We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, modern and clean rooms. The service is very friendly and room were well stocked. Price was great for the time we spent right in downtown, location is perfect, close to many restaurants! Pool was okay small and a little warm but nice, exercise room looked nice as well only wish I had brought my gym clothes. The walls are a little thin but we were out most of the time and you can't help small kids when it's march break. Only other small thing was that we asked twice to not have the paper delivered and after two days they continued again, only a little frustrating but no biggy at all. Overall great rooms and service !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JDHaligonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Good morning JDHaligonian,

I hope your weekend is going well! I would like to thank you for your visit and review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I apologize for you receiving a newspaper at your door, when requesting otherwise. Attention to detail is important to us and we realize even the small things count, so thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Cheers and have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    326
    94
    34
    21
See reviews for
304
449
53
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pugwash, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent one night with our kids at the Radisson over March break. We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor that felt too cramped to be comfortable. The dinette had no dishes, cutlery or wine glasses. Rather pointless. There was no tub which was hugely disappointing. We hoped for a good night's sleep at least but no, the walls are paper thin and we could hear all the noise in the hallway from people getting on and off the elevator. There is a pool and restaurant in the basement, the pool was small, the water was warm though and this area was really clean and maintained. We didn't try the restaurant. Overall, we left bleary eyed and sickly from lack of sleep, and the front desk clerk kind of shrugged, didn't offer a discount. Parking is provided across the street at an extra fee of $21 including tax, this is for self-parking.

Room Tip: Not sure if any of the rooms are more sound proofed, you can ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Good morning westhoffen,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and I would be happy to discuss this further with you. We appreciate your feedback.
If you would be so kind as to reach out to me by either phone or email I would greatly appreciate it.

Have a great day and I look forward to hearing from you,

Jamie
(902) 429-4371 direct
jamie.bolduc@radissonhalifax.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, NB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in town to visit our daughter and chose this hotel because of the good ratings from other reviewers. I'll break this down in point form starting with the bad.

BAD
* The beds. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of the "Sleep Number" beds and they sounded appealing. They're not. We had a remote control for each of the two queen (double?) beds and both remotes only controlled the one bed.The Sleep Number gimmick turns out to be pretty much just an inflatable mattress with remote-controllable firmness.

GOOD
* Everything else.
* The rainshower shower head was awesome. If we didn't have to check out, I'd still be in there.
* We had a suite with a sitting room. The sitting room was spacious and nicely decorated, but we were there for only a night so didn't use it much
* Staff. The hotel parking lot was full when I tried to park our car, so they upgraded us to valet parking for no additional fee and parked it for us. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Overall a good experience. Beds aside, I have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good morning ClubFred0,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. I hope you enjoyed your time with your daughter in our wonderful city. Please allow me to apologize for your experience with our "Sleep Number Beds". If you would be so kind as to reach out to me and let me know what suite you were in, I would greatly appreciate it, so that we can fix the problem for the next guest.
Thank you also for your positive feedback and I am happy to hear that, outside of the bed issue, everything was great.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Halifax.

Have a fabulous day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Radisson Suite hotel in Halifax is awesome. From the front desk reception through to the other staff are very professional and helpful.
The rooms are fantastic. So spacious,modern and clean. The extra room compared to standard hotel rooms is very welcome.
The hotel is very convenient to the harbour side walk in Halifax and museums and restaurants/bars....can not ask for a better location.
Thanks to the great information provided by Amelia (front desk), I caught one of the best cover bands going around in Halifax (Signal Hill).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabsy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Good morning Gabsy17, and I hope and trust your weekend is going well. Thank you for the great review and we appreciate you chossing to stay with us. I am happy to hear that we did not disappoint. Amelia is a true 'gem' and I will ensure she gets the 'pat' on the back she deserves. We hope to see you agian the next time you are travelling to Halifax.

Have a great day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We requested an early check in as our plane landed at 6:30 am....arrived at hotel at 8:30 a.m to find staff awaiting our arrival and our room ready! Jamie had even upgraded our room to top floor corner suite with gorgeous view:-) Exceptionally welcoming friendly professional staff at check in.Suite is surprisingly large,clean with contemporary furnishings.Bed is sooo comfortable! Had a wonderful meal at the hotel restaurant..Ryan Duffy's and quick friendly room service as well. Had such a great experience here we decided to spend two more nights there...would highly recommend this hotel.Can't thank staff enough for their hospitality:-)

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lauriedrumheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Good afternoon to the both of you and thank you for your visit and review. I trust and hope your travels through Nova Scotia this week has been equally enjoyable. It was my pleasure to provide the upgrade and I look forward to hearing about your week in our wonderful Province when you arrive back with us tomorrow. By the way, it is Happy Hour in our lobby bar 'Fax tomorrow 4:30pm - 7:00pm, perhaps I will see you there.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with kids while visiting Halifax for work / March break vacation. Was one of best hotel stays - great staff very clean and awesome modern rooms. The pool and gym are also nice. Close to lots of restaurants and tourist traps. Perfect for family or business

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Good afternoon Jimmyytavel,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. It is great to hear that your stay with us was 'perfect' and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a great day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I travel all over the province of Nova Scotia for business. The Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax is now one of my favourite place to stay. The bed was comfortable, the view was outstanding, the best of all was the staff!! Lynn & Trevor provided exceptional service during my 4 night stay. A moment of truth touched me when I was checking out, I apologized to Trevor (valet) that I did not have any cash to offer any tip for his services during my stay. I offered to have the tip charged to my credit card, however it was not possible. Trevor gracefully said it was his pleasure to serve me. I don't review on tripadvisor often, but this story is definitely worthy to be told. :)

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suite - worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AC12345155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Good morning to you and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate being your favorite place to stay while in Halifax and thank you for your business. I will be sure to pass along your praise of Lynn and Trevor to the two of them, as they are great at what they do and wonderful ambassadors of the hotel.

Thank you again and have a winderful day!

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,859 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing