We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Edward Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Radisson hotel is completely renovated and is by far the most beautiful hotel in Halifax. They had some early issues when they first opened – mainly around staff training, I would suggest – which have been rectified. The hotel is also in the best location in Halifax, close to the waterfront, local restaurants and pubs and the business centre of Metro Halifax. Get a room with a waterfront view - spectacular! A technical issue during our stay meant we had no hot water one day, during our stay. That was unfortunate but can happen anywhere, I guess. Great hotel, with great staff. I would highly recommend it to anybody traveling in the Halifax area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Wayne P,

Thank you for your recent review of teh Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

We really do appreciate your great comments about our hotel. We truly believe we have the most beautiful property in the city with the the best location and close to everything. It is so wonderful to hear this statement regularly from our guests.

Thank you also for your understanding with our technical issue last weekend. We appreciated the patience of all guests staying with us for that short period.

Thanks for recommending us highly and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    304
    90
    32
    20
See reviews for
283
418
53
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Husband and I were in the area with our 14 month old for a wedding (not at the hotel). They had a crib set up when we arrived. Room was clean and comfortable. We had a suit which was great for putting baby to bed in separate room early. If you do bring baby our room only had a shower but it was great and our baby LOVES showers so it worked but if they only take baths maybe you want to look into that. Staff were excellent. Pool was nice with long opening hours but slightly chillier than we're used to but completely manageable. If you get the suit you can request a package of cutting board, knife, dishes etc so don;t feel like you need to bring the basic basic stuff if you're staying a couple days and like to do snacks etc yourself. Ryan Duffy's was not something we'd recommend for breakfast the price to quality was not great. It just wasn't for us and the food needed salt. Service was good and location was right in hotel so that was good. Internet was good, rooms were well appointed, valet parking was easy. I'd highly recommend this place as a hotel and the proximity to everything was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Erin R,

Thank you for your recent review of tgeh Radisson Suite Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We were so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. How wonderful to have your 14 month old along with you for your stay with us. We love having families in-house!

Our suites are the perfect place for families to sty while in Halifax. The rooms are large and each have their own kitchenette, which I am sure you found useful during your stay with us.

We were pleased also to hear that you found our staff here at the hotel to be excellent. We do have a great team of very dedicated individuals in all departments of the hotel and thank you for recognizing them.

We will pass along your comments regarding Ryan Duffy's, our on-site restaurant directly to the restaurant. We appreciate your feedback.

Thanks for highly recommending us and please do come back to see us again soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Its directly downtown, nearby everything. Super staff, good Internet acess. Spacious rooms. Excellent service. Excellent food. You can't have more than that ! I strongly recommend this hotel. Its a MUST !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Frederick P,

Thank you very much for your rdcent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our spacious suites, excellent service and great food onsite at our hotel. As you know, we are also a great location in the heart of downtown Halifax!

Thanks for staying with us and highly recommending us. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Don't judge this book by its cover. The building itself is not very new, and looks its age on the outisde, but the hotel was completely renovated a year ago (according to the concierge) and looks very modern and fresh on the inside.
Rooms are very big, with a separate seating are. You can change the firmness of (your half of) the mattress with a nifty remote control. Comfort guaranteed. Excellent walk-in shower. Fast internet. Very nice carpet, walls, sheets and furniture. Genuinely friendly staff.
Breakfast is a la carte in the restaurant, and very good.
Great location, walking distance from both the waterfront and the citadel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear travelfranck,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

As you noted we do have a modern, fresh hotel. We were totally renovated recently. We also have renovations planned for the exterior of the property in 2014.

Many guests also comment on our large, spacious suites complete with our great new rainhead showers. They certainly make the stay memorable for a lot of our guests!

Our location, in the centre of downtown Halifax can't be beat, close to all amenities including great restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. We believe we are at the center of all the action in Halifax!

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and please come back to see us again during future visits to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel reservation desk took my reservation over the phone for a booking a month out. They booked my room for the wrong month, charged me for a no show and then proceeded to ignore my concern with being billed for a booking that I was unaware of. Several messages were ignored and I was forced to call the head office and am still waiting to be reimbursed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jason C,

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax.

We are currently investigating your situation and will get back in touch with you as quickly as possible. We certainly take your comments seriously with respect to your guestroom charge.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We loved this hotel. The suite was very spacious and had great decor. It was close to the harbor, shopping, restaurants and pubs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking was rather limited and the sofa couch needed to be replaced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
6 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Candace W,

Thanks for your recent review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased to hear that you loved our hotel!

Our newly renovated suites are very spacious and we also like the new decor. We get lots of great comm ents from guests on our new look.

Thank you for also mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We are very proud of our team here at the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax and know that they work extremely hard to ensure complete guest satifaction overall.

We also appreciate your comments on our sofa beds. Your feedback is very important to us.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel was a great starting point for exploring Halifax. It is well situated, and the concierge has great resources for setting up tours and excursions out of town. The rooms were well appointed (although the view in the "Water View Rooms" from all but the highest floors is not that great, since it is blocked by a building). The room service was excellent and efficient, and the fitness room was reasonably well outfitted. (Later in the day, the fitness room would often run out of towels, so be sure to bring you own after 11 am.) I would definitely recommend staying here to others.

Room Tip: Water View rooms are not worth it except on the highest floors (8 and 9). The view is partially blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry G, Interim General Manager at The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear B R,

Thank you for your recent review of the Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax on Trip Advisor.

We agree, the Radisson is a great place to stay, loacted in the heart of downtown Halifax and also a great starting point for exploring our beautiful city!

Thanks also for mentioning our concierge services. Our team does provide great information for all our guests on where to go and what to see and do while in Halifax. We love to have our guests interact with the group while staying with us.

Ryan Duffy's, our on-site restaurant, is a great partner and provides an excellent selection of menu items for our guests who want to take advantage of Room Service. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed their service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on future visits to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton

Property: The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton
Address: 1649 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1V8, Canada (Formerly Radisson Suite Hotel Halifax)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce our re-opening after a 7 million dollar extensive renovation. This premiere boutique all-suite hotel is located in the heart of the business district of Halifax and overlooking the city's spectacular and historic harbour. The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton has 120 uniquely designed one-bedroom and studio suites most with a separate living area and spectacular harbour views! Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, we know you will enjoy our facilities and service. We wish to extend a warm and cordial Maritime welcome from our team of hospitality professionals.We are proud to have a 4 Green Key E-commodation Rating. As a 4 Green Key rated property our hotel has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs, and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Halifax
Halifax Radisson
The Hollis Halifax - a DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing