We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garden South Park Inn
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I very much enjoyed my experience at this Inn. The breakfast was delicious and there were many choices to choose from. Coffee, tea and pastries were readily available and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. My room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to provide excellent service. The location cannot be beat-close to many shops and great restaurants. I certainly recommend this hotel for any travelers and will be back myself in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MBarry154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    37
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
14
47
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

After knocking on the front door for 15 minutes my husband finally found a side door unlocked.....the lady didn't apologize about not opening the door simply asked how did we get in? Our room was cute until you found hairs in the corners of the bathroom floor, in the tub and on the blankets. The overall decor of the building is lovely.... but the room just feels dirty....wouldn't recommended it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank js906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived by train & stayed 3 nights...can walk to most places, gardens/parks/citadel closed by. Plenty of choices for self-service breakfast, plus coffe, tea and cookies all day. Even has printer & parking for use. Would give 5 stars except our bed had a slight squeak. After reading thru many reviews and walked thru NS, we still think that we could not have done better. Would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This a most conveniently located b&b ,in a large Victorian home,that provides a wonderful focal point for exploring Halifax on foot,being close to all the sites of interest,as well as being quiet for sleeping. The rooms are spacious and most comfortable. Parking is limited,although close to a major hospital's parking lot,and there is a surchage for parking of $12.00 per night. Breakfast is adequate,but not outstanding.

Room Tip: The upstairs( 3rd floor,as the main floor is the 2nd) are great. Can't rate the other floors. Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for seven nights and the first night was disturbed by gnawing animals on the outside of the building. The hotel's location was good and the staff friendly until you started talking about your disturbed night's sleep I was talking about this with staff after each night but they just said they could not do anything because it was something that happened on the outside of the hotel. I felt that the staff did not care about my views and the staff began in the middle of our conversation, instead talking on the phone. After four nights without being able to sleep so I asked to change rooms but the staff told me that yesterday, it had been possible, but not today because the hotel was fully booked. I have now gone home and had to sleep at night again but I think this hotel has its problems remain.

The hotel room also had a nasty stench.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ensamresande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Garden South Park Inn for 3 nights (1 night at the begining and 2 nights at the end of our road trip through Nova Scotia) in Aug 2012.

RE: the room, we stayed in different rooms on the 2nd floor. All the rooms were spacious and clean. The lady at the front desk advised that the hotel had gone through a renovation and the rooms we stayed in were all neat and clean. The doors do slam so if your neighbour comes in late you can hear the door slam.

RE: the breakfast. Lots of food and good selection of items (except I didn't see fruit). The typical breakfast foods - cerals, muffins, toast, bagels, yogurt, coffee, tea.

RE: afternoon tea. This was a pleasant surprise. In the evenings, you can make yourself a cup of tea and there were cookies available. This was perfect!

RE: location. Great location. 10 min walk to the harbour front. 3-5 mintue walk from Spring Garden Road which is a shopping district.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOS1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Beautifully restored and decorated house. Lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Great location - 10 minutes walk from Halifax waterfront and most other locations. Reasonable breakfast (cereals, toast, bagels etc) but also home cooked muffins, pastries etc

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
547 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Halliburton
#9 of 28 in Halifax
685 reviews
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden South Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden South Park Inn

Property: The Garden South Park Inn
Address: 1263 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2K8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden South Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 Star 23 BB Inn. 23 A/C rooms (D,Q,T) 1 room with jetted tub. All rooms has 4 pcs bath., Free Wi-Fi. Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Walking distance to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Garden South Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Halifax
The Garden South Park Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing