We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for the first two nights of our holiday in Nova Scotia. We didn't have the best of starts with the reception staff when the lady claimed because we had booked through hotels.com we couldn't be guaranteed the room type I believed I had booked(a king room with a pull out sofa). She insisted that I had to pay 20 cad a night to get that room type. I was so tired after our flight from Scotland to argue. But I feel very aggrieved at her behaviour and attitude which cost 50 CAD with tax. However, that aside the room was brilliant, so comfortable and spacious. The other staff we dealt with were very helpful and gave great advice on sight-seeing. The hotel has a pool but it was not heated and we couldn't stay in it very long. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the hotel is in a great location, close to all the sights. On check-out I complained about the upgrade charge and it was part refunded. I would specifically mention the concierge who was very helpful and extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBGlasgow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
DEar CarolBGlasgow_UK,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your recent visit to Halifax.

I would like to offer an apology on behalf of the hotel for the service you received upon arrival. We are very prould of our Front Desk team and I am disappointed to hear the we let you down with respect to your requested room type. I will be addressing the issue with our team.

Our concierge team at the Radisson Suites Hotel Halifax are here to assist our guests with all requests and I am pleased to hear that you wre able to take advantage of our service and we were able to offer some great suggestions for places to visit.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope you will return to Halifax and our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    304
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
283
418
53
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

First of all the staff at this hotel was very accommodating as we needed to change our reservation several times due to changes in our medical appointments.

Next, the room itself is immaculate. Love the bathroom with the large shower and rain shower head. The look and feel of the hotel itself is awesome and the staff very friendly. The location is also amazing.

That all said since we are currently here for an extended stay we still ran into some issues such as:

-Parking: Self parking is in an open lot across the street. It is not paved and although supposed to be monitored I have never seen anyone there. Now the real problem starts when they run out of parking for self park during the day, they will do valet parking for you for those times at no extra cost but they also seem to take your self parking pass away and when you go park yourself again your pass is gone. The whole thing is almost like a game you play each day that gets very frustrating.

-Room cleaning: first I have to say that the rooms are very clean but it does seem that the rooms don't always get cleaned in a timely fashion. One day we left at 7:00 am and came back to the hotel at 4:30 and it looked like someone came into our room and started taking the bed apart but then left without cleaning it. Another day at 4:30 the room still wasn't done.

-Smoking: the hotel is smoke free however there is a spot at the entrance for people to smoke and often it smells like smoke in the lobby. For someone who is allergic to smoke this was very unpleasant as it was the only direct entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear chCaron,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax and that our staff was able to accommodate your reservation changes. We try to be as accommodating as possible with all guests.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention some of your challenges.

We do have limited parking on site at the hotel which is adjacent to the property. During busy times, we also offer valet parking options at a nearby parking facility as well as street parking is available for all guests. Parking passes are only removed from vehicles which are being valet parked at the nearby parking facility as those spots are not officially owned by the hotel.

With respect to smoking, we do offer a smoking area which is off the front entrance to the hotel. We tryt o keep the area as far away from our entrance as we possibly can. With our automatic front doors opening and closing on a consistent basis some smoke does from time to time enter the lobby. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This recently well renovated hotel is perfectly situated, a block from the harbour and within walking distance of most of what we wished to see. We occupied a well appointed room on the 9th floor with an unobstructed harbour view. This studio featured a microwave, mini-fridge, coffee machine and a wet bar, all in a seperate alcove from the sleeping area. Free Wi-Fi, a flat-screen cable TV and a desk are included. The spacious bathroom with large stall shower was a big plus. Staff were pleasant and helpful when we needed info. Did not use the lovely lobby bar or dining facilities.
Although valet parking is offered, I could not find a valet both times that we stayed last month. Self-parking provided just across the street is cheaper/night.

Room Tip: Not many harbour view rooms. The little extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnoldoftoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Arnoldoftoronto,

Thanks for your review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Halifax and our hotel.

In the future, should you not be able to locate our concierge to valet park your vehicle upon arrival at the hotel, please do let the Front Desk know and they will be happy to take care of it for you.

Thanks again for your review and thank you also for choosing the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The suites were very large and even with all the hustle and bustle of Buskers fest and constriction righ outside the bed was so comfortable I slept like a baby. Ryan Duffys offered an excellent dinner in a quiet atmosphere and very quick as I was in a hurry without sacrificing quality. Awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Gwlayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Gwlayne R,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review of our hotel.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hear from many guests about our comfortable beds, which you obviously enjoyed, having "slept like a baby!"

I am also pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy a great meal at our on-site restaurant, Ryan Duffy's.

Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel has recently been renovated and the time and money taken really shows. The rooms were large and well appointed. I reserved a regular room and checked into a large space with a breakfast nook (with sink, microwave, fridge and table), a sitting room, and a bed room. The bed was comfortable but the real eye opening part was the bathroom - the shower stall was large, clean and had great water pressure. Usually hotel bathrooms feel cramped, but this one wasn't.

Another bonus for the hotel was free wifi for guests. Too many nice hotels are charging for this, but the Radisson doesn't. This, for travelers today, is really important. Along with wifi were convenient plugs for charging!

But renovations are not enough for a good stay - the staff here were also fantastic. They were friendly and always smiling (they looked like they loved working here). When I needed recommendations they provided great advice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TabathaSoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear TabathaSoltay,

Thank you for your review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely proud of our newly renovated hotel and are so pleased to hear that you liked our hotel.

Our new bathrooms get lots of great comments from our guests. They are large, bright and comfortable.

We are also pleased to see a lot of our guests taking advantage of our free wifi here at the hotel. It is a pleasure to be able to offer this service to all guests.

Our staff here at the Radisson Suite are wonderful and we pride ourselves on being kind, friendly and accessible at all times. Thank you for your comments regarding the great advice they were able to provide during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was located in a very nice area and was within walking distance to the boardwalk, museum, etc. Very nice room with separate living area. The restaurant in the basement was very upscale and sold me some pancakes/orange juice that added up to $16...but was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank William Lester E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear William Lester E,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our central location in downtown Halifax and the hospitality of our beautiful city!

As you know, our rooms are very spacious and offerf great views of the city. We often hear from our guests that they appreciate the size of our guestrooms.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to come back and see us again in the future and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was extremely impressed with this hotel and would give it 5 stars in every aspect. Clean, comfortable, modern, friendly and great location. I will definitely be back this is my new favourite hotel in Halifax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Desiree S,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel on Trip Advisor!

We were so pleased to hear that every aspect of your stay with us was excellent. Here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax we try to ensure all guests have a great experience while staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon to your new favourite hotel in Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing