We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay, loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

A beautiful new comfort hotel. Rooms were spotless with all the amenities and the breakfast in the morning was the best continental I've ever had. The staff was very friendly and attentive to all needs. Very relaxing stay and will definitely be back again. Thanks for wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joniw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    135
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
326
419
37
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

we stayed there for our honeymoon this past weekend.. from the first time we walked in the door to the second we left we felt like we were at home. Ladies at the desk were super friendly, they had a perfect pool, great sauna. Elevators. Breakfast was good! Any possible request we had they were more then happy to help us out. I can't wait to go back! Close to tim hortons and lots of entertainment options as well as some neat shops!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klash59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We were placed in a room next to the elevator and someone was moving a cart of some sort on/off the elevator after 11 p.m., making a terrible racket. The walls are apparently thin and we had to listen to our neighbor's loud discussion and TV until at least 1:30 a.m. Room was clean and staff was pleasant, so they get points for that, but you can't make up for a lost night's sleep when traveling. We stayed at a beautiful B&B on the same trip for about the same price and it included a gourmet breakfast and a peaceful night's sleep, so it was a better value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markb41, Manager at Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Dear ptzmomMerrimack_NH,

On behalf of the hotel I wish to express our regrets in your less then pleasant stay. I can assure all of our Tripadvisor patrons that housekeeping carts are not in service after 5 PM but due to the abundance of tile throughout our hotel I can say with complete certainty that due to your proximity to the elevators that guest's wheeled luggage would make such a noise. The noise emanating from the adjoining room could have been dealt with immediately if the front desk were notified. We have placards in our rooms indicating that any excessive noise after 10 PM will not be tolerated and to contact the front desk to that effect.

Our expanded and complimentary buffet breakfast which includes fresh eggs, sausages, homefries, pancakes, waffles and other continental items is set to feed over 100 guests a day. I can completely understand that this type of configuration did not fulfill your needs but is included in our very competitive price and that the personalized gourmet breakfast that you desired would not be possible in an urban hotel offering free breakfast.

If you ever decide to try our hotel again I would be delighted to give you the personalized service that was lacking during your previous stay.

Thank you,

Mark Barrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel is awesome - super clean, modern decor but to tell you the truth, it's the staff who make this hotel. Extrememly friendly, professional and can't do enough for you. At check in, you get a hand written card/note welcoming you to the hotel (unheard of now a days), complimentary water and pop in the fridge in the room, 2 complimentary movie rentals, sauna was great and pool also. The hot continental breakfast was very good and the staff kept it hot and the area clean and re-stocked constantly. Free parking....beds were super comfy and had plastic on the matresses!! We ate elsewhere so cannot comment on the restaurant. Not one complaint. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We Loved it , everyone was really friendly!! and the rooms were so clean!!
But what was really nice were the Swans and Flowers made from towels and faceclothes set around the stairs coming from the jacuzzi in our room they were beautiful !!! I would like to thank you all for our lovely stay..:)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara154975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

This inn is part of the Comfort Inn chain and should be made the gold standard for all their places, and other similarly priced hotels (like Hampton Inn) should really pay attention to these reviews that made it #1. The employees told me in the breakfast room that they get treated well, and it shows in their service.

I can see this place as being great for business travelers wanting a nice place to relax after a conference with it's free dvd rental, nice breakfast spread, comfy beds & chaise, etc. However, my newly minted husband and I were there for our honeymoon on a tour of Nova Scotia and we greatly enjoyed the attentive staff, the marble touches, and the spacious rooms. Halifax is nice (especially the citidel), but I found myself looking forward to getting back to the room to enjoy some of the amenities.

There's nothing scenic about the big box/industrial neighborhood of Bayer's Lake, but it's a very convenient location near the city and some shops/restaurants (though I recommend eating in downtown). Excellent place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is close to city center yet less pricey than staying in town.
The breakfast was fabulous and the room was clean and comfy.
Great shower. The front desk and employees were helpful, friendly
and gave great advice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing