We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden South Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garden South Park Inn
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Beautifully restored and decorated house. Lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Great location - 10 minutes walk from Halifax waterfront and most other locations. Reasonable breakfast (cereals, toast, bagels etc) but also home cooked muffins, pastries etc

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
12
43
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This place was super awesome. The decor was beautiful, so refreshing, our room was perfect, so very clean, i couldn't find dirt if i tried. Nice size tv which is mounted on the wall out of the way, bed was comfy and clean. The bathroom was very roomy to do your thing,and clean, not only a wall shower but a rain shower on top as well, was pretty neat.
Theres a lovely computer room just outside from our room (304) with 2 computers and decorated so cozy.
In the evening in the dining area they were have tea/coffee and a snack til 10:30 and in the morn had a server yourself breakfast, we had the blueberry muffins which were great.
From the time you walk in the door it captivates you, sorry for rambling but i can't say enough about it....
Thanx for the beautiful night, it was my husbands birthday and we make the right choice for our stay in Halifax...
Couple from Nictaux, NS

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Garden South Park Inn for four nights because of a family emergency. The Inn was on a list of places to stay near the hospital that offered compassionate rates. The rates at this Inn are already very reasonable. The compassionate rate was fantastic. The location, directly across from the Victoria General hospital was ideal for us. We were two adults and one 14 year old. The space was tight but manageable with a cot in the room. The rooms are clean and the Inn has benefitted from renovations this past winter. Yes, the air conditioner control was kept at the front desk and this was a bit inconvenient, but the air conditioner was silent, effective and far superior to the older window style air conditioners. Staff were very accommodating in terms of adjusting it to our comfort level. The ceiling fan was also appreciated. And windows could be opened for fresh air. We experienced no problems with the shampoos and soaps. The ones in our washroom were all made in the USA and were fine. As mentioned by others the rain shower head in addition to the regular shower head was a nice touch. The washroom had been newly tiled with lovely ceramic tiles. On our way back to Ontario we paid much more for a room and breakfast was not included at all. The Garden South Park Inn does not offer a gourmet prepared breakfast as some B and B’s do, but the breakfast is more than adequate, some items are freshly baked (muffins, pastries, croissants for example), and there are more than adequate choices of breads, cereals, bagels etc. This Inn is not the Prince George or the Halifax Marriott. It`s also not $203.00 a night. It is walking distance to great shopping and if you are energetic, to the Halifax waterfront and restaurant district. Staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is pay parking as is often the case in downtown facilities. There are facilities available for washing and drying clothes ($6.00 covers both washing and drying) coffee is available all day and late into the evening and snacks are available in the afternoon. We had no trouble with the internet. It was quite fast. We would stay at this Inn again and have already recommended it to friends. Thanks to the staff for a great stay and thanks for your compassionate rate and helpfulness during what was for us a very difficult time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyEarthWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I have stayed here 3 times now and I have to say it never disappoints. This was a quick business trip and it was everything I needed. I had fresh fruit and cereal for breakfast, a never ending supply of coffee and the staff was very helpful with calling me a cab and holding my luggage until after my meetings. I recommend it highly,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller196772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I am not giving this a bad review out of malice, this could be such an amazing place to stay with some improvements. But I have stayed @ inns/b & bs which are 5/5 - this just isn’t one of them.

It’s in a wonderful location, close to the public gardens, great restaurants, good shopping etc. Exterior of the house is lovely as is the main entrance & dining room. Breakfast is ok (cereal, bread, muffins etc), I've had both better and worse. My room (on 1st floor) was a decent size w ample room for luggage + large closets. It was also clean inside.

The interior of my room wasn’t great in appearance. It was also very loud on the main floor, which I suppose is no fault of the inn itself. It had a nice size/modern tv but the furniture was mismatched, dated (1980s looking - and not in a fun whimsical retro way!); consequently felt like I could have been sleeping in a slightly higher-end motel. My bed was not very comfy, I woke up with a sore back. The bathroom was very bland and basic, but had a nice rain shower. Some things were really cheaped out on though – a crappy packet of shampoo+conditioner that looked it came from a dollar store, some soap but absolutely no provisions beyond that.

The few times I asked for help from the front desk, they were not particularly friendly, but civil at best. Inexplicably I had no control over the temperature in my room. The air conditioner was either on or it was off and for some reason the control for this was kept behind the front desk. So any time you wanted the temperature changed, you had to ask a staff member to come to your room with the remote. When I wanted to check out, there was no one to be seen at the desk for a lengthy amount of time. I had to phone the inn from inside the inn to try to find someone, while a cab waited. When someone eventually appeared, there was no “sorry to keep you waiting!” - just a terse greeting & off I was sent. No umbrellas to borrow if it’s raining. Nowhere secure to store your luggage after check out. It was put into an unlocked room off the main hallway. The person who let me in after hours to collect it didn't even ask who I was.

Just all those little things that make for a great stay somewhere – really weren’t there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Garden South Park Inn was recommended to my mother and I by our Halifax relative, and we did not regret staying there.

Positive:
1) In terms or location, it was perfect: the driver of the shuttle bus from the airport did us a favor and dropped us at the door, since it was already on his rout. The Inn is located two blocks to the south of the Public Gardens, shops and restaurants in and around Spring Garden St., and within walking distance of the Halifax Citadel and the docks. Furthermore, The Inn is right next to a graveyard, so the neighbors weren't very noisy.
2) In terms of the accommodations, the Inn is a quaint Victorian house recently renovated. Our room was fitted with a new bathroom, A/C, ceiling fan, and was clean and comfortable.
3) The breakfast was surprisingly varied, including coffee, tea, juices, breakfast cereals, baked goods (changed every day), bread, bagels, several kinds of spreads (cream cheese, jam etc.), oatmeal packets and yoghurt. They also didn't mind us bringing our own food and using their kitchenette to make sandwiches. An additional 5-o'clock tea featured coffee tea and cookies. We were almost the only guests who ever came to tea, and we enjoyed the rest before preparing to go out to dinner.
4) A computer room on the second floor, including a printer and small refrigerator and couches, was very convenient for checking e-mail, planning the rest of the trip and reading the news.
5) The Inn has parking spaces it rents out to guest at a fairly reasonable price. We used the space for 3 days and were very happy about it.
6) The service was friendly and helpful.

Negative:
The only really negative thing I can say is that we did indeed have an air conditioner, but it was centrally controlled by the one remote at the front desk and we didn't always enjoy the temperature.

All in all, we had a very positive experience, and we will definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor faced the graveyard. I suppose that's as quiet as it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

A little unusual, but very nice. A bit like a B & B in an attractive Victorian home downtown Halifax in walking distance to the waterfront and the shops and pubs. The prices were reasonable, and rooms were clean. The lady during the day was very sweet. Good security and a pleasant breakfast room with tea in the evening. Breakfast was included - mainly cereal, biscuits, pastries, porridge, yogurt, toast... - help your self style. Was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southparkHalifax, Manager at The Garden South Park Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thanks for the review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with The Garden South Park Inn. We are indeed surrounded by a great shopping area as well as many restaurants, pubs and other eating establishments. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and very much appreciate the kind words. Hope you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to seeing you at the Garden South Park Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Commons Inn
#26 of 28 in Halifax
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden South Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden South Park Inn

Property: The Garden South Park Inn
Address: 1263 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden South Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 Star 23 BB Inn. 23 A/C rooms (D,Q,T) 1 room with jetted tub. All rooms has 4 pcs bath., Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Walking distance to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Garden South Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Halifax
The Garden South Park Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing