We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History
Ranked #28 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here visitors can learn about eastern Canada's indigenous flowers, plants and wildlife.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We visited the museum on a Sunday afternoon. It was great. We got to meet Gus the 92 year old resident tortoise while he was out for his daily stroll around the museum. He care taker is very good with Gus and all the people that flock around to see him. I was impressed with how she gave every child who spoke to her her undivided attention. She answered all their questions, allowed each one to be able touch Gus while at the same time making sure Gus and all the visitors remained safe. Excellent experience, even for us Big Kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingc0uple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    64
    24
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit this interesting museum”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Visited this museum on a wet day when had a couple of hours to kill. It was surprisingly interesting. Downstairs is the interactive children's area and though we are both the wrong side of 50 we totally enjoyed it. Upstairs was interesting too. I would recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good spot for a rainy day”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved the museum and the staff in the animal lab spent a considerable time with my 6yr old daughter showing her all the species. Good parking dedicated to the Museum 3$ would do. Only down side is it is not very big, we are used to 2-3hrs to do the museum in Belfast but this place was 1hr max

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not a very big museum”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The expedition photo's the history were fantastic. The museum was broken up in sections and all had some really interesting things. My husband and I were the only two people there for most of the time of our visit- which was surprising.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“It was what we expected for Halifax”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went to the natural history museum for the first time yesterday. We had a groupon so it only cost $5 for the two of us which was a good price. It would normally cost $6.25 each. The museum is small so you would only need 60-75 minutes to go through the whole thing. Gus is a great attraction for kids. He is a decades old turtle that you can touch. The museum is basically a much smaller version of the natural history museums in bigger cities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing