We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old expense account hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a grand old hotel with polished brass, and the aura of another era. Service is friendly and efficient. It is centrally located with regard to Dalhousie University, the down town restaurant scene, Queen Elizabeth II Hospital, etc. and across the street from the extensive Public Garden.

So it is a great location, particularly if you don't have a car. If you have a car be prepared to pay $22 a day for parking. It is an expense account hotel. What I noted when I was at breakfast was the predominance of business travellers and older people. The buffet breakfast is the usual expense account price in the range of $15.00.

Our room on the 8th floor had no view other than a building roof and some tall buildings surrounding the roof. If you were on the other side of the hall you would have looked out at the public gardens which I am sure would have been very nice.

There are equally good or better places to stay in down town Halifax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the public gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EsoxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you EsoxL for your recent visit and taking the time to share comments of your experience. I'm pleased you enjoyed our central location, historical product and friendly staff. I can assure you our rates are very competitive and often better than our competitors. We also offer a variety of packages that includes either parking or breakfast. Hot breakfast for two is also included with all of our upgraded rooms. I would love for all of our rooms to offer a view of the gardens which we tend to offer by request. Hope you enjoyed your time in Halifax and will come see us again upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed staying here for the first 2 nights of our trip to Canada- it was adequate. Great lobby and friendly staff- were our first impressions. Secure parking included in hotel rate- great- as was free wifi- fantastic! Our room was comfortable and with great views on the 9th floor. Breakfast was disappointing- we were given breakfast vouchers (a bit tacky?) and at breakfast told that it would be an extra 4 dollars to get hot food. Tacky tacky tacky. The hotel needs an update- in structure (ancient pipes mean you wake up when the people in the room next to you or above you do, bed is a humble double, and breakfast is served in a "pub") and procedures. I doubt we'd choose to stay here again- shame....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you KP58 for recent visit and for sharing your comments. I'm pleased you enjoyed our central location and found our staff very friendly. We are very proud of our historical product and I can assure you we will continue to do our up most to keep all of our guestrooms quiet. I can appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast coupons and current practices which I will review with my management team with intentions of making this process more seamless for our guests. I really hope you will reconsider and come try us again when in Halifax since very confident we will meet if not exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel, staff and location were excellent. We parked our car and could walk to everything. Which was very convenient. Would not have changed anything and would definitely recommend it, We would come back to Lord Nelson again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenMartell, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you Gail for your recent visit and for sharing such positive comments. It's always rewarding to receive a 5 star rating which reflects the efforts of our staff along with beautiful product. We will be waiting for you again with open arms upon your return. Hope you were able to relax and allow us to take good care of you for a change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Lord Nelson is the perfect place to stay in Halifax. It is right across the street from the Public Gardens which are beautiful. The Hotel is old fashioned but the rooms have been modernized and are very comfortable. A wonderful hot buffet breakfast comes with your room and omelets and eggs are made to order. I love all the Aveda products in the bathroom. It's an easy walk to the waterfront and there is a wonderful, eclectic mix of restaurants in the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you Michael for recent visit. We recently added a full hot breakfast option to compliment our breakfast menu which is now included with our executive rooms and suites. The omelet station has been very popular so very rewarding to receive your positive comments. I am proud of our historical product, excellent team of service professionals and beautiful city so nice to see you were fully satisfied. Thank you for the 5 star review and open invitation to come stay with us again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We wanted to spend a few days exploring Halifax and environs, so this hotel was perfectly located to hit all the highlights AND not worry about parking. As the city is a very easy place to walk about, The Lord Nelson was perfect for us.

We were greeted by Ron, the doorman, and he set a high standard for our visit. He was cheerful, helpful and went out of his way to help us get checked in and settled. Our room was immaculately clean and the hotel amenities were top notch. Our only detractions were the small (but well appointed) bathroom and the indifference of the staff at the in-house pub. Both were not consequential and did not subtract from our stay.

Recommend this hotel for any visit to the beautiful city of Halifax.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you Dave for coming to spend a few days with us. I'm pleased you were satisfied with our service, product and value received. Ron is certainly a gem and takes pride in taking good care of our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with him which confident he will appreciate. My apologies for average service in the restaurant along with any discomfort with size of bathroom. I would for all of our bathrooms to be large and luxurious which maybe one day. It's also rewarding to receive such positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our product which reflects the hard work of our housekeeping team. I hope you were able to relax and enjoy our central location. Please come again when returning to Halifax and thank you for positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As soon as we walked in we knew we were going to enjoy this hotel, quality from top to bottom, the reception staff were excellent and all very helpful.
Our room was pretty good, although perhaps could do with a little modernisation and re-decorating. however it was acceptable,
The bar/restaurant area more than makes up for any short fall in the rooms, excellent staff, great food, and a nice place to relax, all at a very competitive price,
If the room had been a little better I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but all the same, a very enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mlloyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your recent visit and pleased you were satisfied with service, product and value received. We recently did a complete renovation of our restaurant in February and have received lot of positive feedback just like yours. We are very committed to our product and I’m pleased to share we recently added a small fridge, more easily accessible electrical outlets and replaced the drapes in all our rooms. We added a 47” Smart TV and replaced all 50+ sofa beds in our suites. We will soon be adding additional lighting in our rooms and have a few more ideas to further update our product. Please come stay with us again when in Halifax and thanks for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for our first night in Nova Scotia and it was a great choice. The hotel is located just across the street from the public gardens, which are beautiful. It is around the corner from the center of town, which has shopping and restaurants, and just about four or five blocks from the wharf. The lobby is classically attractive, and the staff were polite, professional, and very helpful. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable - no complaints whatsoever. We always ask for a room away from the elevator, but this hotel was so quiet that I don't think location would have mattered. There is a $22/day fee for parking, which we felt was a bit high although understandable.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are fine in terms of attractiveness and noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Guest Relations Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Karen for your perfect rating which is very rewarding. We pride ourselves on our service and very proud of our historical product so pleased you were fully satisfied with both. I can appreciate your feedback regarding our parking rates. I can assure you our rates are very competitive with other down town hotels. We offer packages that would include parking that might be a better overall value for you to consider. You can reference our packages on our website or by asking our agent at time of reservation if helpful in the future. Thank you again for taking to time to share such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,173 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Address: 1515 South Park St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Halifax
#8 Family Hotel in Halifax
#10 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#11 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £68 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in October 1928, the Lord Nelson Hotel is a legendary landmark in downtown Halifax located at the corner of Spring Garden Road and South Park Street across from the beautiful Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lord Nelson Hotel And Suites
The Lord Nelson Hotel Halifax
Lord Nelson Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing