We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff and affordable hotel in downtown.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Hotels Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delta Hotels Halifax
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and affordable hotel in downtown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean and well located. It is across the street from the historical properties and walking distance to many pubs and excellent seafood,restaurants.

The entire hotel could use some updating, and a refresh on the carpets and paint, but it is in ok shape.

The staff are great! They are very helpful and friendly. We used a boardroom for business meetings on the eighth floor. It was a very nice room with a view and accommodated our group of 20 or so easily around a big oval table with room to spare.

While I like this hotel and would stay here again, I prefer the Delta Barrington across the street. It is a bit fresher.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for staying with us on your recent business trip. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and our location. I am happy to read our Empress Boardroom provided a comfortable space for your meetings. Thanks again for choosing us and I look forward in welcoming you back to Delta Halifax or Delta Barrington soon!

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    230
    115
    24
    19
See reviews for
109
173
31
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for 3 night to run the Blue Nose half marathon. It was conveniently located right at the start line, which was linked so we didn't have to go outside. Considered it being a chilly and windy morning. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was great and resonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Congratulations on your half marathon! We are so happy to have been part of your Blue Nose experience. We have been long standing partners with the marathon and honestly its one of our favorite times of the year... providing a home away from home for some of the +14,000 participants.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward in welcoming back again soon!

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed for five nights to run the Bluenose Half Marathon. Great location, rooms decent--nothing spectacular--but the friendliness and service of the staff made up for it! Kjersti stood out as an exemplary staffperson/representative of the hotel--she seemed to be everywhere, and always friendly! The hotel's restaurant is very good, the location of the hotel two blocks from the water but also connected to the indoor pedestrian system with the mall and the convention center close by is outstanding. One hiccup was in the arrangements for our departure, when information did not get conveyed properly and we did not get the airport service we had negotiated the night prior. Otherwise, great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czthrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hello from Delta Halifax!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us while in town for the Blue Nose Marathon. We have been partners with that great event since its inception 10 years ago and are very proud to be the home away from home for runners and fans each year. Kjersti is a true hospitality professional and we are very fortunate to have her on our team. I will make sure she receives a copy of your review recognizing her efforts.

I am very sorry there was a mix up in your departing transportation... this is not a regular occurrence for us... please know we will investigate as to why it happened to better our service process moving forward.

Thanks again for staying with us and we all look forward in welcoming you back for next years marathon!

Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

I genuinely want to Thank Emily & Kjersti from guest services for our warm welcome! They went out of their way to make sure our girl's weekend started out on the right foot! Very grateful for our surprise! We enjoyed our stay from check-in to check-out. The hotel has delicious food, I loved the lobster club! The bar staff were friendly too. Great weekend & thanks for the thoughtfulness!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynz175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us! I will ensure Emily and Kjersti receive your feedback... thank you for recognizing their efforts... they are super star performers for our hotel.

We are all thrilled to hear your weekend away was a success from start to finish. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Donnie
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not sure why this hotel has so many rave reviews, I didn't find anything special about my stay in the Delta.
On check-in we were asked if we wanted to pay to upgrade to a harbor view room... we thought this sounded nice so we went for it. The room had virtually no view of the harbor and seemed small and old fashioned. We felt disappointed.
After a quick tour of the breakfast buffet we decided it did not look appetizing or value for money so headed off to the mall for breakfast.
On the plus side the location is convenient with connection to many walkways and the wifi connection was good but this does not make this hotel unique.
The staff seemed friendly and efficient, but this might not be enough for me stay here again.

Room Tip: have a look at the 'harbor view' room before committing to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Halifax. I am sorry we missed the mark on providing you one of our Harbourvew room options. We must have made a mistake in the actual room assignment as we do have rooms with some of the best unobstructed views of our harbour our city has to offer. I am very sorry for this error. I am very pleased you did enjoy our service levels and found our location to be very convenient.

I would like to make up for the shortfall we provided in your room assignment. My email is below should you be willing to reach out.

I look forward in hearing from you!

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have stayed at the revamped Delta Halifax a few times now. The lobby bar and restaurant are nicely laid out and have great, very friendly staff, good food and a decent view of the TV if you want to watch the hockey game. Rooms on par with other Delta Hotels, fair prices and good overall service. The new revised Delta room look and big desk area with lots of electrical plug ins and flat screen TV's is a plus - also wireless internet that is reasonably fast, free and easy to hook up to has become the norm for me. I think one of the things that brings me back to this hotel chain is I feel welcome every time I check in, order room service or need any kind of service for that matter - and they don't take my business for granted.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We really appreciate your loyalty and are very fortunate to have such loyal gusts as yourself. Travelling on business can be challenging and its our goal to provide a welcoming home away from home for those that must travel for their jobs.

Again we really appreciate your business and the time you spent sharing your experience with us. We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed at the Delta Halifax for work. Rooms were clean and comfy. My old feedback of the not so good is the value you get for Breakfast. Its expensive and nothing great. Better off heading to Scotia Square Mama Gratti's.

Will stay at the Hotel again though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnie M, Manager at Delta Hotels Halifax, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks very much for staying with us... we appreciate your loyalty. I am sorry you did not see great value in our breakfast offering however am happy our central location provides close by alternatives.

Thanks again for staying and we look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Donnie MacDonald
donnie.macdonald@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels Halifax

Property: Delta Hotels Halifax
Address: 1990 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Delta Hotels Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing