We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food in the World” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribbean Twist - CLOSED

Caribbean Twist
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I live in Saint John, NB & i'm willing to drive HOUR just to come to this place. Let's face it. The food does not look pretty or fancy, it's street food & AMAZING food. I tried jerk chicken in Toronto which was also amazing. I wish they had a place like this in Saint John, NB or even Fredericton. I went to a place in Fredericton which was terrible and over priced. The service at this place may not be AMAZING but i found the lady nice enough & honestly even if they don't seem the friendliest i would still go back... WHY? because the food is just that amazing. I wouldn't recommend it for a date but if your going to Halifax or a trip & want to experience good food-- GO and it's really spicy- I loved it! So jealous i don't live in Halifax! I am jealous of all you Halifax/Darthmouth people!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Have you had Jamaican or island food from a roadside grill? Then you'll know what to expect. The
Novalea Drive location is really a take out as it only has a window bar with 4 stools. You aren't here for the ambiance however, that is back at the Shoe Shop. What you are here for is authentic food. Now it may be that all ingredients are not home made that is true as there is no pimento wood fire roasting chicken in an old steel barrel true. But the beautiful smiling faces of our hosts make up for it.

The flavors and quality are awesome. Thanks guys I needed some Jam to break this cold Nova Scotia. At times it's the weather and occasionally the culture, this province can be chilly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretend you are down south and it works!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We love the owner and staff!
Food is authentic and delish, just wish the entire menu was always available!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mojochad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Remind yourself... "I'm here for the food, and only the food"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is *not* the place to impress your date, or celebrate an anniversary. Consider it a lunch cafe.

Plus:
*The food is authentic and very good.
*It's popular.

Minus:
*The service is mediocre and amateur (took a while to clean our table, meal arrived with only one set of cutlery - had to fetch a 2nd set myself from another table, the waiter didn't know what green tea was - suggested I go and check the boxes myself, the waiter actually hit on my guest while I was paying the bill !! and there was no bill - you just recite what you had to the cashier.)
*Looks kinda seedy - some partitions would work wonders, as would a lick of paint.

That said, the food _was_ good. If you can overlook the service (because the waiters sure as hell do), you'll enjoy a tasty lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank britt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best Carriebiean place in Nova Scotia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Come here at least 2 times a week for lunch, the staff is amazing the food is homemade and delicious, the general environment is just amazing get the patties or curry chicken

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerkcgickenchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribbean Twist also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing