We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trusted hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Delta name has always been trusted. Naturally, I chose the Delta Barrington for my short visit to Halifax. The doormen in kilt were a nice touch for Nova Scotia. The staff were friendly and my meals were all delicious. My room was clean and the hotel well situated. Halifax is an easily walkable city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaninWanderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Delta Barrington for mine and a friends joint birthday party. I mentioned upon check in we were there for our birthdays and would be going out for dinner/drinks. The staff member checked us in quickly, honored my CAA discount with no trouble and gave us basic hotel directions. We were placed at the end of a hall very close to the pool and fitness center (which were very clean and well kept). We appreciated that being a group of girls we were tucked out of the way and therefore did not receive any noise complaints or reprimands from the staff (because we can get a bit noisy when having fun!). They were nothing but cheerful and helpful. We were actually surprised by a knock on the door a bit after check in. The staff had sent us up complementary cupcakes and a birthday card decorated and signed by all the staff members. It was really sweet. Thanks for making our birthday pure fun with no hassles!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Was here for two nights on business. The hotel is across the street from a mall, close to the waterfront, historic properties, and an easy walk downtown. You can walk to The Citadel from here, it is a short walk but entirely uphill. The hotel itself has a nice looking bar and restaurant area, and cafe. The staff were fast and friendly. They were able to help me with some toiletries I forgot to bring which was much appreciated. The rooms are good although they seemed dark. There are however lots of good bright lamps. The beds were comfy, good duvets and pillows, good tv, and standard washroom. I had a chair and couch in my room which was good. It was a good sized room. I have stayed here before and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa J, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you are doing.

There are many reputable hotels in Halifax... thank you for choosing us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this fine hotel for business, but would return with the family. The staff is very warm and engaging, particularly the kilted front men. The room I stayed in had a really nice view, and the Tempo restaurant nearby is a major plus

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringTraveller40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa J, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greeting's from Delta Barrington,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay at Delta Barrington!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Delta Barrington on another business trip through Halifax and once again I was impressed with the staff and their attention to making everyone feel welcome; like home. I was especially impressed with Annie Jolliffe, Delta guest service agent. I stay in many hotels and I have yet to meet an individual employee who has so much pride in her job and takes so much care to get to know the guests and what they like. She got to know my dietary restrictions and she went above and beyond her duties to ensure that the hotel restaurant, TEMPO had the right offer for me on their menu (by the way,try the lentil burger). This kind of platinum service is rare and it is what will keep me going back and referring.
Thank you Annie.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundus-eo-ire-itum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa J, Front Office Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings from Delta Barrington!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us from your recent stay. I am thrilled to read your post and will share your kind words with Annie. We all so happy to hear that the Delta Barrington is like a home away from home.

Thanks again for staying and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at the Delta Barrington while attending a conference at the Convention Centre. The location was convenient both for the conference and as a jumping off point for exploring downtown Halifax. There are tons of coffee shops, restaurants, pubs, and shops within a couple of minutes walk. It was a 5 minute walk to the harbourfront, Citadel, and other tourist-y places. The staff and service was good as well - we were always able to ask Front Desk for recommendations and directions to places nearby. The hotel itself was okay - the lobby was nice and I liked that there was lemon water available there. The room itself looked a little dated, especially given the price, but served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anhnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived around lunchtime by car. We had been warned that parking was difficult but snared a short term spot in their small area out front. The bellman was right there and helped us get the luggage out and valeted the car for us. A great start.

The reception staff were excellent and our room was ready. The room was a good size and nicely furnished. The free wifi good.

We were in the Signature Club area with access to a lounge. The lounge was small and choice of nibbles and drinks limited. The lounge was really too small for the number of users - both in the early evening and for breakfast.

Overall a really nice hotel with great staff. Pity about the Signature lounge - just plain inadequate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £98 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a seamless travel experience at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington. Our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada sits in the downtown's Historic Properties area, conveniently close to Halifax's top attractions. Get to the most popular destinations in the city via the pedway system, and delight in our perfect location near Casino Nova Scotia, Scotiabank Centre and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing