We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, great room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location, great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Beautiful modern suite with a great king size bed, amazing shower and bathroom (with a tv built into the mirror!). Comfortable couch and useful kitchenette.
During my week long stay, the breakfast service was consistently great, the room cleaning was great and the desk staff were friendly. The only negative was the laundry and dry cleaning service was consistently late and of poor quality.

Room Tip: Join club carlton first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecil-is-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Intrerim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Stephen M.

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our suites are very spacious and modern with comfortable beds in our guestrooms. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bathrooms, which are newly renovated, with our great rainhead showers. It was great to hear that you were also able to utilize our kitchenettes.

Thank you also for your kind words about our cleanliness and the great service you received at our on-site restaurant, Ryan Duffys.

We will also ensure that I pass along your comments with respect to drycleaning and laundry services provided by our external partners. I apprecaite your feedback.

Thanks for choosing to stay at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    300
    90
    31
    19
See reviews for
278
415
52
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and the ratings on Trivago! Boy were those websites wrong! We stayed for 4 nights. On the last day, we had no hot water in the room, couldn't shower! The problem was not fixed by the staff although we complained. Furthermore, the beds were very uncomfortable. Lastly, we were told the constructions workers across the street didn't start work until 9am --- WRONG! They started drilling, hammering, banging, etc., at 7am, and on the weekends too! Staff were incompetent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gayle B,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the incidents during your recent stay with us. Obviously, from a guest standpoint, we did not meet your expectations and this is truly disappointing for us.

We did, in fact, have a system malfunction which did result in the loss of hot water for a period of time during the past weekend. As soon as the issue was discovered we immediately took steps to ensure we corrected the issue as quickly as possible to inconvenience our guests as little as possible. Unfortunately, it did take some time to locate the actual problem and rectify the situation.

We also have construction taking place in an area close to the hotel and do have information posted regarding this for all guests upon check in. We closely monitor the situation and do have to abide with Halifax by-laws which allow construction to begin at 7am on weekdays and later on weekends. We are working closely with the construction company involved to minimize the effects on our guests.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your stay. I can reached at (902) 429-4371.

Thank you once again for your review. We would love the opportunity to have you visit with us again in the future to make it right and ensure that you fully enjoy your experience at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was one of our best vacations in a long time! The hotel was recently renovated and our room, although only on the 4th (of 9) floors, had a nice view of the harbor. LOCATION is a big asset here. 2 blocks to the waterfront and all the excitement and a lot of great restaurants/night spots within walking distance. 1st thing you do is meet Aron & Trevor, the Concierge guys- they will be your best friends with lots of useful recommendations and reservations. Tip the maids a couple $$ every morning and your room is done right away and you will want for nothing. This is also perfect for day trips- Bay of Fundy, Wine Country and Lunenburg (UNESCO world Heritage site.) Chowder up here has been raised to an ART Form- try it at various restaurants as it varies in incrediants but any one will beat ours hands down. Only fault (atn Barry G) WiFi is very unreliable. There were a couple of low level fix it items but a word to our concierge friends and all smoothed out. Even so would come back in a heart beat!!! All staff VERY friendly. Tip if you have Bank America walk 2 blocks to Scotia Bank ATM to get $CDN no extra fee. Pay cash don't charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry5567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jerry5567,

Thanks so much for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of your best vacations in a long time! We were pleased to be a part of it!

The location of our hotel, located in the downtown core of Halifax, is close to all amenities and we love being so close to eveything. The views from our harbour suites are amazing!

Thank you for mentioning Aron and Trevor. They are both great representatives of our hotel and do everything that they can in assisting our guests. We will pass along your kind comments to them both.

Thank you for bringing the issue of WIFI to my attention. I will speak with our WIFI provider to discuss possible solutions right away. I do appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback.

On behalf of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax, thank you for staying with us and please come nack and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Would stay again and again. Great food, atmosphere and service at Ryan Duffy's and proximity to the Halifax water front made this the perfect hotel for a romantic gettaway. I have stayed for both business and leisure and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
7 Thank Jason & Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jason and Lisa L,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and recommend us as a great place to stay while in Halifax.

We agree that our location is great, located right in the heart of downtown Halifax and in close proximity to great restaurants, attractions and shopping.

Ryan Duffy's, our on-site restaurant provides great service and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thanks so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of my personal favourites. Spent my birthday weekend there and the front desk staff were so helpful and understanding. My car was brought to me within 5 mins of calling the front desk and if we had any requests they were more then happy to help us out. Even when I was not staying at the hotel, the front desk would always help me find a cab when it was almost impossible with the bar crowd downtown... She would pick up the phone and tell them a guest needed a cab right way.. Now that's service!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank keeganmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear keeganmitchell,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear that our hotel is one of your personal favourites! Thank you.

Our Front Desk staff do a wonderful job in assisting with all guest needs and we are pleased that we were able to be helpful to you during your stay in retrieving your vehicle and quickly and efficiently requesting taxi service for you. We are all about service here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax!

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our rooms were massive, a bit pricey but the bathroom and shower were spectacular. You pay a premium to park in a shabby little dirt lot diagonally across the street; valet parking makes it easier but adds to the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
11 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Philip B,

Thank you for your review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to hear that you did enjoy your suite. We do agree with you that our rooms are large and we do have new bathrooms that are very comfortable and include lots of great amenities.

We do offer numerous parking options for our guests at the hotel which include our limited on-site parking facilities, valet parking, street access parking and nearby indoor parking.

Thank you for staying with us here at the Radisson and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Suites have a lovely seating area. 3 tvs. The bathroom is really nice, the huge rainfall shower is awesome. It's a deluge of clean! The front reception area transitions seamlessly from a comfortable waiting area, to living room seating, to a bar and lounge. Great area to meet friends. The food from the restaurant downstairs "Ryan Duffy's" was great and came to our room quickly. We were within a 3 block walk of everything. 2 blocks from the harbour 3 blocks to the Lower Deck, 3 blocks from the citadel. The doorman, Kent, with his well groomed beard and perfect hair made us feel welcome and wanted :-)
Everything about this hotel was easy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank familyguy203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear familyguy203,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you were able to experience one of our spacious suites and love the fact that you felt "a deluge of clean" after using our rainhead showers! That is awesome!

The lobby of the hotel we find to be very inviting for all our guests and does offer great seating arrangements along with our contemporary 'FAX bar. We feel honoured to welcome all our guests in such a warm and welcoming lobby area and are so pleased that you got to experience it.

Thank you also for mentioning Kent, our concierge. He is a great ambassador for the Radisson and is very passionate about ensuring all our guests have everything they need. I will be sure to pass along your comments to him.

We do hope to see you again and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing