We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

During August 2013 we spent three nights in total at the Lord Nelson at both the start and end of our Canadian holiday. We felt very welcome, both rooms were immaculate, staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in prime position opposite the Botanical Gardens and within very easy walking distance of the Halifax waterfront.

Room Tip: Our first room was on 8th floor, second room on 4th floor - this lower room picked up noise from coa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorsetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for recent visits and pleased you were satisfied with value received. We love our location and empower our employees to make lasting impressions. Hope you enjoyed your time in Nova Scotia and hope you will come visit us again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Lord Nelson for 2 nights in August 2013. The room we had was quite big and the proximity to downtown and the Halifax Pier was great- walking distance. We had our two little kids and a double stroller and 2 big suitcases- no problems fitting in the room. We loved the Aveda toiletries as well. Definitely we will come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebony_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Grateful for the recent visit of your family and pleased to know you enjoyed product, found room spacious and central location convenient. Always rewarding when guests satisfied with value received and appreciate your desire to come visit us again. Good luck with the little ones and thanks again for sharing such great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Lord Nelson is in an excellent location. We were there on a Sunday and there just happened to be a open air concert in the Botanical Gardens across the street. Our room was extremely clean, up-to-date and comfortable with lovely linens. The staff was extremely accommodating. The pub restaurant had wonderful food in a casual environment. This was a very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thanks Suzanne for recent visit and sharing such great comments regarding your experience. Looks like we have another raving fan which I appreciate. Pleased you enjoyed product, service and central location. Our mission is to ensure our guests are satisfied with value received which hopefully we continue to provide us repeat business which is vital to any success. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Nova Scotia and best wishes for pleasant return home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having stayed at the Lord Nelson on business a few times, I took my husband and daughter for a few nights on our summer holiday August 2013. Once again, the staff, the room and food were fabulous. The bar tender went out of his way to make us feel special -- the concierge & front desk staff went above & beyond to satisfy every request, and the room was clean and lovely. This is just a special hotel. Love it. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianJ975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Grateful for your loyalty and pleased to know you are fully satisfied with value received. We are very proud of product and staff and always so rewarding to receive such positive comments from a raving fan. Thank you for opportunity to make you feel special and valued. Hope you will continue to make us your home away from home for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Overall my experience at this hotel was great! The staff was friendly and helpful while the hotel had an awesome classic feel and decor. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. The one issue I had was during the only meal I ate in the restaurant which was breakfast on Sunday Sept 8th, 2013. After sitting for awhile we had to get our own menus, then go find someone to bring us coffee and once we were ready to order we had to find our server in order to place our order. It was frustrating and some of the slowest/worst service I have ever received in a restaurant. Other then that experience I highly recommend the hotel, just wouldn't recommend the restaurant for anything other then a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Sincere thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. Pleased to know you enjoyed our product and service. We are proud of our historical property which pleased you appreciated. My apologies for the poor breakfast you experienced. The weekend you stayed is often one of busiest all year so should have been prepared prepared to avoid such delays. I shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager which confident will learn from this example. Hope you were able to enjoy our central location and relax a little during your visit to Nova Scotia. Hope you enjoy a pleasant return home.... Go Jets :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is very, very nice. Fabulous Art Deco interior, period features, pleasant staff, well equipped comfortable rooms. We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The only criticism I can make is that there is no fine dining fare offered. The pub is very nice, great ambiance, but unfortunately does not offer something for a slightly special dinner. Very pleasant hotel though, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The classic rooms are very well equipped and comfortable, but maybe not needed if you are only stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareS915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive and excellent description of our charming, historical and elegant property. Pleased to know you were satisfied with value received and would stay with us again. I can appreciate your comments regarding lack of fine dining options in the pub. We believe most people would appreciate the casual options we provide. Hopefully we were able to suggestion one of our many fine dining local options for you to enjoy your special occasion. Thanks again for recent visit and for sharing such positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wonderful hotel right on Spring Garden Road, and across the road from the Public Gardens. Rooms were cleaned every day, and fresh towels supplied. Location was terrific. Within walking distance to downtown Halifax, the Citadel, and the waterfront. Breakfast was excellent at the hotel, and the cafe Victory Arms was terrific.

Room Tip: Excellent location. Beautiful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuslanKazaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Sincere thank you for coming to visit us from Denver and grateful for the postive comments regarding your experience. We pride ourselves on our product, service and central location so grateful knowing satisfied with value received. We beleive we offer a great combination of elegance and charm like no one else in Halifax. Hope you enjoyed your visit to Nova Scotia and hope you enjoy a pleasant return home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,057 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
The Westin Nova Scotian
#17 of 28 in Halifax
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £104 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing