shirts from the suitcase. Thanks. This is why people are loyal to Delta. Because they think of everything.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Granville Mall are nice and quiet. There are no cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Greetings from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Halifax. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our city! Our kilted bell staff are a hit with our guests... we are thrilled to hear your comments.

Thanks again for choosing us... we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald]
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    232
    99
    42
    11
See reviews for
95
171
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The staff and valet parking at this location were fantastic. Parking in Halifax can be tricky and the valet service was totally worth the cost (19.95 a day - about the same as paying for a parking garage in the area). The bed was very comfortable, and although the rooms aren't huge, they were quiet, even though we were facing the street. As we had been travelling for a week by the time we arrived, we really wanted a hot tub, which the hotel does not have - however, it was a simple thing to cross the street and use the facilities at the Delta Halifax (which is a bit fancier, and much more expensive) - completely hassle free. The location is great, with easy access to the waterfront - easy to drop off shopping part way through the day, too! Only drawback was no included breakfast, and the fact they are renovating the main areas - although when its done it will be super nice. We would definitely stay again - probably the most comfortable beds of our trip (we stayed at 7 different hotels over the course of 2 weeks).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Greetings from Delta Barrington,

We appreciate you including us in your travel plans. There are many reputable hotels in Halifax and we appreciate you choosing us. Its great to read your comments and we are very happy we and Delta Halifax provided you with an experience that will see you return. Our lobby and restaurant renovations are well underway and we are very excited for the finished product when revealed in late September.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at the Barrington (may14-17 2012) . The room I had was nothing special, it did have all the basics. The staff were very helpful with directions to the things I came to Halifax to see. The hotel is perfectly located with a number of different local buses stopping directly across the street from the Barrington. This is also where the fair sized indoor mall is located, with a food court and a number of stores including a large $ store. This accessible by the Ped-Way, an enclosed pedestrian walkway which goes from building to building in some of the downtown. You can also take the 5 minute walk from hotel, via the Ped-Way to the casino. The boardwalk is very close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griff21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing us on your visit back in May. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback with us and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and particularly enjoyed our location... we believe our location to be the best of any hotel in Halifax.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was disappointed with my latest stay at the Delta Barrington (July 21-23). I had stayed here four or five times in the past few years and was pleased with every stay except this one. The main issue was that our room was hot and stuffy, even with the air conditioning on full blast. We called the front desk to have someone come up and check it out, and they said that the air conditioning was working correctly and offered to bring us a fan. We accepted the fan but it didn't help a whole lot (I would wake up in the middle of night, covered in sweat, yuck!). The thing is, every other time I've stay at the Delta B, I've never had a complaint about the AC... so something weird was going on.

We had to call the desk a few times for some extra items - towels, one day we had NO toilet paper even after the maid had come to clean out room, etc. The staff was very friendly, but I think due to the busy weekend (Tall Ships Festival), sometimes it took 30-60 minutes for someone to come up with the items that we requested.

The location of this hotel was perfect for going to the Tall Ship Festival, right down on the waterfront.

Overall, I just think that for the money we paid, I would've been happier somewhere else. I have a reservation for August but I'm going to cancel it and stay elsewhere. :(

Room Tip: Maybe don't stay on the third floor? Our room was 376 and the AC wasn't working very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing us again on your recent stay last weekend. I am very sorry your last experience was not at the same level you had become accustomed to. Our hotel was very busy last weekend however we will never use that as an excuse for the service issues you have pointed out. We really appreciate your loyalty and would be very grateful for another opportunity to regain your trust.

My email is below... I invite you to contact me as I would like to make up for your last stay. Looking forward to connecting with you.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Great location to walk along the waterfront. Plenty of restaurants close by. The hotel was under renovations but it didn't bother us at all. We were on the signature floor and the evening appetizers were good and so was the breakfast. We slept very well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Greetings from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and very happy to hear you enjoyed our Signature Club experience. Our lobby and restaurant renovations are well underway and we are very excited for the project completion date to arrive in late September.

Thanks again for choosing us... we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My son and I stayed for a week at the Delta Barrington in May 2012 and had a really nice time. The hotel is in a fabulous location right by the waterfront and Historic Properties, and within walking distance to many wonderful shops, restaurants, and places for sight-seeing. We went to the boardwalk on the waterfront everyday.

The hotel rooms are getting a little dated and may be due for some updates soon; however, they were spotlessly clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Our room was on the third floor and was on the smaller side, with a small window.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the valet parking gentlemen were nice and prompt. The complimentary Starbucks coffee in the elevator lobby in the morning was great too.

We really love Halifax as a friendly and lovely city, and enjoyed our stay at the Barrington.

If you have a chance, take a hour's drive west to Lunenburg, a gorgeous waterfront town on the South Shore of Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dillydallying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing us on you visit back in May. There are many reputable hotels in Halifax and we appreciate you choosing us. We are thrilled to read your positive feedback and are happy we were able to be your home away from home.

Thanks again for choosing us... we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ns
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Wanted to take my son to the Discovery Centre and we stayed at the hotel for one night - we stayed there based on location and price ($120). Check in was quick and we were actually able to check in at 1130 - we were just going to park and check in at 3pm. Valet parking is included - so that was a nice perk and they had free wifi. We were only a few minutes walk to the attraction and only a few minutes walk to the waterfront boardwalk area - we spent a lot of time there - great place to stroll and look at all the things.

The room was basic but had a big flat screen tv and a big bathroom. Everything was working and in order. They put us next to the pool which was convenient. Pool was old but the area was very clean and had lots of towels & was serviced often. There is a sauna but the hot tub is across the pedway in the sister hotel for which you have full access.

The staff were friendly and professional and I loved the kilts!! We were close to everything - we walked to the keg and it took 3 minutes.

Great value. Great location. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Greeting from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing us on your recent get-a-way. We are pleased to read our location was very convenient for you. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and service levels and are very happy to hear we met your expectations and provided a great home away from home for you and your family.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
#14 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing