We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and practical getaway - friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastal Inn Halifax
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and practical getaway - friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in need of a break and found this hotel on an online site with an excellent rate. We were pleased with our king-sized bed, bar fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee machine, large TV and screen door we could open in the patio doors of our ground floor room. Also the ceilings seemed higher than most hotel rooms, which we liked.

The staff were friendly and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We enjoyed the pool and the WiFi worked just fine.

We were pleasantly surprised with the location upon arrival. Close to highways we wanted to connect to. The Canadiana Restaurant at the hotel next door, as well as Tims, Starbucks, Wendys all within walking distance.

The only things to note would be that the continental breakfast can be a bit cramped, but there is an additional room for seating, just be patient for the waffle maker - 2 minutes seems to take forever!

We had an odd smell in our room, which I don't think is the norm and we did not find it bothersome enough to ask to be moved. It was our suspicion that someone had smoked in the room or outside the room and therefore the room had been "freshened" before our arrival with that smell lingering. This wouldn't prevent us from coming here again though.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor near the end of the hall. Didn't seem to have much foot traffic and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValleyTraveler1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi ValleyTraveler 1994,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We appreciate all your comments and how pleased you were with the king size bed and all the amenities we offer in our guestrooms such as the mini fridge and microwave to name a few.

Our guests love our ground floor access and glad you liked it too as well as our convenient locaiton! All the complimentary extras we offer such as the Coastal “plus” breakfast and wi-fi are just a few things that make it more convenient for our guests while travelling.

We had had our maintenance supervisor go in to re-clean the carpet just to make sure there was no more lingering smell so thank you for advising us of that!

Again, we really do appreciate your comments and we will make sure to share them with our team! We hope to see you again in the future if you visit our beautiful city again!

Warmest regards,

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    44
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
48
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Coastal Inn Halifax on July 20th & 21st and were very impressed by the extremely helpful staff and clean and well appointed rooms. Overall the hotel was good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Martin,

Thank you for writing your reviews of our hotel with regards to your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad you were impressed with our friendly staff and clean rooms. We really appreciate your comments and will make sure to share them with our team!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel met all of our expectations. The room was very clean, had great wi-fi, big TV, got cleaned to our expectations every day and had lots of towels. The complimentary breakfast offered a great variety of hot and cold foods. The hotel has a Tim Hortons next door - very important!! lol! There are shopping outlets and a great mall within 5 minutes. It is right next to the highway , so easy access to Halifax, Peggy's Cove, etc. IT is close to everything, downtown, the boardwalk, etc. The pool was clean and open late. Finally, the staff was extremely kind and friendly. We stayed here for 6 nights and it was very affordable. AC, fridge, microwave, Keurig machine in room. Very convenient!

Room Tip: Great spot if you want to get out and visit the region.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher123696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi teacher123696,

Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews with regards to your recent stay with us! We are so pleased we met all your expectations including the complimentary breakfast, wi-fi and the cleanliness of your room and our pool.

Thank you for mentioning the convenience of our location where there is shopping and restaurants aplenty! It certainly is great to have Tim Horton’s next door and we are glad you found that to be a “plus”.

Our team will be thrilled with your comments on how friendly and kind you found them and I will make sure to share all your comments with them.

Thank you again for all your kind words and we hope to see you again in the future the next time you visit our beautiful city!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ansonia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I never heard of the coastal inn. We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Halifax. It was so clean, beds comfortable. There was a washer/dryer down the hall which was very convenient since we have been traveling for over 2 weeks and could use clean clothes. The restaurant next door Canadiana was very good and we walked from our hotel. Breakfast was included too.

Room Tip: Wished there were more coastal inns around the USA
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Bilasi,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! Your comments are very much appreciated and we are so glad you were pleasantly surprised when you stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the clean rooms and comfortable beds and how convenient it was to be able to do your laundry during your extensive travel.

Thank you again for all your wonderful comments and we will be sure to share them all with our team!

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family stayed at this hotel while down for a wedding on a Saturday night early June. We were originally going to stay at The Comfort Inn but saw this hotel next door and decided to price check the two. The Coastal Inn was $40 less and had a pool which was a plus with a small child. The service from the beginning was above and beyond. Very accommodating.
We got a standard room with 2 queen beds and the room was very clean, nice and roomy.
The breakfast was good. Waffle machine and lots of other cold options.
The pool is open until 11pm and opens early in the morning so we were able to swim with our little girl before we left.
I forgot my earrings on the night table but didn't realize it until we were halfway home. I called the hotel and they sent the earrings by mail to my home address. They even paid for shipping.
If we're ever in Halifax again we will stay at The Coastal Inn. I really have nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mytimeisablur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewhalifax, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mytimeisablur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We really appreciate it!

We are so pleased you chose to stay with us and were able to take advantage of our in-door pool and complimentary Coastal “plus” breakfast!

Thank you for mentioning you found your room to be nice and clean but most importantly, thank you for mentioning you found our guest service to be above and beyond and very accommodating. Our team loves comments such as these as they take pride in everything they do! I will definitely pass along your wonderful comments along to them.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and we certainly look forward to seeing you and your family again the next time you visit Halifax!

Warmest regards,

Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, NB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this room through Expedia. It wasn't worth the $150 we paid (there must have been something going on in Halifax that weekend.. everything was expensive).

Here are the main points:
- The room was reasonably clean
- Water pressure in the shower was low
- Fitted sheet wouldn't stay on the mattress
- Free hot breakfast is not hot on the weekends (They do have waffles, but those machines are slow)
- Breakfast area is small
- Wifi was spotty during our stay
- Employees were friendly
- Mattress was soft. Some may like that, but my back was sore in the morning.

Would I stay again? I'd probably find somewhere else. We didn't hate the place, it just didn't grab us either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClubFred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeviewhalifax, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear ClubFred0

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us.

I am guessing you might have stayed with us on a weekend where there were different sports teams in the city. With regards to the rate, it does depend on what room type you reserved so that may have been the reason for your rate as we are not certain as to what room type you stayed in as we do have various room types including our two room suites.

With regards to the water pressure, we do have low flow shower heads as we are trying to do our part with being energy efficient and our guests would feel the pressure as being lower than some of their own homes.

We do offer a variety of continental breakfast food items each day but Monday to Friday we offer extra hot items on top of the waffles and hard boiled eggs for the weekends.

We do apologize if the wi-fi was spotty throughout your stay. This does tend to happen when we are full especially with most people staying in a room have an electronic device or two of their own. It is something to consider looking into to see if we can expand this capacity so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Yes, our breakfast area is certainly small when handling larger crowds and we would love to be able to expand it if we had the space to do so. Maybe someday we could look at doing just that!

We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and wish you had a better experience while staying with us.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention as we really do rely on comments from our guests to see what areas we may need to improve upon.

We hope you and your family have a lovely summer and maybe you may try us again sometime in the future.

Warmest regards,



Kimberly Clarke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Future Inns Halifax
Future Inns Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
3.3 mi away
Chateau Bedford
Chateau Bedford
#13 of 28 in Halifax
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Property: Coastal Inn Halifax
Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing