We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Haute Aboujagane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A true gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was my first time at this location as I usually stay at the Delta. I do spend a lot of time on the road and I have very good rates at the latter but this time around, I was able to have a competitive rate from this hotel which matched the one I would have payed at the other chain. I decided to give it a try since I had heard good things and read great reviews of the hotel.

The location is a little far from downtown if you have to attend meetings in the heart of the city, but otherwise very well located close to all the shops and restaurants you could ask for. Unless you want fine dining, you will be well served, and the movie theater is only a couple of blocks away.

As for the hotel itself, it is a very well kept and very tastefully decorated building. Everything is ultraclean and modern, from the lobby straight to the room. The pool is not as big as other hotels but it does the job and although the fitness center is a little small, it has all the equipment needed for a good workout.

The room was of great size, plenty of place to move around, bathroom was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would easily compare the room to other from higher end chains wihtout any problem. Small touches also make it special, like the presence of a blu-ray player in every room and the fact that you can borrow movies from the front desk. Little touches that make you feel more like home and make it easier to relax.

As much as the hotel is great, it comes short when compared to the staff. This was one of the best customer experience I have had in a long time. From the moment I checked in, Darren made me feel welcomed and was one of the friendliest person I have met over time. I interacted a few times with him and he always looked like he was happy to help, which I am sure he truly was.

Bottom line: Is the hotel worth more than the likes of Delta... maybe not just because of location. Is it worth the same price even if you have to travel a bit to get downtown... definitely. I would easily recommend this hotel to anybody, as for me, if they can match the price I get elsewhere, I will definitely make this my destination when in Halifax.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boisverf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    146
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
350
430
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Staff are very helpful and friendly! Hotel is modern and comfortable, very clean! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 203 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Prince Edward Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent staff, my favourites are Nimfa, Darren - pleasant, always smiling, patient and helpful. The hot breakfast is delicious! I will still definitely come back again. Great job, team!

Best wishes,
John Ng

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Check in was very quick. The customer service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable and entertained. The room was large with two king size beds and a large television. There were movies avalaible at the front desk, a business center, a fitness center, pool and sauna. Everything was very clean. There is a restaurant and lounge on site. The food at the restaurant was very tasty and well priced. The location is also great for shopping and a quick drive to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caper_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The comfort hotel in bayers lake is very clean. It was quite quiet on the sunday we arrived. The most enjoyable part of staying at this hotel is the friendly service. The person who made our stay very nice was NIMFA. she was very easy to talk to and would help you in any way she could. With her friendly smile ,will want my wife and I to come back to this hotel.
Ronald Anthony

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The staff at the Comfort Inn at Bayers Lake Business Park works hard to make you feel welcome, starting with Nimfa at the front desk.
Nimfa takes the time to remember your name so that she can welcome you back by name on your next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Modern, clean, spacious room. Friendly staff, free movie rentals, HD TV and Blue-ray player.
Quality of breakfast pretty decent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,911 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing