We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMPRESSED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels Barrington
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I wish to thank the staff of the Delta Barrington for being so helpful and courteous during my two-day stay recently. On entering the room we stayed in, I was immediately impressed with how nicely the interior looked and how everything looked so crisp & clean. I was also impressed with how quiet it was, considering it was within walking distance to many of Halifax’s sites. I would recommend the DB to others. I will come back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Greetings from Delta Barrington,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your referrals and recommendation of our hotel to others. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here New Year's eve and had a signiture room. When we arrived the room was small. We emailed Bruce,Director of Operations,who emailed us back immediately and went to the desk to help us out. As it was totally booked, he offerred us a discount price which we appreciated. Within five minutues he called us back and said he had a cancellation and offerred us a fantastic room at the discounted price.The room was beautiful. The work of Bruce and his staff was incredible. We will always stay there when we travel to Halifax. 5 stars.Thanks Val and Bruce

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I am from Halifax and every year we stay at a hotel for New Year's eve. We chose this hotel and found it to be not so great. The first thing I noticed was the awful smell of the fridge. The smell lingered for about an hour after I opened it. I couldn't put my drinks in there. Then there were stains on the bed covers. This hotel reminds me of the 80s and needs to be updated. The lobby was clearly updated, but the rooms were not. And breakfast was ridiculously expensive. You can get a great breakfast anywhere downtown for half the price. I can say that the location to everything is great. Not going outside to get to most bars and restaurants is great. The staff was fantastic. Would I recommend it with other great hotels in the area. No. Try the Marriott, 4 Point Sheraton, Harbourfront Marriott or even the Prince George.

Room Tip: Don't get one at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkness0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your New Years outing. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our service levels and location. I am sorry for the issues you experienced with your room. Not what you would have expected nor what we strive to deliver. I am very sorry we let you down. You are right there are many reputable hotels in our city and we do consider ourselves to be in that company. I am hoping you will reach out to me (email below) as we would like to make up for our short fall and attempt to regain your trust.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here right after Christmas before heading home from our family vacation. The rooms were on the small side for a family of 4 and when we went to order room service we were told that room service was not available after 11 am. Found that to be very a very big inconvenience with 2 small children.
The bell staff and front desk were very welcoming and helped to there ability with a smile on there face.
The attached restaurant is nothing special and I would recommend trying some of the local eateries in the area before going here.
Would try the Marriott or another closer hotel to this one next time I am in Halifax.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-D7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Greetings from Delta Barrington,

Happy New Year... we appreciate you choosing to stay with us over the holiday season. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations due to our limited food and beverage offering over that period of time. As a parent myself I do understand the inconvenience that can be associated with meal periods when travelling with children. Again please accept my apologies for this. My email is below if you are willing we would like to make up for our shortfall on your stay.

I look forward in hearing from you.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on business in December. Location was great for meetings that I was attending. Room was old, or rather the furniture was. Reminded me of furniture that my friends would retire at a cottage. Service was great. Front desk staff and valet very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chencster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Halifax. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our service levels and location. Please know we are currently in the planning stages of building a room renovation plan... very exciting news for our hotel.

Thanks again for staying and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Our youngest son is a cancer patient at the IWK. The Ronald McDonald House where we normally stay during our sons treatment was closed from Christmas Eve to New Years Eve. The hospital has a partnership with the Delta Barrington to provide a complimentary room for patients families. Even though during this stay we weren't paying customers we were treated like royalty. If you're looking for gold plated faucets in your bathroom, then, this may not be the hotel for you. But if you're looking for a staff who genuinely likes what they do and treat you not like a customer or a guest but rather like a best friend, then give this hotel a try. From the lobby receptionist, to the cleaning staff, and the maintenance guy, we were treated like best friends. I love this hotel and if we ever need a hotel in Halifax, we will choose the Delta Barrington. And the pillow top mattresses....wow...I slept better than I have in a long time. Thank you Delta Barrington for the absolute best experience of any hotel we've ever stayed in. You are top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darenmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Hello from Delta Barrington,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy we had an opportunity to help over the holiday season. I will share your feedback with our colleagues... we really appreciate you recognizing their efforts.

Our thoughts and prayers are with your family. Please email me if we can ever be of assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Got a reasonable price for the room through Priceline. There was an odd smell in areas of the hotel, probably due to the attached food court (very handy, though). The covers at the foot of the bed were stained, and the bathroom was extremely small and dated.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JMcD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Happy New Year from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for staying with us this holiday season. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and do hope you will re-consider in trying our hotel again in the future. My email is below I invite you to reach out to me directly to personally assist with your next Halifax reservation as we would really like another opportunity to gain your trust.

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
684 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,172 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels Barrington

Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada (Formerly Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £89 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a seamless travel experience at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington. Our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada sits in the downtown's Historic Properties area, conveniently close to Halifax's top attractions. Get to the most popular destinations in the city via the pedway system, and delight in our perfect location near Casino Nova Scotia, Scotiabank Centre and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing