We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly central and a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Liked this hotel a lot. The rooms were excellent and many of them have great views of Halifax.
The one thing that lets this hotel down, is the very limited choice on the hotel restaurant menu and the fairly awful breakfast. Evening menu is limited to Hamburger,Salad,Club Sandwich etc, which be honest was all very pleasant. The restaurant and bar area do give the impression of offering much more.. The bar was very nice.
Breakfast on the other hand was really poor!... Eggs were awful. If you pay extra for breakfast, don't bother!

If you like to work out, there is a great gym (FX Fitness) open till late just a block up Quinpool.

Room Tip: The Executive King Rooms are high up and give amazing views of Halifax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very impressed with all staff at the hotel. Front desk was very helpful, room service/cleaning was exceptional and the server in the restaurant was awesome. We had a slight technical problem one morning and the front desk offered us breakfast for free. We took them up on it and the meal was amazing and the server was exceptional. He had a great sense of humour and treated us like royalty. Overall very impressed with this hotel and will certainly stay here again when we return to Halifax. This is a top quality hotel and excellent value!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here with a tour group plus 1 night on my own. Staff were all friendly and helpful, liked the kilts on the doormen. Had 2 different rooms 10 days apart, same comments for both (4th floor). Rooms look tired and worn, but clean. Had a coffee pot, but no decaf coffee unless you find a maid and ask for some. No frig or micro. Had issues in both rooms with the bathtub drain being pulled completely out of the drain, perhaps by the maid when cleaning the tub, very dangerous if you step on it, I tried to push it back in but it wouldn't go down. In the first room I reported the issue to the front desk, 10 days later someone else in our group had that room and the tub drain was still laying out of the drain. Biggest complaint with the room was the old air conditioner, only 2 settings, no fan option, very very noisy and not much output.

As to location, what is convenient to downtown is subjective. Certainly going down hill to the waterfront is more feasible than coming back up the hill. If you are going to the casino you have to add a few blocks of walking to get around the expressway ramps, The distance is over a mile. There is one hotel shuttle car from 7:30-9:30AM and 5:30 to 7:30PM, but it only takes up to 3 people at a time, so if there are others waiting it can be a long wait. Ended up taking a taxi back from casino/waterfront at cost of about $10.

Would rather stay closer to downtown, use my taxi money to pay for room.

Room Tip: higher floors have less outside street noise typical in a big city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slotmachinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After a rough start to our trip (think last minute cancelled flights, not-so-friendly airline agents, and a surprise overnight stay in Chicago...) we finally arrived at the Hotel Atlantica tired, hungry and in dire need of some rest. We were greeted promptly, courteously and upon learning our "adventures," I believe they made every effort to get us to our rooms as quickly as possible. Before I knew it, we were cleaned up and sound asleep in a cool, clean, very comfortable and well-appointed suite on the third floor. The bedroom (two queen beds) was lovely with its decor and comfort. The bathroom was clean, well-lit and completely suitable. The restaurant downstairs is quite nice for both breakfast and dinner, offering fresh and local choices, we weren't disappointed!

Overall, I would stay here again, the service is lovely - it is a bit of a walk however to the downtown area of shopping and dining which could be a deterrent to those with mobility issues or just plain adverse to exercise.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Elizbet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I will start by saying that this is not my first stay at this hotel. Having travelled to Halifax for both business and pleasure over the past several years my husband and I have stayed at this property when it was still a Holiday Inn.

The main reason I am writing this review is because of the service....which was outstanding. Starting with the "in house reservations" who were both helpful and so accommodating (thank you Megan!!) to the wonderful team at the front desk, who made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the front doors. Both my husband and I travel extensively for both work and pleasure all over the world, and have stayed at some of the best and worst hotels out there. The management of this hotel should be very proud of their staff. They have set the bar very high.

Our room was clean and fresh, on a high floor that I had requested. I had also requested a fridge because the medication I take needs to be refrigerated and there was a fridge in our room upon our arrival. There is a beautiful outside deck on the second floor that we spent the day enjoying. Walking distance to downtown and shopping. as well as a beautiful park across the street.

You can have a beautiful hotel with all the amenities which this hotel offers, but the staff can make or break your stay anywhere. And this staff delivers on top notch quality of service.

Looking forward to staying again in September for our daughter’s wedding!!

Muriel & Bob Blank

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at Atlantica for one night on Aug 4. We had a queen room with a cot which we used for our 2 yr old. Check in was easy and courteous. The day we stayed, there was a festival going on in the park opposite the hotel so there was lot of noise from the blaring music. And in the night, there were fireworks, but thankfully it wasnt for too long. We did use the swimming pool, nothing to complain about the facility. The hotel is a little old from the inside but the rooms were clean and again, nothing to complain about. We didnt eat at the Hotel's restaurant as there are quite a few options up Quinpool road. Good choice for a family stay if you are interested.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vm101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Not worth $750.00. No fridge, no safe, parking $17.00 a night.
Was given a room right next to the pool first. Then asked for another room. Moved to a room that looked like the ceiling was going to fall in. Bathtub drain plug was pulled out. Then had to ask for a fridge. And only one pack of coffee in the morning?
For breakfast I recommend a short walk up Quinpool rd. Great small place not far away.

If we ever get back I would rather stay at a Holiday Inn.

Regards

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that it appears there were some maintenance issues with your guestroom. We do have an extensive preventative maintenance program in place, but unfortunately it seems that these issues were overlooked. If you are able to contact me directly with additional details, i.e. your room number, we would very much like to follow up on this concern. All guestrooms on our Gold and Executive floors do include in room mini fridges and we are pleased to provide complimentary fridges on request to all our guestrooms subject to availability. I do hope we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again as your business is, of course very important to us. We do have a number of packages available, some including complimentary breakfast and parking that offer excellent value. Again, I do apologize for any inconvenience.
Best Regards
Colleen Forward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing