We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Fresh Start Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fresh Start Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Spent several nights at the Fresh Start B&B in Halifax this August (2008).

Overall, not bad. The room was cute and cozy, with a view of the bridge, and everything was spotlessly clean. Shared bathroom had no shortage of towels, and a huge old-fashioned tub. The proprietor was friendly enough, but did not go out of her way to make our stay memorable.

Breakfast was fine. True, no hot breakfast here, but there was plenty of food available (muffins, bagels, cheese, jams, yogurt, fresh fruit, tea/coffee/juice, etc).

Parking available in the back. Downtown Halifax and the waterfront are a brisk 25min walk away. After dark I would recommend not walking up Gottingen, but to take Agricola (a tip given to us by a tour guide that dropped us off one night).

One thing to note - the quoted price on the phone did not match what I was charged at the end of the stay, so it may be prudent to confirm upon check-in what you're expected to pay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meggy_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

Booked this bed and breakfast inn by telephone because it seemed central-- actually , it is not. Minutes by car but about a half hour walk from centre ville Halifax. Safe area but not "flowery". On harbour.

Furnished with antiques and assorories the retired-nurse/ owner claimed were puchased at yard sales around the province of Nova Scotia. Each room different and each with such charater. Warm; cozy; quiet; homey; secure - sweet-- like a visit to Grandmom's.

Like Grandmom-- we had a snug basket snack that late evening and a huge, nutricious breakfast next morning. Harty omlette-- just as we specified. Granola with tons of fruit; crepes and genuine creme frappe; thick bread from a local bakery; herbal tea. Little seafood tidbit snacks(??) Delicious and none too heavy for morning.

Were shown local & provincial map; several info brocuhures; local newspaper and entertainment weekly. We were not rushed from the house. Weather colder and more inclimat than we'd expected. They lent us long wool scarfs and we had rain gear. Stayed a few days --- will return. Hey-- no ghost.

One complaint-- lunch is not served, even upon request.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

I refuse to give any B&B a high rating unless I get a HOT breakfast, and here, I did not. Muffins and cereal just don't cut it. Besides that it was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mboeckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

I had a great experience at Fresh start B&B the lovely little old ladys who run the place were wonderful, My room was just what I needed nice and comforterable felt like home and the muffins are the best! I would recommend this B&B to anyone who does not want to go to a big hotel and get treated like a number. It was like I was staying at nanny's house but better.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank theam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

Although the place is nice & clean, when booking directly by phone, Innis (proprietor) said the cost would be $80CDN per night since it was low season. Upon our arrival on the 1st day, we met her and she confirmed again that it was $80 / nt. When it was time to leave, Shelia (the other proprietor) said that we misunderstood, the cost is $100CDN/nt. We argued this fact but somehow Innis could not be found. Very nice tag team here. We had no choice to pay however I will never stay there again. And it is NOT worth the $. The WESTIN NOVA SCOTIAN is $99/nt CDN if you book through the tourist bureau downtown (they book for you). Westin doesn't offer breakfast but they have THE HEAVENLY BED.

Stayed: March 2005
12  Thank alwaysonyourside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

My partner and I stayed at Fresh Start for one night on a road trip through Nova Scotia. After 2 days of camping, this B&B felt absolutely luxurious. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms available, with a double bed and a shared bathroom and still felt pampered.

I prefer B&Bs that give some privacy but are offer a warm welcome you'd never get at a hotel. Fresh Start fit that description perfectly. The house is beautiful, and much larger than it looks from the outside. It felt like a small friendly inn filled with simple but beautiful furnishings throughouts the house. The B&B is run by two sisters, who I immediately fell in love with. They were both friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

The "shared bathroom" was actually two bathrooms, a larger gorgeous bathroom with a clawfoot tub and piles of fresh towels and a small but cute "emergency" bathroom with just a toilet and sink. Although the house was completely full I never once had to wait to use either bathroom. They were also open and sparkling clean. Some rooms have private baths, and others share bathrooms on other floors so this may have accounted for the lack of bathroom pile-up.

Since we opted for the cheapest room, I didn't expect much, but our room actually ended up being a beautiful, if very small bedroom facing the street with what we still refer to as "the best bed ever." The bed was super comfy with high thread count cotton sheets that I loved so much I actually had to buy some for my bed at home.

Breakfast was also very good and served family style in the cozy dining room. The other guests were a charming mix of couples (gay and straight), friends, and two moms with their daughters. Fresh Start was featured in one of my fave cookbooks, now out of print, Candian Bed and Breakfasts (that's why I choose it) and the food definitely lived up to the reputation. There were several types of yummy muffins (including bran muffins so good you'd forget they were healthy), yogurt, juice, fruit and whole wheat french toast with local maple syrup.

Compared to many of the downtown B&Bs in Halifax, Fresh Start is inexpensive. The reason is the only downside to Fresh Start, the location. It's in a mixed income, ethnically diverse area about a 15 min walk to downtown/waterfront. In a city with huge hills, the walk is easy but not very pretty. There's lots of offices, cheap corner shops, people just hanging out, empty clubs that are closed during the day, peppered with the occaisional restaurant. The library is on the way (with internet access). I live in a large US city, and felt totally safe and comfortable in the neighborhood, but others might not.

Parking is horrible in Halifax, and Fresh Start has free parking behind the house. Definitely a huge plus! We left our car, walked during the day and took the bus (which drops you off right outside and takes you through downtown) at night.

I found Halifax a bit overrated, but loved Fresh Start so much that we wished we could have spent more time there. If you're looking for a good place to eat I reccomend Sweet Basil, a fantastic italian fusion place on the waterfront about 15 minutes from the B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank piegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank soniara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SeaWatch Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 22 in Halifax
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Start Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Start Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2720 Gottingen St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 3C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: £33 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fresh Start Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh Start Hotel Halifax
Fresh Start b&b
Fresh Start Bed And Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing