We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Night”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Overall great spot very clean, nice comfy beds, nice shower lots of hot water. If I was to complain a bit it would be no mini fridge (Rm 811) and it was very hard to check in on a Sunday afternoon a little early. I tried at 130 then 230 and finally at 305 they had a room. Maybe the place was packed but it sure didn't look like it. I blamed it on the good deal from Priceline for the price we paid we weren't getting an extra minute! Also 19$ to park seemed like lots for being so far away from downtown. Its about 7$ for a taxi to the waterfront area but we did the walk back from The Metro Center in about 12 minutes. Bar and Restaurant have good service and a nice panoramic view.
Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    352
    175
    67
    43
See reviews for
270
322
77
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed at the Atlantica hotel several times over the past five years and it is consistently good. The staff are nice and accommodating.

The restaurant was very good, but maybe a little over priced, with very small portions. The restaurant service was very good though. The views from the restaurant are wonderful. It would be nice to have a ten or fifteen percent discount in the restaurant for guests to encourage them to dine there.

We always enjoy the pool and fitness centre.

The beds are comfortable and the décor is nice. We always ask to have a room away from the ice machines though because they are the loudest ice machines that we have ever heard.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the ice machine. The ice machines are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NStravellers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two days and it was a very comfortable stay. The beds were very comfy and the rooms were extra clean. Great staff , and made a point to always have a smile on their face. Also, having fresh lemonade in the lobby was a nice touch. Would like to have a mini fridge in the room. Restaurant menu a bit small but food is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlestouchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was certainly adequate and affordable (booked through Hotels.com). The room is a good size and everything looked very clean and in good repair and the bath amenities were Aveda products which is always nice. The staff were very courteous and check in was efficient. The location is good, walking distance to everything in downtown Halifax.
My main concern was the bed. Very soft, no support at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments. I was very pleased that you found our team members to be personable and efficient and that you enjoyed the room size and the premium Aveda products. We do have an excellent preventative maintenance program in place that includes a mattress replacement program. It seems, from your feedback that we may have missed a mattress that needs attention and I do apologize for that inconvenience. Our beds usually draw rave reviews and a number of our guests actually purchase beds through our supplier for their own homes. If you are able to contact me directly with the room number that you stayed in, it would be most appreciated. I can then have our team address this issue as soon as possible. My email address is cforward@atlanticahalifax.com
Thanks again for your feedback. We absolutely appreciate your comments.
Best Regards
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Atlantica is my favorite hotel for many reasons:
1) Great location and easy to hail a cab.
3) Excellent restaurant (try the burger with bacon jam- amazing). Breakfast buffet is very good as well.
4) Very friendly staff.
5) The beds are very comfortable (super important to me).
6) The bathroom toiletries provided are AVEDA- can't beat that. Plus they provide you a loofah for the shower. Which is really convenient because I prefer a loofah in the shower but never remember to pack one.
7) Pet friendly - important for me, as I travel frequently with my small dog.
8) The snacks in the room are unique. I love the protein bars and vitamin water.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 15th floor are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel from Oct 01-Oct 08 2013. Some things I liked were the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. They were quick to fix any issues we had when the phone broke ect. The location is great close to the harbour and a couple good resturants. They also provide a free shuttle during certain hours of the day. The free buffet included in out room was also pretty good. House cleaners did a great job. Some issues I had is we stayed in the "Executive Suite" which from talking to hotel staff was apparently the best suite to stay in. I found when we arrived in our room it was extremely over priced. This suite is a regular hotel room with some fancy lamps. Its a common size room comparable to a super 8. And for a week payed over $1300 + 17.00/day to park a rental car. When I could have stayed at a super 8 or comfort in for half the price. Same style of rooms.Only plus side of staying here is the bed was comfortable. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and believe me there is nothing fancy about this hotel. The room consists of a bed a tv and a regualr bathroom. We only had dinner once in the seasons resutrant our last day here, the food wasnt anything great. And service lacked in the bar seating area. Traffic can get a little noisey at times due to location. Overall I would look into staying somewhere else it just isnt worth the money to stay here. But i guess it depends what you are looking for. This is a 3 star hotel in my opinion. Its just an averege hotel thats over priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carny_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed one night on fourth floor; room nice and clean; front desk staff excellent. This hotel accepts dogs and I was woken past midnight by barking. Apart from that, it was a very nice stay. Spacious bathroom; comfortable bed. Convenient restaurant in the building. Complementary town car service to Spring Garden shopping/restaurant district in peak hours. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Property: Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing