We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and not elegant...”

Fountain View Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountain View Guest House
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 13 January 2012

...but just fine if you are traveling light and spend little. Rooms were clean but small and very dated. The shower was showing signs of wear. I agree with the comment about taking your own toilet paper, that was helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bethsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 separate nights here and were very happy we did. It was $50+tx for our first room, and $55+tx for our second room with a sink and fridge. It was cheaper and much nicer than staying in a hostel!
The rooms were clean, comfortable, and a good size. It was old fashioned but for this price, I'm more than happy to overlook the floral-print linen and teddy bears on the bed!
It is not a fancy or romantic hotel room, but it was comfortable, clean, and a bargain price which suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IntrepidTraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

While I agree with the other commentor on bringing your own toilet paper, and I reccomend asking for the room with the sink and fridge upstairs, it is a great comfy place for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with sink and fridge, bring your own toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rose11177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is clean and centrally located. Like the owner says, we are a budget hotel. You pay extra for breakfast, coffee/tea, have to go to Macs for internet and bring your pown toilet paper.

Room Tip: make usre you know what you wantto pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

While I wouldn't exactly recommend the Fountain View as a great place to stay, it is at least a reasonable option if you're in a pinch (last-minute booking, like us) or just looking for cheap accommodations. We stayed two nights upstairs (can't remember the room #, but facing the street) and one night downstairs (smallest on the mainfloor). Based on what I saw, I'd suggest staying upstairs.

Pros: beds surprisingly comfy, clean sheets, air conditioning, quiet building, easy walk downtown, commons across the street, "Jane's on the Commons" just down the block. Though the bathrooms were shared, there were enough of them on each floor that there was never any competition for use.

Cons: on the whole rather frumpy and a bit shabby, smelly (and possibly dirty) carpets (I kept my shoes on...), and at least one set of very musty towels. Also shared bathrooms are still shared bathrooms, no matter how available. On the whole, acceptable but not entirely clean-feeling.

All said, the place is what it is. I wouldn't make a point of going back -- but, if simply in need of a cheap and (relatively) clean bed for a night or two, it's not a bad option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eml271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We decided to check this place out because of the cheap accommodation and location close to the downtown area. The lady who owned the place came across not too friendly but didn't take to that too much. The place smelt old and of cigarettes in the walls.. Carpets dirty.. We had a huge wet stain on the floor.. And started getting soaked while it rained. Air con did not work. Had an allergic reaction in the middle of the night.. Had to leave and find
another hotel. We did not receive a refund. We planned on staying
the next night but she at least
gave us our money back. She told
me that my allergic reaction had
nothing to do with her place.. We
also told her about the stain and
she was defensive. I have never had a reaction like that before.. Nor do I have allergies so it was strange.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shortexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This was the coolest, cutest little guest house. Very homey, comfortable and I couldn't believe the price. If you are staying in Halifax you have to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank punkinbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
198 reviews
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
115 reviews
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
225 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain View Guest House

Address: 2138 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 4M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fountain View Guest House Hotel Halifax
Fountain View Hotel
Fountain View Guest House Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing