We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business/pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“business/pleasure”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the moment we stepped into the lobby we were greeted with smiling faces! Clark checked us in and sent Brad to help when we discovered the room had no outdoor space which we had requested and paid for. We ended up in a wonderful room with a huge terrace, shared by other rooms in our line, plenty of room to wander around and a grand view of the harbor! Lovely for coffee in the morning! (coffee pods and machine in the room were not bad) The beds were SO comfortable! The location of the hotel was excellent for wandering around the harbor and near the office buildings that we needed to visit. We had a rental car and getting in and out of parking area was easy. One evening we stopped in at the bar and Matt was a fantastic bartender! He recommended several places and restaurants (OYSTERS & MUSSELS) to drop in on. To disagree with another review--elevators were always waiting on the lobby floor and moved very quickly! I LOVED the table set up near the elevators with a huge vessel of infused water! One day limes, another lemons and also oranges--SO healthy!! We did not have time to use the pool and spa. There is a lot of local information in the rooms to read through and plan sightseeing.
Sad to leave, but the checkout went very smoothly. Corey (2 thumbs up!!) helped us with everything as we had to review some phone charges. We hope to be back again!! and will tell our friends!

Room Tip: get the rooms with the huge terrace! one side has a harbor view and the other has a view of the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnBC219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... and recommending our hotel as a great place to stay to others. We are a very unique hotel offering rooms with harbor view terraces; many guests enjoy this feature. Please feel free to contact us directly, so we can ensure this is where you always stay! Thank-you for your wonderful comments about the staff and services!

We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    247
    125
    28
    19
See reviews for
114
188
32
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed the Delta June 20th, during APTN Aboriginal Day. It was my first visit , found the staff very accommodating and friendly. I had forgotten my code for a promotion by Travelzoo, they were very nice about and waited until I came back home to email it to them before charging my visa.
The king Premier room was very nice and comfortable. We were met at the valet parking with two young men dressed in Nova Scotia Kelts. Sean our assistant was very good in making sure we had everything we needed and helped us with the TV channels.
This is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to others.
The restaurant is the hotel had good food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed at King Premier. It is near the Halifax Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... and recommending our hotel as a great place to stay to others. You spoke of the valet in Kilts, they actually work at the Delta Barrington. Please feel free to fill out another review for them, but I will be sure to pass this feedback along to them as they are our sister hotel. So glad you enjoyed our service and our rooms!

We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon to the Delta Halifax or Delta Barrington.

Very Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect for strolls along the boardwalk, shopping at Scotia Place, visits throughout the downtown, and seeing many significant attractions. The nightly price is high for the small size of the rooms, poor room temperature controls and turtle-paced elevators. The hot tub is not only circa 1980s, but very small. Upon entry to the hotel we received our room keys and not a stitch of information about attractions, pool location, shopping, or even directions to access our room.
Overall, the location is supreme and makes up for the disappointment with the room and hotel amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeathRacerEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Many guests comment on our location, and connection to the downtown core.... so glad you enjoyed this feature as well. I can assure you that our team is highly trained and engaged to offer suggestions and recommendations for your stay. I am so sorry that this was missed at the time of your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I would be pleased to personally assist you with your travel needs in the future.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The staff were extremely friendly and all provided great service. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. It's connected to the downtown mall which is connected to a number of buildings via +15s. I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... and recommending our hotel as a great place to stay to others. Many guests comment on our location, and connection to the downtown core.... so glad you enjoyed that feature along with our service and cleanliness of our rooms!

We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Delta Halifax is a reasonably priced hotel with a fine staff. The restaurant is very good. The pool and exercise facilities are wonderful. It is easy to use the pedway to get to the casino or the waterfront. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... and recommending our hotel as a great place to stay to others. I am very pleased you continue to stay with us each and every visit to Halifax!

We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Love this place !! We stay here each time we visit Halifax.
The price per room is fair, room are up to date and very clean, to the waterfront and closet to local shops and boutiques..

Each time we have stayed, we have never had an issue.

Staff are friendly and helpful! They usually can help us pick new and great restaurants to try and what events may be going on we may enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... its great to be in receipt of such positive feedback. I am very pleased you continue to stay with us each and every visit to Halifax!

We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Flew into town for the Bluenose marathon, arriving at 3 am! Check-in was fast and friendly and soon i was in my large, clean room ready to sleep.Typical in-room arrangement with other big chains, large comfortable bed with nice linens, flat-panel tele, quiet heating/AC unit, single-serve coffee maker plus hotpot for tea.

They have a pool/fitness area that has decent changing facility with sauna and shower,and a nice Business Centre. The internet is free and good and the location is very convenient for Downtown.

My only complaint is that on race morning my promised wakeup call never arrived, and they never explained/apologised, seeming more incredulous that I had asked for one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRDeltaHAL, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax!

Thanks very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing... its great to be in receipt of your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us overall all. Ensuring accuracy of wake-up calls with appropriate checks and balances is a priority for us at our hotel. We will continue to focus on this for future stays.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Very Best,

Carey
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,914 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Address: 1990 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in travel at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax. Our hotel in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia is centrally located and offers amazing views of the harbour. Enjoy easy access to the city's top destinations from our accommodations, including proximity to the Citadel National Historic Cite and Scotiabank Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing