We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halifax Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Halifax Business Trip”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Staff was very friendly, room was clean, modern and updated, breakfast and restaurant was also very good. In heart of downtown. Airport is quite a ways outside of Halifax so it's about a 70 dollar cab far to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Vanessa P,

Thank you very much for submitting your Trip Advisor review of the Radisson Suites Hotel Halifax.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoued your stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly staff, great food and guestrooms.

Our downtown hotel is located approximately 50 kilometers from the airport. We do also offer a shuttle to and from Halifax Stanfield International Airport at a very reasonable cost, which runs between all downtown hotels at various times throughout the day as an option for all guests.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    332
    98
    34
    22
See reviews for
319
461
53
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was perfect. Every one of the staff members was wonderful and they all had great personalties. My stay was during the playoffs, and my Habs were still in it, a lot of fun hockey talk\trash talk ! Seriously, Maple Leafs fans ??!

The room was clean, spacious and very quiet. Not to mentioned, this hotel is well situated.

It was my first time in Halifax. The reason for this trip, was for my mom. It was a birthday gift for her to visit Pier 21, the immigration museum. My mom came here to Canada from Italy when she was young, and she always wanted to go back.

My parents loved the experience, especially my mom. Even though she was young, she remembered so much. The boat, the smell of the bread, conversations with her mom. The memories flooded back, and I realized that this was a full circle trip for her.

We also did the Alexander Keiths Beer tour. We loved it! We were taken back in time, and entertained. It was a lot fun, and we got to sample some beer, ok, a couple of pints! We ate at the pub (2x) and it was very good. I recommend it.

Unfortunately, the time we were in Halifax, it was very cold, colder than usual for late May. So walking on the port was quite chilly to say the least!

All in all, this was a wonderful trip to experience with my parents. I recommend visiting Halifax and stay at this hotel. It's clean, well situated. We were only there for a couple of days, so we didn't get to experience much more. But from what I can see, it's a place to return.

And Thanks again to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GiovannaHabsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was wonderful to hear that your mother got to expierience Pier 21, and the many memories associated with that facility. How exciting for her to revisit history! It was great also that you got to expierience Alexander Keiths and the historic Halifax waterfront. As you know our hotel is close to all those venues in Halifax.

Thank you once again for your response, and we look forward to welcoming you again to Halifax and the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

Barry Gallant - Interim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have been to Halifax 3 times in the past 2 years and this is the only Hotel I will ever stay in.
The first time I stayed was before it was totally renovated. I choose the Radisson Suite Hotel because of its location. It is walking distance to the waterfront and to numerous restaurants. The hotel was very old and in need of a desperate update but I decided to book it again because of Abe,Vickie and Craig at the front desk. The Hotel now is absolutely beautiful! The rooms (bedroom, bathroom, sitting and eating area) are very spacious and modernly furnished. Each room has a microwave, mini fridge and a single cup coffee machine. There is a bar that serves food and drinks in the lobby. Parking is available for a surcharge, but this isn't necessary. Meters are free after 6:00p.m. and on weekends. Lynn Davis (Guest Services Manager) and her staff Vickie, Jessica M.,Katt, Meghan, Craig, Jessica C., Amelia and Aron are very efficient and extremely helpful. I never walked by the front desk without one of them
acknowledging me and always saying "Hi". Abe, is now head of Housekeeping and any issue I had (usually running low on coffee) was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Staying here, is like a "Home away from home". I highly recommend people stay here, you will love this friendly staffed hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You get a lovely view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JJMK-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of our hotel through Tripadvisor.

This review made my day. I have shared it with all of the team members.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

We hope to welcome you again.


David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for two nights for a family wedding. This is an all-suite hotel in the heart of Halifax, just a few minutes' walk from the waterfront. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well supplied with bottled water, towels, and bathroom amenities. I enjoyed thoughtful touches like a padded area on the coffee table to put your feet on! The overhead shower was excellent. The rooms are not square and there isn't a right angle in the suite, so be prepared for that.

Like all city hotels parking is a bit tricky--there's valet (for an extra charge) or self-parking in a nearby lot. Many good breakfast restaurants nearby as well--and I'd recommend those rather than the in-house Ryan Duffy's where our breakfast was a bit disappointing (see separate review).

The location was great for our needs and the reception staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel through Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

You are correct, there are not too many right angles in the hotel. The hotel was a conversion from an office building many years ago. We just finished a 7.5 million dollar renovation and furnishing the rooms was a test of imagination, however, we are very pleased with the results.

Thank you for the great review and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am a travel agent and I was lucky enough to win a free night at The Radisson YHZ. I had dealt with the Sales Manager and she was wonderful(thank you Rachel!). When we arrived(2A and a 7 yr ol), I was met by a very nice front desk agent who advised me that we had the best view in the hotel, room 806. We arrived into our room and were amazed by the awesome view of the Halifax waterfront and how clean and modern looking the suites are.

Since it was a hot Saturday, it was a bonus that the windows were able to open and all were heard was live Jazz from the festival below...it was a great vibe! My only little, minor complaint would be that the pull out couches should be checked every time someone checks out...even if they did not use the couch.

I will certainly be telling my customer's about your hotel; the great location that you are in, the wonderful suites and how clean they are and as well, your very friendly employees....it was a perfect way to start our family vacation!

Room Tip: Request a floor higher up and facing the water(requests can never be guaranteed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delores F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read you had a great stay. The Jazz Festival always creates a buzz in the city.

I will be sure to address the comment regarding the pullout sofa. Thank you for the feedback.

Congratulations on winning the certificate. We hope to welcome you again soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were three adults so I heeded the recommendation to get 2 Queen beds in executive suite. (8th floor, great view - especially of moonlit harbour!) Spacious, well designed room. Staff friendly and efficient. Noise (music) from Jazz Festival added to enjoyment (really) - they shut down at reasonable hour.
Construction site - jackhammers started on the dot at 7.00 a.m. Monday - great wake up call as I didn't want to miss a minute of getting to know Halifax but maybe wise to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if you need more shuteye.
Location, location, location. Walking distance to everything - to the right of the hotel (if facing the harbour) - Harbour farmer's market, Pier 21 (well done meaningful presentation of history of immigration to Canada through Halifax - with fascinating database service - find out what boat your ancestors came on! Supercentre. South Park.

To the right - walk to the Harbourfront Boardwalk for Whale watching boats, Maritime Museum (don't miss it), smelling the salty brine and eating Fish and chips or oysters (Oyster Shuck - super, had $1.00 oysters on Friday between 5.30 and 6.30.) Bit touristy - but...we were tourists...and it was interesting and not kitchy.
Behind the hotel - walk over to Spring Garden and then over to the Public Gardens, the Citadel, and many other sights.

Sigh - not enough days - but we'll be back. Thank you to all.

Room Tip: More than 2 adults and more than one day stay? - two queen beds in King Executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GalliaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a detailed review of our hotel through Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and it appears you were able to take in the many attractions Halifax has to offer.

Thank you for your soft comments regarding the construction noise. It seems most of downtown Halifax is under development at the moment. It has been exciting to see so much activity in the city after many years of flat growth.

Thank you for the descriptions of local attrations in your review. I am certain they will be very helpful for other reader.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Radisson Suites Hotel Halifax and for choosing Nova Scotia as a destination for your vacation.

Kind Regards

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arriving late and without a reservation I was pleased to get a room and the friendly staff were helpful all the way.

The atmosphere is very contemporary with surprisingly impressive art in the environment.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who isn't on a budget and enjoys the modern hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ocean views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for the great review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and that you chose to stay with us when you arrived in Halifax.

We hope to welcome you again.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,911 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing