We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Value.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife for one night before catching a flight the following morning.
First point to make is that the staff were first class, being friendly with no request being too much trouble. We had a room on the first floor which although was nothing special was more than adequate for what we needed being both clean and with a comfortable bed (although the room was a twin double).
The hotel is in a GREAT position being close to the waterfront and casino which meant we had no trouble finding things to do for that evening.
Another point to note is that there is a free business centre which was very useful for us to check into our flight and print our boarding passes. This is also free wifi available in the rooms.
Unfortunately we didn't make use if the gym and pool however we had a look and they looked good!
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duststorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us... your right whether its business or pleasure, our hotel is a great place!

Thanks again for staying with us, and thanks for your review! We all look forward in welcoming you back again soon!

Very Best

Carey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    247
    121
    28
    19
See reviews for
111
185
32
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Delta Halifax is certainly a "nice" hotel. It has great staff and our room had a cute little balcony (unfortunately we were there during Hurricane Arthur and couldn't really take advantage.) The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything.

However, a few disappointments. Our rate, while well over $200 USD, did not include breakfast. Parking was $19.95 CAD with tax. Had we known this, we would have looked for public parking elsewhere. We used an American credit card to charge everything and much to my surprise, I saw that the charge to my card was much higher (or at the wrong conversion rate) than what was listed on the guest folio provided to us. I was dreading and preparing to contact the hotel and my credit card bank but then several days later, the charge dropped back down to something more reasonable. I was perplexed - did the hotel attempt to charge at the wrong conversion rate and bank adjusted it? Not sure.

In general, the hotel is a bit dated. Bathrooms look a bit dated, as did the hallways. I like the layout of the room, which had a little dressing area outside the bathroom. Our room had comfortable beds and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from Halifax,

Thanks so much for your review, and despite the unfortunate hurricane, and some questions around your credit card, its nice to see you enjoyed our overall hotel.

I would be happy to explain the authorization process that releases after check-out, please do contact me directly. With that said, please do contact me for future bookings as well, so I can ensure you receive the value expect.

Very Best,

Carey Power
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Right downtown and close to the water. Clean rooms, a bit dated but attentive staff and Tempo their restaurant lounge was a great place to eat, have a beverage.

Gaetan was the server/bartender and made all patrons feel welcomed. He took the extra time to speak with people and made a connection with everyone I observed. Very knowledgeable about food and drink and service oriented.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Royfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Greetings From Halifax,

Thank-you for taking the time to review the Delta Halifax....indeed we do have a great location...and pride ourselves on great service. We were thrilled to read about the friendly experiences you encountered with our staff at the Delta Barrington and the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very Best,

Carey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed there for a week-long conference. Hotel was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plumbing needs updating. Very little pressure in the bathroom faucet. Also no cold water when flushing toilet. No shampoo, soap or conditioner upon arrival, but that was remedied very quickly. Would readily recommend as a good hotel.

Room Tip: Harbourview room is quiet and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for including us in your travel plans! I am thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit, and any concerns were remedied quickly and efficiently. Staying in a clean room is a priority for our guests; and a high priority for Delta. Its great to read you enjoyed this and many aspects of your stay. We all look forward to welcome you back soon!

Very Best,
Carey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I received stellar customer service at the Delta Halifax and at the heart of it, is a polite happy fellow foodie named Shawna!!
This was my first time farther east than Quebec and I was excited to try all the seafood I could handle. 19 straight hours in the car was evident and we were expeditiously and graciously checked in. The last comment was, can I help you with any restaurant or sightseeing suggestions? I was so tired, I almost missed my opportunity to ask a local where the best food could be found! Reinvigorated, I happily and probably too excitedly told her that I was a foodie and was itching to find the best seafood around despite the ambiance, as long as it was fresh and flavourful. She politely listened as I told her of my adventures in Hawaii at an Iron Chef's restaurant in Hawaii but soon Shawna was authentically engrossed in my details. She gave me wonderful and accurate restaurant suggestions! (which I tried each day I was there.) To sum it all up, I gladly went to my room a bit hungry but too tired to expend the energy when small knock at my door roused my from my belly flop on my comfortable King Size bed. I tried to assure room service that I hadn't ordered anything, but she informed me that Shawna had sent an award winning dessert called, "Parade of Sails". Decadent doesn't even come close to describing it, it was not flavoured with hunger it was truly a luscious silky chocolatey dessert. It won "The best Dessert in Halifax" and rightly so. This dessert came from the Harbour City Bar and Grill located in the Delta Halifax lobby and it deserves it's own review which but let's just say in 4 days, I had the Lobster Roll, Haddock and chips, wings and a lovely strawberry, candied walnut salad.
Kudos Shawna & Delta Halifax, well done.

Room Tip: Splurge the small additional amount to view the harbour, well worth it! Someone take a picture of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

What a fantastic story! I am thrilled to read you received such personalized service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back...our new menu is out and it is delicious! Thanks so much for sharing your story with others!

Very Best,
Carey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a standard room with two double beds and upon checking in, which they graciously let us do very early that day, we found our room in the 100 level, which was a little bit of a maze to get to, too tiny, tight and dated, but convenient with a walkout patio to the pool area etc. As we were staying for 5 nights, with lots of luggage, we decided to upgrade to a larger room which they (specifically the manager Jacqueline) went out of her way to arrange, getting us into a studio with a harbour view for a little extra which was essentially the size of two standard rooms, dining table and chairs, lounge chairs, sofabed and another bathroom. We were in heaven and every family member was happy to get their own space. We dined in some nights with wine, cheese, deli meat etc. and other fine foods picked up at Pete's and ate in especially since tropical storm Arthur was expected. The staff and service was truly above and beyond excellent and accommodating. The best I have ever encountered and there have been many hotels !!!

Room Tip: If more than two people, pay the extra to get a studio room with a view, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappygoluckyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for including us in your travel plans! I am thrilled to read you were wowed our terrific service and team. To publicly share that our service is the best you've ever encountered is a huge compliment! I will be sure to share this with our team.

Thanks so much for your review and please make sure to contact us directly on your return, so we can ensure our room choice for you is perfect the first time.

Very Best,
Carey Power
carey.power@deltahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is central, clean and our room had harbour views, wonderful day and night. We had city lights on the water and sunrise over the water. But the best thing was the staff- from check in to advice on tours and ferries, to wait staff in the resteraunts they were all helpful, friendly and efficient.we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annasydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello from Delta Halifax,

Thanks for including us in your travel plans! I am thrilled to read you were wowed our terrific service and team. Its great to read you enjoyed your time and we all look forward to welcome you back soon! Thanks for your review and please make sure to contact us directly on your return, so we can ensure you get the view you love!

Very Best,
Carey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,867 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax
Address: 1990 Barrington Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1P2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#13 Family Hotel in Halifax
#14 Business Hotel in Halifax
#14 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in travel at Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax. Our hotel in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia is centrally located and offers amazing views of the harbour. Enjoy easy access to the city's top destinations from our accommodations, including proximity to the Citadel National Historic Cite and Scotiabank Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Halifax Hotel Halifax
Delta Hotel Halifax
Halifax Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing