We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Halifax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at Lord Nelson for the third time and if we come to Halifax again, we will stay there. The location is perfect for shopping, for visiting the public garden and the citadel and it is within a nice walking distance from the waterfront - and from all other major sights in Halifax. The hotel is a nice mixture of classic and modern and the rooms are spacious, they are clean and the staff is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abroad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you abroad55 for choosing The Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites as the best hotel while visiting Halifax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a wonderful experience and would certainly stay at the Lord Nelson again. We got a great deal on Expedia and we were thrilled by the charm of doormen and turn down maid service, old fashioned hospitality and beautiful appointments. Highly recommended. Walking into the lobby is an experience in itself with the beautiful chandeliers and woodwork. The Lord Nelson "feels" like a five star hotel from start to finish.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Compuaid,
Thank you so much for highly recommending The Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites on TA! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and amenities we have to offer all of our guests. We are very proud of our historic lobby and are glad to hear you enjoyed the ambiance it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Halifax.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Across from the most beautiful park and centrally located, this hotel is only minutes from shopping. It is best visited without children ( no pool ). Book a room which includes complimentary breakfast from the lobby balcony. It is worth it. Also ask for a free room upgrade. I was given one without even asking, and in high season! Look for discounts online.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park, There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljbmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you ljbmn for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We agree our Continental Breakfast that looks over the park on the mezzanine is a perfect way to start your morning! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Halifax!

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Lord Nelson Hotel recently. The staff was more than helpful in every situation. They even had a mini fridge AND microwave sent to my room free of charge (I just had the standard sized room with 2 double beds). I only ate at the pub there for one meal but it was very good (lobster roll). Obviously, you can't please everyone but I think this is definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in the past several years and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunfire999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Sunfire999,

Thank you for posting your Great Experience with us on TA! We are happy to provide our guests with any assistance they may need. We greatly appreciate that you highly recommend The Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had been waiting to stay at the Lord Nelson. I have stayed at various hotels on trips to Halifax and had been happy with the accommodations. A colleague had recommended that the Lord Nelson was nice and was close proximity to the university and hospitals.
I was VERY disappointed with my stay, specifically due to the cleanliness of the room. My child had to use the washroom as soon as we entered and I was surprised and disgusted by the condition of the toilet seat when it was lifted. It had obviously not been lifted and cleaned between occupants as there was feces still on the underneath of the lid.
The next problem was that the pillows on one bed were full of long black hairs. The room was a suite and a guest was sitting in a chair in our room and moved it. Under the chair was a large orange stain that looked like vomit that had not been cleaned well.
I was there was a celebration and didn't have time to deal with having someone re-clean the room, which I should have. I couldn't wait to check out the next day because the room had been grimy looking.
In regards to food we did eat in the hotel pub and the service was excellent. The food however, was not good. It was overly salted, re-heated and just wasn't the caliber I would expect from this hotel.
The best part of the hotel was the service from the employees. They were pleasant and helpful for the most part but there was only 1 working the desk at the 3pm check-in time and on the check-out time. I thought they would have more people available at the busiest times.
This was a shame because the hotel is IN a prime location. Most people seem satisfied with the hotel, so perhaps my experience is a rarity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bds1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Bds 1980,
I sincerely apologize for the conditions of your guestroom upon checking in. This is not a standard of the Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites. Please allow me to address your concerns with you directly at 902-423-6331. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future to experience the legendary hospitality we are known for.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A luxurious blend of modern and classic. We did not have a car but the location is perfect for walking to The Citadel, Natural History Museum, restaurants of all kinds.. and if your knees can manage a steep slope.. even to the waterfront... if not.. it is only $5 by taxi. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous. There is a taxi stand across from the hotel.. so one whistle by a doorman brings a cab in a moment, and the hotel offers transportation to the airport which is cheaper than a taxi. The pub serves an amazing fish and chips.. however, the evening meal was not impressive as the vegetables were not hot. Overall... you get a wonderful experience and can manage very well without a car.

Room Tip: We had a terrible view... of buildings next door... but... we did not care since we were outside doi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you Trudy J for posting your experience with us on TA! I am sorry your evening meal was not enjoyable, this is not a standard of the Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites. We are glad you enjoy our central location in Halifax and all the great sights we have around us! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the Legendary Hospitality we are known for.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

First the positive. Had a nice lobby, very impressive. And great location right across from gardens.
But would likely not stay there again, due to the tiny rooms and tiny bathroom. Had no hot tub, no complimentary breakfast, no room to fold out your suitcase. The bathroom had no counter space,
the walls must have been thin because you could hear everything. Charged for parking, and no safe. Bathtub mat had hair on it when I put it in tub...YUCK

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle I, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear SL50,
I sincerely apologize for the conditions of your bathroom upon checking in. This is not a standard of the Lord Nelson Hotel and Suites. Please allow me to address your concerns with you directly at 902-423-6331. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again and experience one of our larger guest rooms and legendary hospitality we are known for.

Yours in Hospitality,
Michelle I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,057 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Westin Nova Scotian
#17 of 28 in Halifax
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £104 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing