We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in a great location in Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in a great location in Halifax”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed at the Radisson for one evening with my husband after visiting PEI for a long weekend. Hotel staff were very helpful, check in and check out efficient. Our room was spacious and our bed very comfortable. I used the fitness centre and the equipment although not a huge range is enough for a decent workout. The location of the hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
7 Thank alisonn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Alison N,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was good with efficient check in and check out procedures.

We do find many of our guests, like yourself, love our spacious suites, comfortable beds and great location in downtown Halifax.

Thank you also for taking advantage of our hotel amenities including fitness centre.

Thanks for staying with us and please come back to see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    333
    98
    34
    22
See reviews for
320
464
53
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I visited Halifax for the 1st time back in June with my wife on a business trip for 3 days. Halifax is a beautiful cozy city filled with friendly people and some nice spots to eat. However, in my opinion, Halifax's best kept secret is the Radisson Hotel. Upon arrival, the hotel seemed recently renovated and I was greeted by professional and friendly staff.



The Room / Hotel

Impeccable: The front lobby, with its big screen tv, upscale bar, and lounge area were beautiful. Our room, had a beautiful view of the harbor. In addition, the matresses were actually sleep number beds and very comfortable. The bathroon was cleaned daily and featured a "rain type" shower with beautiful fixtures and tile.


The staff: Amazing

A hotel this well kept must have amazing staff to maintain it. A big thank you to Lynn Davis, the Guest Service Manager, and her front desk staff who made our stay memorable and enjoyable. Mrs. Davis always greeted us with a smile and she and her staff were always quick to suggest various dining ideas and places to visit. If the owners are reading this, I think a raise or promotion should be in order for Mrs. Davis and her staff. We enjoyed our stay so much, that my wife will be returning shortly for another business trip.

Thank to teh Radisson and to Lynn Davis and her staff for their friendliness and impeccable customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear kosta,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your interaction with our friendly staff, our spacious suites with great showers and the wonderful views of Halifax Harbour.

Thank you for mentioning our Guest Service Manager, Lynn Davis. Lynn is a valued member of our management team here at the hotel and goes above and beyond with all our guests to ensure they have a wonderful stay here at the Radisson. We are lucky to have Lynn on staff.

We look forward to welcoming your wife for her return visit to our hotel and do hope to see you also in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Coverdale, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nothing bad to say about our stay at the Radisson in Halifax. Five star rating for sure!!!!!!!! Don't know how they would improve on how well we were treated except that the only thing is that they ask for a minimum 200 character for a review of our stay which seems a little heavy. Change your survey or people will not be bothered with it. Thanks.....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
7 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Russell C,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

That five star review is awesome! Thank you. I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff.

Thank you also for your comments with respect to your review and minimum character length. I will definitely pass along your comments.

Thanks again and I do hope to see you in the future at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Upon checking with many other hotels, there were no vacancies. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Radisson holds a certain amount of rooms for government employees, with a bonus of an outstanding discount! This will now be my hotel of choice! It is beautiful, clean and all the staff are very pleasant and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lindsay H,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer government rates at our hotel with very competitive pricing. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Our staff here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax make every effort to ensure that they remain helpful and pleasant with all our guest and we are so pleased to get many great comments on all staff members. We do have a great team!

Thanks so much for making our property your hotel of choice here in Halifax. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trenton, ont., Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was a great place to stay. We had a family suite with a great view of the harbour. We could walk anywhere to see the sites. Ryan Duffy's great food. If you are travelling with a lot of stuff the parking could be an issue and at 18.95 a day it should not be

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tracy P,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

We agree that our suites offer fabulous views of Halifax harbour and that our on site restaurant Ryan Duffy's, offers a great selection of delicious menu items.

We do offer several parking options at the hotel including self parking, valet parking and complimentary overnight parking on adjacent streets to the hotel.

We do hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for choosing the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Radisson Suites Hotel Halifax was a great place to stay, central to tourist amenities, bars, restaurants. Staff were pleasant and informative. Use of safety deposit box for free, morning newspaper delivered at no charge. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
8 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Susan O,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree, the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax is the perfect location in downtown Halifax, close to local tourist amenities, great restaurants and historic Halifax harbour and the boardwalk.

The staff at the hotel continue to be one of our greatest assets. We were pleased to hear that you found them to be pleasant and informative.

We are also pleased to be able to offer complimentary newspapers for all our guests, as well as free use of safety deposit boxes for all guests who may require them.

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great hotel as soon as we got out of our cab there was someone there to take our luggage to our room me had suite with a view over looking the harbour the room was very clean and spacious. We slept very well we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vince and Kerry... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Vince and Kerry C,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Concierge and Front Desk Staff are great ambassadors and ready to assist from the moment the guest arrives at the Radisson.

We are so pleased to hear that you loved our spacious suites with great views of the city and harbour. We agree they are very comfortable and offer a great night's sleep.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thanks so much for staying with us at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,914 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing