We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 22 May 2007

I have stayed at many Delta hotels and the Barrington keeps up the quality that this chain expects. The front desk staff are very courteous and helpfull.
If I have any complaints, I do have to say that the rooms are getting a bit old and tired. Some wallpaper is starting to peel off the walls. Having stayed in all the various rooms, there seems to be no difference among them with the exception of Signature rooms.The Signature Club rooms are very nice, but as said before, the hotel needs to spend as much attention to their other rooms as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pete_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2007

Stayed two nights Had a king room on the signature floor with a view of Barrington Street.

Delta Privilege ensured a sub-60 second check in. The room was comfortable, and the staff were hospitable and friendly. Didn't partake of the restaurants at the hotel, but here's a tip - skip breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and walk out the back door to Sam's Coffee place - you can eat for 1/4 the price of what you pay on the premises.

Bathroom in the room was ok; though the tub was very shallow and small. The internet didn't work very well, and $9.95/24 hours is a rip off when most Canadian hotels provide it for free.

Would stay here again, basically any soul-less business hotel is just that, and this one fits the bill just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

The Delta Barrington is centrally located in Halifax, but the property shares the street (Barrington) with another Delta right across the road so one may end up in the wrong property. Apparently, the staff have experience with just such an occurence and are happy to show you the way to the connecting mall.

The hotel itself is clean and friendly, although the rooms are quite small. The TV could be bigger as well. On another note the tiny window offers liittle view of what little there is to see. Furtehrmore, parking is not complimentary and may cost as much as $19 per night for the facility across the street.

On another note the hotel hosts a genrous buffet breakfast and at $149 per night offers free Internet access in its premium rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dadada767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Due to a mix up on our part we needed a hotel for one night before checking into the hotel we had originally booked. I found the Delta Barrington on the internet, called them and explained the problem. They gave us a great rate on the club room level. We arrived late, but I had called ahead to tell them and the doorman was their to meet us, check in was easy and the bar was just across the lobby. The room was a little on the small side, but very comfortable and included a continental breakfast. The hotel is in a great a location and connected to the covered walkways that take you the waterfront and the casino. We stayed five days in Halifax and I could have easily spent all of them at this hotel. I think it's a real find.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rastadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

My wife and I spent our second wedding anniversary at the Delta Barrington, and we were rather disappointed with it. For starters, they did not have any record of the reservation I had made days earlier; and when I produced the confirmation number, they seemed to doubt that I had actually reserved a room. I had ordered one of the most expensive rooms with a king-size bed, but because of the reservation mix-up, we were given a room with what appeared to be a small queen or maybe even a double. Although turndown service is not important to us, they only did it one of the two evenings we were there. I felt this was a bit shoddy on their part. There were many other trivial things that occured which, on their own are not worth mentioning here, but altogether they made for a frustrating stay. This hotel does have its strengths, but if we were ever to return, they would have to give us better service than what we experienced on this trip.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank stegracar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our honeymoon. They upgraded us to a better room and left a big silver platter of chocolate strawberries on our bed. The hotel is really handy for downtown and the rooms are spacious. The staff were great.

4  Thank ilikecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2006

Just returned today June 1/06 from spending a week at the Delta Barrington in Halifax, Nova Scotia. (May 25 - June 1)

There are two Delta Hotels in Halifax, the Delta Barrington which is an older 3 floor hotel and the Delta Halifax which is a block away also on Barrington St. The Delta Halifax is a much newer high rise hotel with full amenities. The Delta Barrington is an older style hotel with smaller rooms, high ceilings and small windows. The rooms are average in size and well appointed especially if you staying in one of the Delta "Signature" rooms on the second floor. As a Delta Signature guest you have a controlled hall entrance off the elevator and full usage of the Delta Signature Club where you can get a continental breakfast, use the internet free plus afternoon munchies. Delta offers this service at most of their hotels if you travel as a Signature guest.

The hotel itself has very limited services and caters more to business travellers or people on conventions. It has an excellent location central to the restaurant/tavern disrict and only 2 blocks from the harbour boardwalk. This hotel has a small bar off the main lobby which offers limited meals plus a restaurant in the basement which is accessible by walking through the enclosed mall at the rear of the building. Did not check out the pool area or note any health club, although I believe these are available.

There is no self parking at this location, you are required to utilize the valet parking service at $18.50 per day. The lot is adjacent the building, however, you are not allowed to park there yourself. The valet staff are most excellent and usually have your vehicle parked out front within 5-10 minutes from when you request it. All of the staff are top-notch in this hotel, you are always greeted with a smile and hello by everyone.

The beds are comfortable, however, the heating/air conditioning system leaves a lot to be desired. Our room faced an inner courtyard so we were able to leave the window open all night long for a gentle breeze without a lot of street noise. The bathrooms have gone through a recent upgrade and are spacious and unusually bright for a hotel.

On a return visit we would probably stay athe the Delta Halifax as it is more modern, easily accessable by car and has more ammenities such as a better selection of restaurants and bars. It is simply a much larger hotel and is great for families.

If you would like more information about this hotel or nearby attractions/eating establishments please feel free to email me at dcardy2@cogeco.ca.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TravellerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,974 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Address: 1875 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £116 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a seamless travel experience at Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington. Our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada sits in the downtown's Historic Properties area, conveniently close to Halifax's top attractions. Get to the most popular destinations in the city via the pedway system, and delight in our perfect location near Casino Nova Scotia, Scotiabank Centre and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing