We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Well Had Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Lord Nelson was a perfect spot for a weekend of school friends. We traveled to Halifax for a summer vacation and choose this hotel because of its location in the downtown area. We were immediately impressed by the staff and the quality of the room. The early twentieth century architecture mixed with modern lighting and finish was a pleasant surprise. The room was perfect, the beds and cots were equally comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, especially the shower. I recommend this hotel to all types of travelers.

Room Tip: I you want a good view, be careful because many of the rooms face a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicfromEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Grateful for your decision to stay with us Nick and pleased you were satisfied with value received. I am very proud of our historical property, location and professional staff so always nice to have raving fans. Hope you enjoyed your time with friends and able to experience our beautiful city. Please come again and take hundreds of your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

All around classy, professional, and in a very attractive setting and location. I encountered no problems, except for the clumsiness of logging on to the WiFi. That said, at least the WiFi was effective, which is more than can be said of free WiFi's elsewhere.

Room Tip: I was far from the elevators and facing a back courtyard, so the room was quiet. However, a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirnNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Very nice to receive such positive feedback from visitors from beautiful New York. Grateful you were satisfied with our product service and location. Hope you were able to enjoy our city and other parts of our beautiful province. Hope you will come visit us again if you return again to Halifax. Thanks again for recent visit and positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for two days. I had a group rate for a very small room (with one Queen bed), which after taxes ended up costing $150 per night.

The size of the room was fine, and the hotel was clean, however two key problems - the room was very noisy and the wifi was terrible to connect to. The noise of the room was due to a loud refrigerator, a loud air conditioner and a loud fan in the bathroom. I was able to unplug the refrigerator and turn up the temperature to prevent the air conditioner from kicking in, but the fan in the bathroom ran automatically and there was no on/off switch to turn if off. Even after closing the door it still seeped into the room.

The wifi was impossible to connect to an iphone. Once connected successfully, it would disconnect again. The connection process requires entering a whole bunch of information, and so it wasn't just as simple as entering a password. I would call the free wifi non-functional.

For what you get, considering I received a discounted price, this hotel is over-priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAZ_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

My sincere apologies for your average experience. We recently experienced a problem with our internet that has been repaired in a timely manner. To access the internet you would have been asked to login on more than one occasion which I can appreciate would be annoying and certainly not our standard. We make this complimentary process very simple and once logged in you should receive continuous access for up to 7 days. Your unexpected noise certainly seems odd since our bathroom ventilation system turns off at night so should not be continuously running. I can assure you this is not our standard since we understand the importance of a peaceful night's sleep. Hope you will try us again when in Halifax so we can change the poor perception we recently provided you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for three nights while attending an international stamp show that took place at the hotel. Everything associated with the show and our guest room was excellent. We had a junior suite which was spacious, bright, and well equipped with a mini kitchen, desk, free wifi, couch and flat screen TV. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little short of shelf space, but the good shower and plentiful soft towels made up for that.

Our room rate included parking and continental breakfast. In the past, the breakfast used to be served on the mezzanine level, but now that it has moved to the newly refurbished "Arms" restaurant it is much better. The selection of cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastry, and breads was augmented with eggs, cheese, cold meats, and a variety of dried fruit and seeds. Lovely!

I've stayed at the Lord Nelson many times for business, and service is invariably excellent at the hotel. I have to single out Ron from the concierge department. He has worked at the hotel for years and is a delight. He is friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and takes pride in his work.

Room Tip: The "breakfast on the park" special is a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you Dalry for your loyalty and for taking the time to share such positive comments regarding your recent experience. Ron really is a gem and we are very fortunate to have him on our team. Pleased you found our product comfortable and satisfied with renovation of our restaurant. Hope we will continue to be your "home away from home" for many years to come. Enjoy your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location of this hotel is just perfect, few steps from Halifax university, waterfront and citadel.
Friendly and helpful staff. However, having room service knocking on your door at 8 am to ask what time you're checking out is a no no. Also, the bath towels are so small that one needs at least 3 of them to dry completely. Choose rooms on the back or on the front since you can hear all the noise from the corridor.

Room Tip: Back and front rooms are quieter since the rooms by the corridors can be really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbstefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Grateful you enjoyed our very popular central location. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience since I fully agree you should not be disturbed unexpectedly at 8am. We do have practices in place to avoid this and if helpful when I travel I like to place my Privacy Please sign on my door since like ours most hotels most likely not disturb me. We recently added small fridges along with new drapes to all rooms and replaced all the sofa beds and chairs in our suites. We have some additional ideas to make sure we keep our historical product well maintained and modern in keeping with our historical look. I hope you enjoyed your time in Halifax and hope you will come try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for 8 days on a business/pleasure trip. Booking was easy and efficient, reception was pleasant, non intrusive. All staff was warm and interested in helping us with any questions we had regarding our stay in Halifax. They have done a great job of keeping the hotels history alive and at the same time keeping pace with modern updating & features. Great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the Halifax Gardens ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zyg022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you Zyg022 for such excellent feedback. We aim to please and always gratifying to receive feedback like yours. I will certainly share with our staff. Please tell your hundreds of friends and hope you enjoy a special summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We always try first to stay at the Lord Nelson. When the price is competitive, that's where we stay. Great location, clean and classic in design. Parking is also very convenient compared with other hotels in the city. Highly recommended (though have to say we are a little disappointed with the restaurant renovations, especially the menu - but that's a matter of taste).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

A sincere thank you for your decision to come stay with us again and for sharing such positive feedback. I am very proud of our historical product and believe we have the best staff in the city. I can appreciate your comments regarding our restaurant renovations and invite you to share with us your suggestions since often used to make changes to better meet the needs of our guests. Hope we will continue to remain your "home away from home" when in Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,087 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
The Westin Nova Scotian
#15 of 28 in Halifax
1,838 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £94 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing