We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

If you can get a $25 upgrade to the signature rooms and a good room rate in the first place then the Barrington is great value - certainly compared with hotels in the UK. Staff are very welcoming and efficient and the location is perfect for the riverfront, bars, restaurnats and the casino. We stayed here in 2006 and enjoyed it so much here that we stayed here again!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CHAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    239
    101
    44
    11
See reviews for
97
173
20
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

The staff here are very helpful, corteous and respond immediately to any concerns. Lovely white linens and duvets. Access to computer on 2nd floor (we were not charged for this, even though we did not have Signature rooms) Pool/hottub on our floor and we detected no clorine odour. Be aware there is valet parking only at 20$ night. Good location. Check out the pub "Split Crow" just a short walk away, we heard some great live music there.
A very nice hotel with outstanding staff.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank phoenixWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We loved the Delta Barrington! Most of the staff went out of their way to help us. We upgraded to a Signature Club room, and highly recommend it because we heard the regular rooms are on the small side. Signature Club members enjoy a complimentary breakfast.

  • Liked — Complimentary Breakfast
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank njtravelgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

I have stayed at many Delta hotels and the Barrington keeps up the quality that this chain expects. The front desk staff are very courteous and helpfull.
If I have any complaints, I do have to say that the rooms are getting a bit old and tired. Some wallpaper is starting to peel off the walls. Having stayed in all the various rooms, there seems to be no difference among them with the exception of Signature rooms.The Signature Club rooms are very nice, but as said before, the hotel needs to spend as much attention to their other rooms as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some of the rooms need updating - especially the rooms with Murphy beds!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2007

Stayed two nights Had a king room on the signature floor with a view of Barrington Street.

Delta Privilege ensured a sub-60 second check in. The room was comfortable, and the staff were hospitable and friendly. Didn't partake of the restaurants at the hotel, but here's a tip - skip breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and walk out the back door to Sam's Coffee place - you can eat for 1/4 the price of what you pay on the premises.

Bathroom in the room was ok; though the tub was very shallow and small. The internet didn't work very well, and $9.95/24 hours is a rip off when most Canadian hotels provide it for free.

Would stay here again, basically any soul-less business hotel is just that, and this one fits the bill just fine.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — No character.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ozcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2007

The Delta Barrington is centrally located in Halifax, but the property shares the street (Barrington) with another Delta right across the road so one may end up in the wrong property. Apparently, the staff have experience with just such an occurence and are happy to show you the way to the connecting mall.

The hotel itself is clean and friendly, although the rooms are quite small. The TV could be bigger as well. On another note the tiny window offers liittle view of what little there is to see. Furtehrmore, parking is not complimentary and may cost as much as $19 per night for the facility across the street.

On another note the hotel hosts a genrous buffet breakfast and at $149 per night offers free Internet access in its premium rooms.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dadada767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Due to a mix up on our part we needed a hotel for one night before checking into the hotel we had originally booked. I found the Delta Barrington on the internet, called them and explained the problem. They gave us a great rate on the club room level. We arrived late, but I had called ahead to tell them and the doorman was their to meet us, check in was easy and the bar was just across the lobby. The room was a little on the small side, but very comfortable and included a continental breakfast. The hotel is in a great a location and connected to the covered walkways that take you the waterfront and the casino. We stayed five days in Halifax and I could have easily spent all of them at this hotel. I think it's a real find.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer.
  • Tips/Secrets — Always call ahead to make sure your reservation is still good, especially if you are going to be late.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rastadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
Delta Hotels Halifax
#16 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Address: 1875 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Barrington Halifax
Delta Barrington Hotel Halifax
Delta Halifax
Halifax Delta
Delta Hotels By Marriott Barrington Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing