We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Atlantica Hotel last month. Our room was clean, well appointed, and the beds were so comfortable. The hotel is located on a street that has many restaurants which provide great food and great value. One thing that really made this hotel top notch was the service. The main reason for this review is that we want to acknowledge the outstanding service we received. Most notably, a big thank-you to the young lady named Caitlin from the front desk. Caitlin was so helpful with tips that really made our visit to Halifax such that we are planning to return soon. We hope to see her beautiful smile again next time!

Room Tip: Ask Caitlin at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

What a wonderful five- star review! We absolutely appreciate your very kind feedback. It was great to hear that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and enjoyed the fool. You are so right though, our team does make the difference! They are very committed to insuring our guests receive top notch service and it was very thoughtful of you to recognize them, particularly Caitlin for their efforts.
Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers.
Best Regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (June 29th and 30h) during our two weeks vacations through Maine, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. I made the reservation online in February and asked for a quiet, non-smoking room on an upper floor.
We received a room with a connecting door on the 6th floor that is marked as “quiet floor”. Due to the connecting door, the room was not as quiet as we had hoped for but it was not a big issue. I could also smell smoke coming through the ventilation shaft in the bathroom. Other than that, we were very pleased with the room that had 2 beds and was clean and spacious.

Even though there is a restaurant on site, we did not try their breakfast but opted for breakfast at a local restaurant while touring the area.
From the hotel you can walk to downtown. It is about 20 minutes, a good exercise after a nice dinner.

Staff at Atlantica Hotel is very helpful. I forgot my wallet in the room but noticed this only a week later when already back in Portland, ME at the day of our flight back home. Fortunately, I had all the necessary documents with me. They sent me the wallet per mail to my home address. Of course I had to reimburse them their costs. However, I was very happy to receive my wallet a week later in the mail with everything in it. A big “Thank you” to the housekeeping department and its manager Velma.

We would stay here again if back to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I very pleased to hear that you would return to us if you are back in Halifax. Your loyalty is very special to us.
For the convenience of families and groups travelling together, we do have a number of connecting rooms. I was pleased that you found the room quite, but apologize that you were not provided with a non-connecting room option. It was somewhat concerning that you smelled smoke as we are a 100% non-smoking hotel.
So glad to hear that Velma and her team were able to assist in getting your wallet etc. back in your hand.
Thank you again for your feedback and your business.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, kids & I have stayed here on four occasions. Lovely hotel, courteous staff. Great restaurant! Kids adore the pool. The hotel is always full, but never feels crowded. Most amazing beds. You'll sleep like you've never slept before.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Pemelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so very much for sharing your kind comments with your fellow travellers. We value each and every one of our guests but loyal, return guests such as you are particularly special. So glad you enjoyed the beds. We receive great comments about bed comfort and we are now actually able to sell beds through our Atlantica at Home program.
Thank you again! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our stay at the Atlantica Hotel was exceptional,staff was excellent. The customer service is wonderful,they went above and beyond to help make our stay a pleasant one. We will definitely return to this hotel in Halifax,NS and will recommend it to everyone. Thanks for making our stay comfortable and pleasant!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a lovely view of the city in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks so very much for your FIVE STAR review. We so appreciate you sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our team is very committed to providing great service and a welcoming environment and it is wonderful that you have recognized their efforts.
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to having you return to us in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff are very nice but the cleanliness needs to be worked on, more so in the bathroom. Also paid a lot for room service and it was under cooked (eggs and bacon) not pleased after paying $28 for it. Have had much better stays at other hotels and with better air conditioning. They really need to upgrade rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vunit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. They are a wonderful group of hospitality professionals who are truly committed to delivering excellent guest service. We have been in the process of renovating each and every guestroom in the hotel. I am quite concerned about your in room dining experience as well as the cleanliness issue you describe. We take our culinary reputation and our cleanliness standards very seriously and I do hope you will contact me directly at cforward@atlanticahalifax.com or (902) 490-3339 to further discuss your concerns.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our newly renovated Gold floor guestroom. These rooms in addition to our Executive Level guestrooms are among the over 66% of all guestrooms that have been totally refreshed with new wall vinyl, carpet, drapery, bedding, furniture, and new energy efficient heating and air-conditioning units.
Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate all feedback which is essential to our continuous improvement philosophy.
Very best regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have stayed here the past 3 or 4 years for a basketball tournament. The Block rate we get is quite good. Staff is always friendly and accommodating and location is convenient for the tournament. They were also very helpful when we had to stay an extra night because of the hurricane and they honoured our group rate for the second night. Not sure I'd stay here if visiting again as I'd prefer to be down on the water, but it is a good place to stay and staff is always great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalShoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks very much for your kind review. I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. They truly appreciate our guests and are committed to delivery great service. Although not on the waterfront, our location is very central and convenient to both other areas in the downtown, universities and the vibrant Quinpool Road and North End districts. Complimentary limousine service available Monday to Friday from 7:30 am to 9:30 am and 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm also assists our guests in getting to points downtown including the waterfront.
We appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your experience. Hope to welcome you back.
Best Regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

this is the worse hotel i've stayed at. the rooms are just gross and outdated. staff are very rude, shady and unhelpful. keep in mind that if you've booked thru hotwire they'll give you the worst available room and they'll rub on your face that you can't ask for any better since you've booked thru hotwire as if you owe them. check in is very slow, a girl named Michelle at the front desk was very unhelpful, rude and shady. the rooms are just gross, the beds are uncomfortable and the pillows are just disgusting. motel rooms are wayyyy better than this hotel's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Atlantica Hotel Halifax. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and apologize that your experience was not satisfactory. We value each and every one of our guests and always strive to insure that they feel valued and appreciated. The hotel has undergone a number of renovations of the past few years, including renovations to the lobby, the majority of the guestrooms have been totally renovated and all rooms have been refreshed with flat panel TV’s, triple-sheeted bedding, etc. I would be welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with you in more detail and hope you will contact me directly, cforward@atlanticahalifax.com or (902) 490-3339.
Best Regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Hotel Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Hotel Halifax

Address: 1980 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantica Hotel Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantica Hotel Halifax offers our guests the perfect location close to everything you want to see in Halifax. In addition to warm East Coast hospitality, travellers enjoy premium amenities such as in room coffee & Nest bath products in all our spacious, comfortable guestrooms, dining in Seasons by Atlantica and use of our outstanding Leisure Club which features an indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness facilities. Free Wi-Fi access will keep you connected during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantica Hotel Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Atlantica Hotel Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing